We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hosts and convenient location”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sudbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sudbury South Suites plus B&B
Ranked #3 of 15 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hosts and convenient location”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Kimono room for 2 nights while travelling through the Sudbury area. Since we spent the days visiting Science North and Dynamic Earth museum which were a short drive away, we didn't need the larger suite that was also available. The Kimono room was quite small but comfortable. Both our room and the bathroom down the hall were spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were delicious, lemon poppy seed pancakes the first day and a lovely fritatta the second. The hosts were very gracious and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldenbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bonfield, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Sudbury South Suites this past week with my husband and our 10 month old. Traveling with a 10 month old is challenging but our hosts, Daniele and Jan-Marie made sure we felt right at home with all the conveniences and then some. Our bed was heavenly. The double headed shower was exhilarating. Our breakfasts were indulgent! A must stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsford, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This B&B was not too difficult to find. Our room was very small and hot. The house had air conditioning but oddly our room did not. The bathroom was plenty large and had a good shower. The breakfast was a let down. Cereal and french toast sticks! Maybe we are spoiled but I usually look forward to the breakfast part of a B&B, not here. I think the price was a little steep for what we received. If the room had AC and the breakfast was home cooked I would have loved this place. As it is I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Kimono room is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midland98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This was our first time in a bed & breakfast and my partner and I did not know how the experience would be. However, from the moment of booking the experience with Daniele and Jan-Marie was great. They are really nice people and were very helpful at guiding us through our stay in Sudbury. We stayed in the Kimono room and we found that it was the perfect size. It had cable and free Wi-Fi which is definitely a great commodity. The rom was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was not far down the hall and it was clean and tidy. The breakfast was really good. In my opinion both the owners and place was great and I would recommend it to anyone that would like to stay in Sudbury.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmarquezleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Although I wish we could have stayed longer, we stayed for the one night. Everything was great the amenities were fantastic there was a jacuzzi tub in the room there was a spare room a dinning room and a linen room I guess you can call it along with a living room and a bathroom. The service was great and we upgraded to get the romance special and had rose petals leading to the bedroom, etc... The food in the morning was absolutely delicious and the hosts were pleasant. We enjoyed our time there and if we would have been able to afford to stay longer we would have.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newly_Weds_2010_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This was my first time staying at a B&B and it will be my last. When we called to book a reservation we told the owner that we, my husband and I, would be travelling with our baby. We booked the Kimono room and asked the owner if it would be enough place for the three of us to sleep. The owner reassured us that it wouldn't be a problem. Men were they wrong. The room had a double bed, which was a futon, and that's all that could fit. The room was very hot. There was no air and even with the window open there was no air circulation. The add also indicated that there was a private bathroom. Well surprise, surprise the bathroom is down the hall. You have to pass three rooms in order to get to the bathroom. NOT A PRIVATE BATHROOM. A really bad experience for my first bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudburysouthsuites, Owner at Sudbury South Suites plus B&B, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Tamster7, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. When we spoke with your husband, he did not indicate that a baby would be travelling with you, otherwise we would never have rented the Kimono Room to you, it is too small for 3 people to stay in, no matter how small the baby.

In regards to the bed, it is a double, as advertised in our website and as your husband was informed. It is a pillowtop mattress. We do not have a room with a futon as a bed.

We do have air conditioning, and it was on through the duration of your visit. Remember that the weather was in the mid 30's and the humidity was high. You had a baby that cried all night long. So the heat and humidity combined with the frustration of a crying baby that had to be cuddled and soothed all night circumvents even the strongest attempts at airconditioning. Your room was also equiped with an overhead fan.

The bathroom was private, which does not indicate that it is attached to the room. We advertise, and tell all the clients that it is down the hall from the room.

We had some nice conversations at breakfast on the two mornings that you were there, and apologised for the crying baby through the night. When we asked if your room was alright when you checked in, you told us that it was, and that it was lovely. When you left, your husband told us that you had a wonderful stay, but because the baby wasn't sleeping well you felt you would be more comfortable elsewhere. If you had told us of your concerns at the time, it would have been our pleasure to help you make other arrangements, we do not want any of our guests to have a bad experience, and we definitely do not want to turn them off of bed and breakfast experiences. We hope that you try another bed and breakfast when your infant is older and able to sleep through the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2006

This place is amazing. The hosts are very friendly and easy going, the room was amazing... we had the Orient Suite, when we got there there was wine, candles everywhere, cakes and hors d'oeuvres. The jacuzzie was great. The Breakfast the next morning was delicious.....you have to try the pancakes, they are to die for. Extreamly clean, the property takes your breath away. I cant wait to go back.

  • Liked — Everything, we could not have asked for more
  • Disliked — Nothing......it was all great
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bbgrllexmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 33 in Sudbury
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#8 of 33 in Sudbury
165 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sudbury
Comfort Inn Sudbury
#12 of 33 in Sudbury
144 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#15 of 33 in Sudbury
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudbury South Suites plus B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudbury South Suites plus B&B

Property: Sudbury South Suites plus B&B
Address: 2293 Treeview Rd, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 5C7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing