We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Reviewed 22 June 2008

The staff was courteous and helpful but the hotel facility itself was very disappointing. The name of the facility "Ambassador" sounds like it would be a really nice place but it did not live up to its name. The carpets are old and needs to be replaced. There are some basic items that have become standard in hotel rooms that this one did not have, such as microwave, fridge, clothes iron and board, They serve a continental breakfast (very minimal) but there are no tables in the breakfast area to sit around to have your meal. It just seem to be undermaintained and unstaffed. I felt cheated by the cost of the room and the facility that was provided. I definitely would not stay there again neither would I recommed it to anyone. Sudbuy is a nice place with lots of better hotels for less.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Peter1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2008

Over the Christmas Holidays 2007, we booked a stay @ The Ambassador. I must say that from my inital phone call right through to check-out, the customer service that we received was Great!!! The staff was most helpful and very personable. Over the holidays (24-28th) when we stayed, the hotel was quiet, the rooms were spotless...it is an older property but it is very well maintained. Our room had a very comfy king size bed with lots of pillows. We also enjoyed the pool and the continental breakfast they have in the lobby area. Given their great location, it was easy to visit our friends and family in the city not to mention all the great shopping nearby on the 27th. Huge selection of restaurants nearby as well. We'll be booking for sure on our next trip into Sudbury.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JackieAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

We were doing the drive across Canada with a dog and needed to do a night in Sudbury. First thing I do is check out TripAdvisor. The top ranked hotels won't allow a small 12 lb dog, so I am left struggling with which hotel to pick out of the list of infrequently reviewed hotels.

The Ambassador Hotel looked ok, decent pictures/review and allowed dogs. So we went ahead and booked it. No booking via the internet so we needed to call the hotel. The staff was friendly and prompt in confirming our reservation via email.

So we get to the hotel on a Saturday night, the outside is nothing much to look at, and the location while easy to find - close to the major highways - is not exactly picturesque. It is a typical 2 storey motel property with drive up rooms on the bottom floor. The drive up room was useful for unpacking our stuff.

The room was dated, the carpet being in dire need of replacement. However, everything was clean and the bed was absolutely great. It was obvious it was set up for a business person with a desk and a space for a computer.

The main complaint I had was at about 2:30AM we woke up to the sounds of about 50 people spilling out of the attached nightclub into the parking lot. We live downtown in a major city close to clubs so noise doesn't me, but I didn't like the feeling of the sheer number of people wandering around so close outside our door and car. They didn't dispurse for a few hours. Needless to say I wasn't impressed.

It is too bad really. The staff was good, the complimentary newspaper was nice, the bed was great like I said, but there is no way I'd stay again on a Friday or Saturday night because of the nightclub on property.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MaxPower2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2007

While travelling on business I have had a great stay at the Ambassador. Staff are quite professional and friendly. I am here for an extended stay, and as such have made one or two unusual requests. The staff been quite helpful and met my needs more than adequately.

To my relief, I haven't seen any families with young children, sports teams, or groups. The pool downstairs is great for relaxing, and every time I've been down there I've had it to myself. Wireless internet is available in the guest rooms. The hotel has a business centre which can accomodate one person at a time.

There are a few quirks: In order to get to the pool you have to pass through the lobby and by the downstairs conference rooms. The room heat has a master switch at the front desk, and once during my stay the heat has accidentally been turned off. The continental breakfast is adequate but has a limited selection.

Overall the Ambassador has met all of my expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Stan_Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Daniele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Relaxation2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#21 of 33 in Sudbury
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#9 of 33 in Sudbury
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Moonlight Inn And Suites Sudbury
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#14 of 33 in Sudbury
398 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 225 Falconbridge Rd, Sudbury, Ontario P3A 5K4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range: £68 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ambassador Hotel - Where warmth and friendliness begin at the Front Desk! Our convenient location situates you minutes from the Greater Sudbury Airport and places you in the midst of Northern Ontario's largest retail and uniquely diverse business district. Our boutique style property with clean and comfortable guest rooms feature a host of amenities to help make your stay most enjoyable. As our guest, enjoy complimentary wireless internet, 24-hour business centre, indoor pool, fitness studio, and complimentary continental breakfast. Laura Fratelli's, our on premise licensed restaurant, features great steaks and fresh pastas Monday through Saturday. Full Service Meeting and Conference facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Sudbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing