We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frustrating”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Sudbury
Manitoulin Island
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Frustrating”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Despite the old carpets and poor codition of the plumbing (ie shower etc) it was a comfortable room to dream (of camping) but lacked the amenities I had requested and expected .. ie a microwave. There was a comfortable table but only one chair (an office chair) and we ate our meal at room temperature as no microwave available. The bed was comfortable but far too many blankets for an Auigust evening. The bathroom was so small that it was possible to sit on the "throne " and reach for the coffee pot (on a plant stand next to the pedistal sink) fill it with water and make the one cup of coffee supplied (no decaf or tea). .... standing up only to reach the plug in!.
I usually stay at the South end of the city and would return there instead.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tw0star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    15
    16
    17
    15
See reviews for
18
22
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The hotel presents itself nicely however this hotel really needs a lot of upgrades. The woodwork is phenonmenal and you can tell that in its time it had a lot of character, however the carpet was very worn and the showers in all 3 of our rooms did not work properly-if you want to have an arobic workout while showering this is the place for you. The breakfast was disappointing as it was not stocked properly and there is no where to sit down. The restaurant meal (only open 4:30-10) was expensive but very good with great service.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioLittleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sudbury hotels

Kitchener
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Great hotel conveniently located in the shopping district of Sudbury. I travel to Sudbury often for business and always stay at the Ambassador. Great service, ability to keep my daily workout with their pool and exercise room, conveniently located and PHENOMENAL food from their in-hotel restaurant Laura Fratelli's. The restaurant isn't open for breakfast but a lovely continental breakfast is available.

If travelling with kids or elderly, I would still book here due to easy drive up rooms and the great amenities. There is no elevator in the hotel so just ensure if travelling with someone that cannot walk up stairs, that you request a ground floor room.

I'm not usually a fan of non-chain hotels due to variability in what I'm going to get - but the Ambassador far exceeds most of the hotel chains in Sudbury.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitchenerMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Attended a two day meeting at the Ambassador. Rooms were clean and the beds super comfy. The rate was really food too. Meeting services wer comfortable, professional and spacious. Dinner at the on premis restaurant was very good. I'd recommend this property to all my co-workers, friends and family. Staff was most attentive and professional.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvana12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2009

The staff was very helpful and kind! They go out of their way to make you feel at "home". The beds are super comfortable and I had a really good meal in the restaurant! I'd certainly stay there again when I'm in Sudbury!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelGrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

The staff was courteous and helpful but the hotel facility itself was very disappointing. The name of the facility "Ambassador" sounds like it would be a really nice place but it did not live up to its name. The carpets are old and needs to be replaced. There are some basic items that have become standard in hotel rooms that this one did not have, such as microwave, fridge, clothes iron and board, They serve a continental breakfast (very minimal) but there are no tables in the breakfast area to sit around to have your meal. It just seem to be undermaintained and unstaffed. I felt cheated by the cost of the room and the facility that was provided. I definitely would not stay there again neither would I recommed it to anyone. Sudbuy is a nice place with lots of better hotels for less.

  • Liked — There was nothing that I could say I like about the place
  • Disliked — carpets are old and worn, the facility is just not clean, basic stuff are not in the room, no fridge, microwave, iron and board,
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Over the Christmas Holidays 2007, we booked a stay @ The Ambassador. I must say that from my inital phone call right through to check-out, the customer service that we received was Great!!! The staff was most helpful and very personable. Over the holidays (24-28th) when we stayed, the hotel was quiet, the rooms were spotless...it is an older property but it is very well maintained. Our room had a very comfy king size bed with lots of pillows. We also enjoyed the pool and the continental breakfast they have in the lobby area. Given their great location, it was easy to visit our friends and family in the city not to mention all the great shopping nearby on the 27th. Huge selection of restaurants nearby as well. We'll be booking for sure on our next trip into Sudbury.

  • Liked — Location & Service
  • Disliked — If anything maybe a hottub for guests would be nice.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#17 of 32 in Sudbury
90 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 32 in Sudbury
466 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 225 Falconbridge Rd, Sudbury, Ontario P3A 5K4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ambassador Hotel - Where warmth and friendliness begin at the Front Desk! Our convenient location situates you minutes from the Greater Sudbury Airport and places you in the midst of Northern Ontario's largest retail and uniquely diverse business district. Our boutique style property with clean and comfortable guest rooms feature a host of amenities to help make your stay most enjoyable. As our guest, enjoy complimentary wireless internet, 24-hour business centre, indoor pool, fitness studio, and complimentary continental breakfast. Laura Fratelli's, our on premise licensed restaurant, features great steaks and fresh pastas Monday through Saturday. Full Service Meeting and Conference facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Sudbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing