We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelway Inn Sudbury
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The hotel is in a perfect location and really affordable. The staff was also really nice. As a bonus there is a hidden gem of a restaurant called curious thyme's bistro - it's DELICIOUS (there is even high tea!) We stayed here for 2 nights. Also it's directly across the street from Science North.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadjaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

Upon arrival we noticed that the plumbing was noisy and we could hear every flush or running of taps and showers.
Next thing we noticed was that the beds were small in width and length. I am 5' 11 and barely fit on the bed.
It had a good location, close to Science North.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueberry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I left this hotel today having spent two nights there as a participant in the Sudbury Rocks Marathon. My room was fine and I had no issues whatsoever. The rooms, however, do not make for the exceptional experience -- that is the result of the uniformly pleasant, friendly and genuinely helpful staff -- none of whom pretend to the "attitude" that some hotel employees (acting as if they owned not the hotel but the chain) demonstrate. In particular, Sandra at the front desk made my day and my stay today: I had a late check-out because of the race, but arrived at 12:59 p.m., one minute before the end of my grace period. Thanks to Sandra's extremely friendly service, I managed a very refreshing shower and was on the road to Toronto 30 minutes later -- much the better for her consideration -- an recognizing that any of her colleagues might have been equally accommodating.

Last point: I thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant and will make a point of going there when next in that area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlrogers47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We enjoyed the pauza room very much, like being at home with a fireplace and large screen LCD TV! Our rooms were comfortable, exactly what we paid for, coffee was generous portions in the room, and the breakfast supplied for $5 was the best deal in town. I used the business center and was veryu pleased at the quality of the site and the functionality it provided me. What a great place!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromsouthernontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

On the last night of a week long train trip across Canada my wife had a Gallbladder attack. The train came to a stop in the middle of nowhere at 1am. After packing up all of my bellongings, (while my wife waited outside in an ambulance) we departed for the hospital. I asked the ambulance driver (Where the Hell are we?) He replied you are going to be in a town call Sudbury, Ontario. After a 9 hour trip to the hospital my wife and I walked out the front door of the Sudbury Regional Hospital, exhausted! The last night on our beloved VIA train that went through the Canadian Rockies from Vancouver, BC to Toronto was cut short. From a reccomendation from the doctor we walked directly across the street to a small Motel named "Travelway Inn". The doctor told us that the inn was clean and had the best restaurant in town! We checked with the front desk clerk on a rate. I was taken aback slightly when she quoted us $120.00 for one night. Our original plan was to stay at the Hilton in downtown Toronta where my corporate rate was $79/night. We reluctantly agreed with the price and proceeded with check-in. The woman who checked us in was extremely nice (we found most Canadians were) but informed us that our room wouldn't be ready untill 2pm (it was 11am). Considering we had been up for over 24 hours and my Wife had a painfull gallbladder attack earlier, we were extremely dissapointed. The young woman did offer to take our bags and called us a cab so we could go to the nearest pharmacy to pick up prescriptions. She was so helpfull and nice we couldn't help but accept the fact that we couldn't check in untill 2pm. After we returned from the pharmacy we had lunch at the hotel restaurant "Curious Thymes". WOW!!!!!! Is all I can say! This little restaurant in this little hotel in little Sudbury, Ontario BLEW US AWAY!!! The service and food was EXCELLENT! We enjoyed the meal so much that I was ready to come back for dinner before lunch was over! After lunch it was finally time to check-in. We were given a room on the 1st floor (as requested) it was clean, well appointed with a refrigerator. We also enjoyed the small extras like 2 "Wingback" style chairs that reclined and had built in foot rests, to watch tv or read. The entire staff seems to be extremely friendly. There was a young man who we saw several times during our stay, who was vacuuming, mopping etc, would always stop, make eye contact and genuinely ask if he could help us with anything. Small things like that really made us feel welcome. Breakfast the next morning was again AMAZING! I really feel like we found a Gem in the town of Sudbury. I doubt our travels will ever take us back, but we really appreciate the attention the staff gave us. Now as for Curious Thymes, that might actually be worth a trip back to Sudbury, especially if we can stay at the Travelway Inn while we wait for the next meal! :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeTRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Best location in Sudbury for visiting Science North. I've stayed here with young children in 2006 and chose it again in 2010. You can stay parked at the hotel and avoid paying parking at Science North, just a walk across the road. There's a maximum of 4 to a room -- the beds are double not queen. It's acceptably clean, inexpensive, and in a safe location near medical centres. Very easy to access from the south -- go up Hwy 400/69 and turn right at Paris Street. Water pipes are very noisy and noise travels from hallway and adjascent highway, but it was quiet enough overnight. Consider bringing your own shampoos and cozy blankie to supplement your comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZipTripCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

In town for a business trip, this hotel was recommended to us by colleagues given its proximity close to our meeting location. There was nothing inherently wrong with the hotel, but by the same token, nothing terribly remarkable.

The hotel is showing its age, i.e. a lot of wear and tear. Furniture in the lobby is somewhat threadbare and showing damage, knicks in the woods, scratches, etc. Furnishings, fittings and colour scheme are quite date. However, on a positive note the hotel is reasonably clean.

If you are looking for a reasonably priced room in a hotel with few amenities this would do the trick. My room was a good size, quite clean, fresh sheets and comfortable bed. Cable TV had a lot of stations. Television quality was good, though a dated CRT, not plasma/LCD. In room amenities - ironing board, iron, bar fridge, coffee maker. Free wireless was a good bonus.

One area of the hotel I was very impressed with is the restaurant. Curious Thyme Bistro, an independent restaurant located off the hotel lobby, provided an excellent dinner. Interestingly, their menu was heavily influenced with game meats. My red deer medallions were perfectly prepared with a curried blueberry sauce. I would highly recommend this restaurant, as would my dining companions.

Summary - if you are looking for a basic hotel offering good value, this one would do the trick.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#14 of 33 in Sudbury
407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 33 in Sudbury
784 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#9 of 33 in Sudbury
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#10 of 33 in Sudbury
194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelway Inn Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelway Inn Sudbury

Address: 1200 Paris St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 5V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range: £77 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelway Inn Sudbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Through our personalized service and our attention to your every comfort, we seek to ensure that your every need is met during your stay. We have thought of everything. Each day we strive to exceed our expectations, so we can exceed yours.We are perfectly located! Walk directly across the street to visit Science North or to take a walk on the Board Walk along Ramsey Lake. Picking up your son or daughter from Laurentian University or attending a conference is easy as we are just a short 5 minute drive away. Parking at the hospital is not an issue for our Guests as we are adjacent to Health Sciences North.Locally owned and operated for over 30 years. The Travelway Inn exemplifies all that Sudbury hospitality represents. When you stay with us, we are sure that you will find all the Comforts of Home in the Luxury of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Travelway Inn Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing