We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST READ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelway Inn Sudbury
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland Lake, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“MUST READ”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel is great. Yes it's older but the cleanliness,staff and location make up for nothing that needs to be changed..I have been staying her every week for the last 52 weeks for my son to receive chemotherapy and I can't say enough about this place..the price is right and the amenities are great..for someone passing through and need a place to rest your head, this is where you want to stay in the city..I have stayed at all of them in Sudbury and this is by far the best for comfort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ginette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    49
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
22
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

It's an alright hotel.

The good: good location. Very close to Science North (which is definitely worth the trip, regardless of your age), and a short drive to lots of other Sudbury hotspots.

The bad: no elevator. You have to drag your bags up 2 flights of stairs. No offer of help from staff either.

It's an average hotel. Still better than the one other place I've stayed in Sudbury, nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willyliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here two night while my dad was in the hospital. Nice and convenient, free parking and can walk to the hospital. Room was clean, comfortable. Free breakfast was a huge plus. Business centre was great, able to print off needed documents free. Staff was friendly. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESPANOLA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Wanted somewhere to spend the night by the hospital. Place was clean and comfortable. Could walk to hospital. Enjoyed 2 Km boardwalk arond the lake. good expierence. Stayed on ground floor east side toward hospital. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANIEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The staff are friendly, but the rooms are tired. Don't be misled by the new brick facade or the pseudo-modern fireplace in the lobby. If you have no particular business to be here (wedding, hospital access), don't do it. I ended up regretting staying at this hotel immensely.

The sound of running water from adjoining rooms was quite loud, the air was terrible and stale with poor circulation, and the whole place lingered with musty cigarette smoke that even for a smoker was off-putting. There were several wedding parties booked in, so I didn't pay much mind to the constant noise in the hallway until 1:30 am. Unfortunately, someone at the front desk told a new arrival that my room was theirs, and at 1 a.m. I was met with quite a racket by an insistent and confused guest. I think they had absentmindedly given us a room that had been set aside for the wedding party, but the scare wasn't appreciated, and I've never seen disorganization quite like it.

The beds were old and really uncomfortable and cleanliness in the room was lacking. The tub needed a good scrubbing (the permanent anti-slip tub mat was marred with pink algae), the towels were visibly worn, and the fridge had old, sticky pop stains all inside the door. You could see a cake of dust in corners visible but harder to reach. I'm not usually bothered by things that are dated, or more basic. I had been traveling for a week by this point and had stayed in several much more "ghetto" motels along highways, and in rustic cabins, and this place was the worst cared for, hands down. Yes, it was a busy Fri night, but you can't help but wonder what others corners were cut.

Yup, there's a breakfast: bagels,cereal, activia yogurt (the highlight of my entire hotel experience), juices, fruit; just don't eat anything they cook (bacon and eggs really).
Yes, it's right next door to Science North, which is why I chose it in the first place: I could just walk over and not pay for parking. Well, parking is only 5 dollars, so drive there instead.

The Science North grounds and the boardwalk along Ramsey Lake were lovely, and I'm glad I got to experience that. There's a yacht club right next to the Science North entrance that allows public access to a beach (middle path) and a parking lot (right hand path) when you walk/drive down the main entrance. The left hand path takes to you to the actual yacht club. It was a lovely walk and sunset. So the best thing about this hotel isn't actually about this hotel.

Less significant things: bare bones for the price ($140 bucks and nothing like a fitness centre, or a hot tub?), crappy old 27" tv, well, in the room at least, crappy old everything.

So there you have it. I did tell the front desk staff about the dirty tub and the fridge, and that I didn't appreciate the 1 a.m. room mix-up misadventure. Hope they appreciate the good staff they have and help the cleaning staff get the resources they need to get the job done right. This is no one's fault but the management. There were plenty of other hotels nearby, so with the right planning, you can avoid this whole mess.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel about 7 years ago and thought 'what a gem': great service, excellent restaurant and great location. NOW the only great thing was the location, well and friendly staff.

The first room I got was facing the street, with fixed windows and dull smoky smell inside, so I went to request a new room, the staff at front desk was friendly and found me a room on the court side, with windows I could open ( the room had a dull smell when I first entered, I wish the staff would air the rooms out or turn on the AC on the days when they expect guests for the room.

To my great disappointment, the restaurant was no longer there. The hotel serves a generic breakfast (good coffee!!)

The bedding was tired, one night the sheets felt worn and old, one morning the towel was old and torn. But they were clean

One day the cleaners didn't give a spare roll if toilet paper, so I had to run to the reception to get more.

The plus is still the location - next to Science North and easy access to the Lake Ramsey board walk

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Miranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is next door to the hospital and across from Science North. Reception was friendly. The room on the second floor was clean and okay, although a few things are starting to show the wear such as tarnished sink taps and chip in vanity and tub. There was an additional vanity sink outside the bathroom which would be great for extra people to use. The beds are firm and we both woke up to sore backs. Breakfast included cold hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon usual bread and such items. It is a very busy place and would be good if you needed to visit the hospital. However, it is a 2 floor hotel with NO elevator.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#9 of 33 in Sudbury
172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#1 of 33 in Sudbury
725 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#7 of 33 in Sudbury
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#15 of 33 in Sudbury
343 reviews
3.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelway Inn Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelway Inn Sudbury

Property: Travelway Inn Sudbury
Address: 1200 Paris St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 5V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelway Inn Sudbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Through our personalized service and our attention to your every comfort, we seek to ensure that your every need is met during your stay. We have thought of everything. Each day we strive to exceed our expectations, so we can exceed yours.We are perfectly located! Walk directly across the street to visit Science North or to take a walk on the Board Walk along Ramsey Lake. Picking up your son or daughter from Laurentian University or attending a conference is easy as we are just a short 5 minute drive away. Parking at the hospital is not an issue for our Guests as we are adjacent to Health Sciences North.Locally owned and operated for over 30 years. The Travelway Inn exemplifies all that Sudbury hospitality represents. When you stay with us, we are sure that you will find all the Comforts of Home in the Luxury of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Travelway Inn Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing