We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper plates and plastic cups for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelway Inn Sudbury
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Paper plates and plastic cups for breakfast”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is somewhat conveniently located if you need to be near Laurentian University. It is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful enough. The main thing that disappointed me is that breakfast is served in paper plates, plastic cups, and plastic silverware. By the end of the morning it is a bit cringeworthy to see all the rubbish left behind in the bin at the dining room. I get that this is not mean to be a four-star hotel, but I am not referring to luxury. I just find it unacceptable that so much rubbish is generated as a matter of course.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    46
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
19
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is very close to the Science North and is walkable. But the inn is farther away from the rest of Sudbury like the malls and the restaurants.

The complimentary breakfast was pretty good, and was better than I expected. The two days that I stayed there, the breakfast was different both days.

Generally the room was pretty clean, except the walls are very thin so you can hear almost every movement of your neighbour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel is great. Yes it's older but the cleanliness,staff and location make up for nothing that needs to be changed..I have been staying her every week for the last 52 weeks for my son to receive chemotherapy and I can't say enough about this place..the price is right and the amenities are great..for someone passing through and need a place to rest your head, this is where you want to stay in the city..I have stayed at all of them in Sudbury and this is by far the best for comfort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ginette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

It's an alright hotel.

The good: good location. Very close to Science North (which is definitely worth the trip, regardless of your age), and a short drive to lots of other Sudbury hotspots.

The bad: no elevator. You have to drag your bags up 2 flights of stairs. No offer of help from staff either.

It's an average hotel. Still better than the one other place I've stayed in Sudbury, nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willyliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here two night while my dad was in the hospital. Nice and convenient, free parking and can walk to the hospital. Room was clean, comfortable. Free breakfast was a huge plus. Business centre was great, able to print off needed documents free. Staff was friendly. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESPANOLA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Wanted somewhere to spend the night by the hospital. Place was clean and comfortable. Could walk to hospital. Enjoyed 2 Km boardwalk arond the lake. good expierence. Stayed on ground floor east side toward hospital. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANIEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The staff are friendly, but the rooms are tired. Don't be misled by the new brick facade or the pseudo-modern fireplace in the lobby. If you have no particular business to be here (wedding, hospital access), don't do it. I ended up regretting staying at this hotel immensely.

The sound of running water from adjoining rooms was quite loud, the air was terrible and stale with poor circulation, and the whole place lingered with musty cigarette smoke that even for a smoker was off-putting. There were several wedding parties booked in, so I didn't pay much mind to the constant noise in the hallway until 1:30 am. Unfortunately, someone at the front desk told a new arrival that my room was theirs, and at 1 a.m. I was met with quite a racket by an insistent and confused guest. I think they had absentmindedly given us a room that had been set aside for the wedding party, but the scare wasn't appreciated, and I've never seen disorganization quite like it.

The beds were old and really uncomfortable and cleanliness in the room was lacking. The tub needed a good scrubbing (the permanent anti-slip tub mat was marred with pink algae), the towels were visibly worn, and the fridge had old, sticky pop stains all inside the door. You could see a cake of dust in corners visible but harder to reach. I'm not usually bothered by things that are dated, or more basic. I had been traveling for a week by this point and had stayed in several much more "ghetto" motels along highways, and in rustic cabins, and this place was the worst cared for, hands down. Yes, it was a busy Fri night, but you can't help but wonder what others corners were cut.

Yup, there's a breakfast: bagels,cereal, activia yogurt (the highlight of my entire hotel experience), juices, fruit; just don't eat anything they cook (bacon and eggs really).
Yes, it's right next door to Science North, which is why I chose it in the first place: I could just walk over and not pay for parking. Well, parking is only 5 dollars, so drive there instead.

The Science North grounds and the boardwalk along Ramsey Lake were lovely, and I'm glad I got to experience that. There's a yacht club right next to the Science North entrance that allows public access to a beach (middle path) and a parking lot (right hand path) when you walk/drive down the main entrance. The left hand path takes to you to the actual yacht club. It was a lovely walk and sunset. So the best thing about this hotel isn't actually about this hotel.

Less significant things: bare bones for the price ($140 bucks and nothing like a fitness centre, or a hot tub?), crappy old 27" tv, well, in the room at least, crappy old everything.

So there you have it. I did tell the front desk staff about the dirty tub and the fridge, and that I didn't appreciate the 1 a.m. room mix-up misadventure. Hope they appreciate the good staff they have and help the cleaning staff get the resources they need to get the job done right. This is no one's fault but the management. There were plenty of other hotels nearby, so with the right planning, you can avoid this whole mess.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sudbury
Holiday Inn Sudbury
#9 of 33 in Sudbury
166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 33 in Sudbury
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#15 of 33 in Sudbury
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 33 in Sudbury
492 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
1.5 mi away
Best Western Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelway Inn Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelway Inn Sudbury

Property: Travelway Inn Sudbury
Address: 1200 Paris St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 5V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelway Inn Sudbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Through our personalized service and our attention to your every comfort, we seek to ensure that your every need is met during your stay. We have thought of everything. Each day we strive to exceed our expectations, so we can exceed yours.We are perfectly located! Walk directly across the street to visit Science North or to take a walk on the Board Walk along Ramsey Lake. Picking up your son or daughter from Laurentian University or attending a conference is easy as we are just a short 5 minute drive away. Parking at the hospital is not an issue for our Guests as we are adjacent to Health Sciences North.Locally owned and operated for over 30 years. The Travelway Inn exemplifies all that Sudbury hospitality represents. When you stay with us, we are sure that you will find all the Comforts of Home in the Luxury of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Travelway Inn Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing