We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price”
Review of Holiday Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Motel
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This isn't the Ritz hotel but neither is the price. We were driving across Canada from Toronto to Kelowna and stopped here. We paid $90 after tax and got what we paid for. We've stayed in dirtier places for a lot more money.

The customer service was good, Very friendly people. Beds were comfy and clean. Amenities included flat screen tv, fridge, stove!, microwave and table, Apparently we got one of the rooms usually they put long term stays in. For the money, we definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 and while the furniture was clearly not new the tv and beds were in great shape...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I'd like to start off by saying I have nothing against cheap motels. We've been driving across Canada and typically staying in non chain motels around the $70 mark. We're not expecting modern beautiful rooms, just clean maintained places at a good price.

This motel was not those things. First off the room and bedding smelled like cigarettes. The drapes didn't cover the window to the parking lot up, and there was no lamp. The room was clean, and there were no bugs. Not atrocious, but there are definitely better places for the same price.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I arrived in Thunder Bay at 2am from Kingston ontario looking for an inexpensive place to crash for a few hours. They didn't answer the phone so I just showed up and rang the bell, the gentleman at the front desk (whom I believe I woke up) was very nice and accommodating, he charged me $65 for a room which was better than the $150 most hotels in the area charge. The room was clean with fresh towels and sheets and the bed believe it or not was more comfortable than your standard hotel bed. If you've had a long day on the road and just want somewhere to rest for a few hours before you continue on I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willyb1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was a very run down motel. I would not feel safe staying here. The curtains didn't cover the windows properly, the rug had white fur on it, one of the chairs had the legs tied together and the cupboards were disgusting. We were told it was a non-smoking room but it didn't smell like it was. It also had a mildew smell to it. After we took a look at the room we went back and got a refund. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank happybuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

spent one night here on a moto trip across canada. It was clean with easy entry and safe for a very nice price. Owner as very friendly with info on sites to see in the area. Its not the newest place around but very good for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

To start off the communication is very bad i was attempting to contact a room and they said she was not there no one here by that name meanwhile was there for two days already. The fridge didnt work has old teleivisons the overall service was very very poor . and do they take pets or not it seemed like she wasnt sure and made up a price

Room Tip: Yea go look for a better place.to stay
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Called seveal placing in Thunder Bay without finding a room available. Several conferences in town. This place took my reservation but when I arrived from Toronto at 9:30pm they said they were full and had no rooms.
When I asked why the woman on the phone would take my reservation, the guy behind the locked door said "sometimes they over-book" Thank you!
Took a hour to find another place with a room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank fathom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#24 of 33 in Thunder Bay
130 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
241 reviews
4.5 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Old Country Motel
Old Country Motel
#29 of 33 in Thunder Bay
50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Motel

Address: 375 Kingsway Ave | hwy61B, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 2A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range: £53 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel/motel, Budget priced, Clean and Comfortable, non-smoking rooms available, free high speed wireless, air conditioned, located in the central south end of Thunder Bay within 10 min drive to airport, very quiet and safe location, 24 hr front desk, one block south on Kingsway Ave, off East Arthur St. Come stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Thunder Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing