We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for overnight stay”
Review of Bob's Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bob's Motel
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Ideal for a night or two in Thunder Bay
Clean rooms and inexpensive.
Next door to Boston Pizza and McDonalds.
The only negative is the wifi is iffy.
I stay at Bobs 4 or 5 times a year when passing thru T Bay

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rrusty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We always stay here very time we come to tbay. We get great service and hes always nice and very accomidating. He even told me that if i didnt want to get in the box of the truck to plug my cord into the plugin i could park by his suv and use his cord. That was very helpful seeing i was to short to reach the plug. But it wasnt needed it was nice in tbay that night. Love this place will ALWAYS come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tadpole1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

made reservation at Bob's for March 19, & for April 1,2013 as I was flying to vacation in Cuba & I live 65 miles from T.B.
My return flite to TB was late ,1am & had no problem getting my room. Beds were very comfortable, room spotlessly clean & nice and warm.
I spent 25yrs in the hotel business so you would think I was fussy, but hv no complaints with this place. I used to stay at a chain hotel in TB but find $130. a bit much for 1 person/nite. My last vist to Bob's was $72.00 inc. tax

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william2Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Most of the reviews we read were horrific, but Mexicoanny's recent comments encouraged us to give Bob's Motel a try -- and our experience echoes hers. We were promptly served at reception, our room was recently renovated, and there was nothing to complain about IF you're OK without Wi-Fi and air conditioning, which the staff clearly indicated on the phone they did not have. Comfy beds, nice bed and bath linens, perfectly adequate shower, plus new carpeting, and plenty of TV channels for our needs. We left our room early in the morning to go sightseeing in Thunder Bay, and when we returned, Gary from the front desk hurried up to us to apologize for the fact housekeeping had gone in and started cleaning already. They thought we'd checked out because we'd already packed up our luggage. This is definitely not a luxury resort, but the reasonable price, friendly folks, and good night's sleep made it a pleasant experience for us.

Room Tip: We really liked #33, the last room in the building furthest from reception. To our surprise, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Probably the worst motel in all of thunder bay. From poor service to poor rooms in n general. The front desk people are always rude and almost every person I know who was stayed here has found something disgusting in their rooms. The only upside is that its located on arthur street but there are tons of nicer hotels on arthur with actual good service. Stay somewhere else! Anywhere would be a better choice

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had read very unfavourable reviews but a friend suggested i check it for myself and it provided very decent, basic accommodation. The room, bedding and linens were clearn, microwave worked, windows opened so airy, heat and hotwater very adequate, weekly rate was the best i found for quality. i did not expect the staff to be models of sartorial elegance, nor were they but they were pleasant and helpful. only thing missing was wifi which was unfortunate but i found excellent access and decent espresso at the Seattle Coffeehouse a few blocks away.

Room Tip: ask for non-smoking room;mine was clean, pleasant and simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mexicoanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I was visiting Thunder Bay with frugal friends and they booked this hotel, which cost $72/night (I guess that's reasonable for this area). I would not have chosen to stay here and definitely won't stay here again. A resident manager checked us in and I immediately knew what we were in for...he had on shorts, a saggy tanktop, bare feet and BO. Rooms are very dated--old furniture, small old television, no alarm clock, no wi-fi, no shampoo. Luckily, I arrived late and left early the next morning, so I was asleep for 7 of the 8 hours that I occupied the room.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
6  Thank OnTheRoadAgain1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
6.2 mi away
Nights Inn Motel
Nights Inn Motel
#15 of 33 in Thunder Bay
34 reviews
3.6 mi away
Super 8 Thunder Bay
Super 8 Thunder Bay
#11 of 33 in Thunder Bay
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,618 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
908 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Motel

Address: 235 Authur Street W., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing