We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!”
Review of Absolute Serenity

Absolute Serenity
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Absolute Serenity
Ranked #5 of 15 Thunder Bay B&B and Inns
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is the second time we've stayed with Laura and Ed, and both times have been absolutely wonderful. Both times we had the whole downstairs (family of 6)We felt like we were going to visit our favorite relatives. Fresh biscuits as a welcome were great! The kids loved staying and playing in the pool, and we relaxed and talked and watched tv. We had a lovely, filling, tasty breakfast in the morning, and visited with Laura and Ed, who have to be the best hosts in a B & B we've ever had. We had as much privacy as we wished, and visiting when we didn't. Thanks so much!!

Room Tip: I liked the room with the flowers and fountain, but both beds are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was in town with my other half for a few nights to attend an important interview at lake head U, I was very unsure about the hotel situation in Thunder Bay so I decided to go with absolute serenity based on the reviews! It's so cozy and homey! Even when it's snowy and cold outside, this is like a little oasis in Thunder Bay! It's a ways out of town, which isn't a bad thing... And even though we opted out of the menu options, Laura baked me biscuits on the morning of my big day, she even helped me decide what to wear... She was as involved in the stay as we desired! All in all, it was a great stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We're so glad we discovered Absolute Serenity! It was the most relaxing and restful night we'd had on our long journey driving from BC to Toronto. We enjoyed having our own kitchenette and spacious living quarters for the night. Laura and Ed gave just the right amount of "attentiveness" while also giving us our privacy. A very quiet location...just what we needed! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TnT_Wilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We recently stayed here with our three children (11, 9, and 7) and had a great time. This location is conveniently located near area attractions and the hospitality was appreciated. Ed and Laura had the wood burning stove going and fresh biscuits on the table as we arrived. It was a little difficult to find (no signage), but once we found it, we had a great time. The kids loved the pool table and movies. We also loved having a kitchen. Ed and Laura were available if we had questions. I would recommend this for families.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent two nights at Laura and Ed's place, Absolute Serenity. We booked the downstairs space, which did not feel like a basement at all, as it had a walkout to the deck. It fit us easily, with room to spare. There was a kitchenette for us to use, 1 and a half baths, pool table, TV with a large collection of DVDs and a fireplace. We like it so much we actually planned a night in to order pizza, watch movies and play pool.

Ed and Laura were very friendly and sociable. Ed was so kind to do a load of laundry for us, which we really needed (too much time spent on the road in the car!) and appreciated. They kept us company in the morning during breakfast and they were wonderful to chat with.

Speaking of which, breakfasts were very yummy. Omelets with cheese and veggies, fruit salad, toast and wonderful local jams. And the coffee was just great.

We plan on coming back when the weather turns colder, just so we can watch the northern lights on their back deck.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyAslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We were bowled over by the warm welcome , fire burning and home baked treats on our arrival after a very long trip . Laura and Ed could not have been kinder and looked after our every need .Our accomodation was spacious and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen .Laura gave us advice about what to see and do and we learned a lot about Canada in our discussions with our hosts . They invited us to Thanksgiving dinner and a fish barbecue which were very special . We arrived as strangers and left as friends .A wonderful place to stay in pretty and peaceful surroundings . We would recommend it to any visitor to Thunder Bay .

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Our family of two adults and four children (ages 5-11) stayed three nights in July and had a great time. I cannot say enough about the owners. So friendly, accommodating, hospitable, helpful. We rented the lower level of the home with two bedrooms and 1.75 baths. Plenty of room for six with a large living area and handy kitchenette. Lots to do with pool table, movie collection, swimming pool, archery, fire pit, etc. And if you just want to relax; the deck, garden and yard which backs up to woods are so calming. If you don’t feel like cooking or eating out, Laura can make a fabulous breakfast, lunch or dinner at a very reasonable price. The home is close to Fort William and Kakabeka Falls, which both make enjoyable day trips. Not far from the Canadian border, so it's great for Minnesota visitors. Looked into hotel options in the area and for $15 more a night than one tiny room at the Days Inn, you get a house, a yard with a beautiful view and gracious hosts. It's a no brainer!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamaof4inMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
847 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
7.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
211 reviews
9.3 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Serenity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Serenity

Property: Absolute Serenity
Address: 971 Gorevale Rd, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7G 2H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Thunder Bay and located a short distance from hiking, skiing, fishing, shopping, and entertainment. 12 km from Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre. Whatever your stay requires, we will do our best to see that it will be truly memorable. Savor a dip in our pool, a tranquil walk through the 6-acre setting, or an invigorating hike on one of the many nearby hiking trails. Snowshoeing and ski trails on the property and at nearby ski centers. No matter what the season, we have a variety of activities for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing