We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable nature experience”

Sleeping Giant Provincial Park
Ranked #3 of 65 things to do in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on a rugged peninsula of thick forests, several lakes, and high granite cliffs, this scenic wonderland offers nature walks, camping and fishing activities.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Unbelievable nature experience”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Although, as others have mentioned, this park is quite a distance from the main highway (11/17), it is ultimately worth the drive on a long and winding road...oue campsite was beautiful, HUGE, and very secluded. Even though we knew we had camping neighbors on all three sides, we never saw or heard them. We were fortunate to get a campsite on Marie Louise Lake, and had many native visitors...a deer, a skunk, squirrels, chipmunks, and a mama duck with four ducklings...all to our children's delight!

As time was limited, we drove to the Thunder Bay Lookout, which is a small cantilevered deck (not for those with vertigo) that provides a spectacular view of Thunder Bay. There are lots of hiking trails of varying lengths and challenge levels if you have more time to spend, and we definitely wished we did!

The beach looked lovely, and the lake was fairly warm and very clean. The toilets near the campsites are outhouses (bring your own soap), but there are centralized "Comfort Stations" with flush toilets and showers (and laundry facilities.) The staff are very helpful and can answer pretty much any question you have about the park. Definitely will visit again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    85
    25
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Long Way In”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Driving to the park is a long way off the highway..we stopped at a pay n stop area along the rd that belongs to the park and took pics of the sleeping giant...deer on the rd have to be careful..the lake was nice to see

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you can get a spot on the lake, grab it. Wonderful sunsets, and clean campsites. Avoid the outhouses. They nasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickle Lake, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“lots to do”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It is a drive from Thunder Bay, but we always make an effort to camp there when we come in to Thunder Bay for the weekend. The campsites are roomy, Marie Louise Lake is warm and clean. The trail system is well marked even for first timers. So much to do there...we're always sad when our time there is done.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sleeping giant awesome”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My girlfriend and I went across Canada and this was the second camp site we came across. It was honestly the best campsite wee ever been to. We went mid may and the weather was surprisingly warm and comfortable.

Although it was a bit busy we were able to find a decent spot that had stairs to the lake. I think this was a great bonus to the campsite. We were able to fish from our site, and although we didn't catch anything we still had a great time and enjoyed some spectacular sunsets. Our site also had a private (semi-private if you're going while it's busy) bathroom which we used for washing dishes and storing some things.

There were a number of options for hikes around the area which unfortunately we were not able to do but liked the wide selection. A beer store and town were no more than a 20-30 minute drive from the campsite.

On our last day we had a flat tire and went to the gate house to get help. They sent us a service technician who was very helpful and offered great advice.

Overall a wonderful place and would definitely visit again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sleeping Giant Provincial Park also viewed

 

Been to Sleeping Giant Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing