We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Comfort Inn(Thunder Bay)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valhalla Inn(Thunder Bay)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thunder Bay Inn(Thunder Bay)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveller rating
597
268
67
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
268
67
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain viewski hilloff the menubest westernspatio doorshotel restaurantvery nice hotelwould highly recommend this hotelfront desk staffplace to stayfree breakfastsecond floorminute driveroom was spaciousnice poolhot tubbusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 970 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It's a little bit out of town, however depending on why you are in Thunder Bay, there is no reason you can't stay here. Nice little pool area, sauna, hot tub, restaurant, and bar. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are not five star, however they are clean and mostly updated. Fridge, Flat screen tv, Wifi. Beautiful surrounding. And across the street is one of my favourite restaurants, The Nebbing.

Room Tip: Most ground floor rooms can be accessed from the parking lot.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ColdCanuckTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear hszumowski,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide an excellent review and rating on TripAdvisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our new Cliffhanger restaurant and bar, as well as our newly renovated guest rooms.

Our mission is to lead the industry in Superior Customer Care, and it is wonderful to see that as our loyal guest you have experienced this first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our scenic location again in the future.
To us you are like family.

Sincerely

Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Every staff person at this hotel that we encountered was pleasant, professional, and accommodating. We stayed here for about a week at the end of August, 2013.

The rooms are clean, and spacious. The room that we upgraded to the night of the wedding (I think it was called a spa suite?) was AMAZING - the bathroom was beautiful, and it was huge!

Planning a wedding at this hotel was a piece of cake. Joanna (catering & events) was a pleasure to deal with, as was Justin, who took care of our room bookings. I planned everything from out of town, and it all went smoothly.

Our 4 course meal at the reception was seriously the best reception dinner I've ever had, and many of our guests told me this as well. Meals at the restaurant on site were great as well; we ate here a lot during the week.

Everyone who works at this hotel, from the groundskeepers to the front desk staff all did a great job the week we stayed here.

Any time I have to stay in a hotel in Thunder Bay in the future, it will be this one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear rgessie,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials and for allowing us to be a part of this momentous occasion. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review and provide an excellent rating for our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to read that our newly renovated guest rooms exceeded your expectations, and that "planning a wedding at this hotel was a piece of cake", as our hard working Catering and Guest Services staff strive to provide superior customer care.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your anniversary.
Our best wishes to you both in your future together.

Sincerely

Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have stayed here many times either passing through or visiting Thunder Bay and I continue to feel that their service is second to none. I know that they pride themselves on customer service and everyone I have ever dealt with has made that extra effort. The building itself is not new, but it is well maintained and the rooms are modern, clean, roomy, and comfortable. The second floor has balconies. There are several outside main entrances, clearly marked, so you can park close to your room. (It's a sprawling structure.) The grounds are lovely with a nice rural feel - the place is only a few minutes out of the city on the highway going to the US. Restaurant staff are great, they will prepare stuff for you to take to your room, and breakfasts are hearty and good. There is a nice pool and they have computer access in the lobby. Nothing to complain about! On my last visit, we were pulling my car on a tow-dolly behind a 26' truck. We had some trouble re-attaching the dolly to the truck after we had to unhitch (reasons too long to mention...). After a SOS call, staff came out to help us! This was superb as we could not have done it ourselves. Very friendly people, a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear DLCAlberta,

It is with great pleasure that I respond to your excellent rating on TripAdvisor, and thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

I am very happy to read that our staff left such a positive impression on you. Best Western's vision is to lead the industry in Superior Customer Care, and I am proud to hear that our staff lives this statement on a daily basis.

I am also glad to read your positive comments on our Cliffhanger restaurant, our Executive Chef takes great pride in his work and it is good to see a loyal guest such as yourself enjoying the result of such dedication and passion.

We look forward to providing you with same level of satisfaction on future stays in our newly renovated rooms.
To us you are like family!


Sincerely

Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

As mentioned in some of the reviews, this facility is out of the City, but that offers a lot in itself - quiet, peaceful - great scenery.

We had travelled from Innisfail, AB to Orangeville, ON. on our Can-Am Spyder, pulling a trailer. Hotel is Biker Friendly. The Staff were all very friendly & helpful.

Will stay there next trip through.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear William K.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, It is very much appreciated.

Thank you for including our hotel on your Cross Canada Motorcycle Ride, I am glad to read that our scenic location met and exceeded your expectations, and that our facility accommodated your needs. It is also wonderful to see that our mission to provide Superior Customer Care is being implemented by our hard working and dedicated staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Sincerely

Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were driving from Calgary to Windsor and had driven in from Brandon arriving at this hotel in the early evening. The staff at reception was not very friendly – had to wait several minutes while two members of the staff were chatting with one of the guests until one of them decided to come to check me in! We stay at Best Westerns quite often (have Gold Elite status) and we were very pleased with the one in Brandon but this was unacceptable. The property is in a nice location with nice grounds but a bit dated. Our room was on the second floor (no elevators) – fairly basic and cleanish. We had difficulty in finding the ice machine – only on the lower level. The restaurant was ok – our server was nice and friendly but the other staff – not so much. Check out was ok. Probably will give this hotel a miss if we are in the Thunderbay area again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear FS75 TripAdvisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay. We take your comments very seriously and will use your suggestions to implement improvements to our processes. We realize that there is a need for an elevator in our property at the guest room side, and as part of the next face of our renovation and elevator is part of it.

I would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Best Western brand and look forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact me directly so I can assist you with your next reservation.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews