We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly and a good nights rest !”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very helpful and accommodating staff. This was our overnight stop on a trip through to Sask.. We had our dog and a load of furniture and appreciated the ground floor access. Clean, quiet accommodations, nice breakfast and we were off again in good time. Pricier than some but lots of little extras.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review. It is always great to share the comments with my team! I do appreciate the mention of the friendliness and cleanliness of the hotel. This is certainly of the utmost importance to us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Comfort Inn!
Best regards,
Sherri Locke, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Another stop on our cross-Canada drive. Great location near the highway since we were only stopping for the night. Also lots of restaurants within walking distance; it was good to stretch the legs. Hotel is very clean but did not have a fridge or microwave in the room and I like the fridge for my insulin. Nice staff. No problems.

Room Tip: There is no elevator to the second floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englishteacher54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your most recent visit with us. Should you be returning to the area, please do not hesitate to request a room with a fridge and microwave. Most of our rooms are equipped with this convenience, and we would have been happy to accommodate your request.
Sherri Locke, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This chain hotel has been renovated and now seems a good deal. All the rooms have been redone top to bottom. Clean and comfortable and now well worth the Choice Hotels price of over a hundred dollars.
Oh and they now have a complimentary HOT breakfast. With Eggs, sausage and bacon........mmmm

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Comfort Inn. We are quite pleased with the results of our recent renovation...thanks for mentioning our hot breakfast also. We've enjoyed many great comments about all of our upgrades! I'm happy you enjoyed your visit with us, and hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Sherri Locke, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The rooms are awesome. Everything is clean, comfortable, and convenient. The front desk staff, upon arrival, was lukewarm. Not the most friendly, chap. The complementary breakfast was convenient and the staff in the kitchen were great. When I signed out the young women at the front desk was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianCycleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to make a note of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to know that our recent renovations have provided you with a great stay. I am sorry to read that the Guest Service Representative provided only a "lukewarm" reception for you. We certainly do strive for excellence for all of our guests. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Best regards,
Sherri Locke, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is an old motel that hasn't done much recently to update itself. No frills in terms of fitness centre, or pool, one ice machine on the first floor, and a total of 4 seats in the "breakfast area" to sit down and eat. The breakfast itself was also poorer than other comparable motels.
Our room was ok, but the bed had one of the old patterned comforters that you see on Dateline when they shine the black light on it, instead of the duvets that are in the newer accommodations that they can easily wash. He bed wasn't very comfortable to boot.
Staff were friendly, and it was easy to fine, but for your money, you can probably find a nicer and newer place to stay. It's ok in a pinch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hypurv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your most recent stay. I do recognize that our hotel is in need of some updates and I am pleased to advise that we are scheduled for a full renovation in early January 2014. This will include new guestroom carpets, wall coverings, furnishings, linen packages, and draperies. Additionally, we will be adding a full breakfast room with guest seating, and ample space to provide for an expanded breakfast offering, including fresh made waffles, and additional hot food selections. I certainly do appreciate the opportunity to respond to your comments and provide all of the readers with this exciting information for the Comfort Inn, Thunder Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had an unexpected stay in Thunder Bay and needed a room for one night. After searching for rooms with 2 beds, this was one of the only options we had without spending more the 200 dollars. We still had to pay over 150 dollars for a room here which is very pricey for a VERY average room.

Room was quite small although it was clean. Parking spots are not abundant. The hotel was quite busy so there was plenty of noise. Continental breakfast was served in the lobby. Very few options and the lobby area is VERY small with practically no seating. I would personally not stay here again unless the price was at LEAST 1/2 off from what we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upnorth_wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for the staying with us while you were in Thunder Bay. I understand you concern regarding rates in our city, and would like to assure you that we are very competitively priced for our area. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our guestrooms. We do take great care to ensure our rooms are well appointed and welcoming for our guests, after a long day of travelling.
I am pleased to advise that we are scheduled for a full renovation in early January 2014. This will include new guestroom carpets, wall coverings, furnishings, linen packages, and draperies. Additionally, we will be adding a full breakfast room with guest seating, and ample space to provide for an expanded breakfast offering, including fresh made waffles, and additional hot food selections.
I hope you will consider staying with us again, should your travels bring you back to Thunder Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Although the hotel had a mix up on my check-in by charging me a no show as the booker messed up the dates, the morning staff quickly refunded it. Rooms were average, breakfast was tasty but crowded as they serve in the main lobby. Overall not a bad place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to know that our staff were helpful in resolving the reservation mix up. I know our lobby area does become congested during our breakfast hours, and am pleased to advise that we are scheduled to be adding a full breakfast room during our pending renovations. In the short-term, we do offer breakfast trays for anyone who would like to enjoy breakfast in their guestroom.
Best regards,
Sherri Locke, CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
0.3 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 660 Arthur St W, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range: £74 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay is a 100% Smoke-Free hotel with newly renovated front desk, lobby area with fireplace and business centre. All guestrooms feature new carpet, drapes, bedding, bathroom vanity and floor tile. Additional room features include a 32 inch flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, ergonomic chair and free Wi-Fi. Relax in our spacious new breakfast room and enjoy a free full hot breakfast featuring eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles and more. Located 5 minutes driving distance from the Thunder Bay Intl Airport (YQT) and in close proximity to Arthur Street Marketplace, Regional Health Sciences Center and Lakehead University. We are pet-friendly and offer ground floor rooms with patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Thunder Bay
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing