We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a short stay at good price”
Review of Old Country Motel

Old Country Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Country Motel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It is not the big luxury, but that makes the work. The room is small, with a comfortable bed. Even if there is a kitchen area, there are very few utensils. The bathroom is clean with tablettes. Sam, in the reception, is kind and tries to return the stay of the most pleasant. Why to pay a higher price somewhere else, except that of a bed that you need.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Raylan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Driving across canada and staying in the old country motel, it is a good price, clean rooms and friendly service. If you are looking for pretty, not for you,but I am looking for bang for my buck, and it was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I was in town for a business trip. Decided to stay on a few extra days and was looking for an affordable in-town option. I found Old Country to be a nice experience. I stayed in Room 1, which appears to be recently updated. The room had a stove top, fridge, kitchen sink. The bathroom was spotless. Beds were comfy. The location is ok, the Hoito is a few blocks down the road. Great place to stay if you want to save a few bucks and get a good night sleep. I plan to stay here next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David_Sze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We knew from the get go that this was not the best place to stay in Thunder Bay. If you can afford to stay at another motel I would suggest you do so. The rooms are out dated, floor dirty overall first look is not good and if we were not so tired we would have moved on to another motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blurgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

As soon as we opened the door, we knew we couldn't stay there. There was the stench of urine in the room and floor was very dirty. The owner/manager wasn't available, so we simply left to find somewhere else to stay and ate the cost of the room. We called him to let him know, and he was very nice and offered to show us a different room, but it was already too late at that point. We felt bad since he was so very nice, but the rooms were in a condition we were just not ready to deal with.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank smithjen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We travel a LOT. We have stayed in many Delta Hotels, Hiltons, etc....all at a whopping price for nice decor. Sam is the friendliest owner you could ever meet, if you need something, just ask he will get it for you. The rooms are OLD, he is busily trying to update each one. New bathrooms, little kitchenettes, it is a Quaint & Quirky place to stay. So if you can handle & overlook some outdated furnishings & enjoy a nice comfy bed, this is the perfect place to stay. The price is right & like I said, just ask SAM for anything. One night we were staying there, and there were a band of travelling "bagpipers" ( yep, kids who played bagpipes) didn't speak English well, arrived late & SAM COOKED THEM DINNER !! Try getting that service at your 5 star hotels.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are a little noisier with road traffic, so ask for the ones at back. He has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Preciouspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My family spent three nights here during a stay in Thunder Bay. The motel was simple and older but had some nice updates--comfortable beds, updated bathroom. The family suite we stayed in had two bedroom areas separated by a wall and a simple kitchenette with a funny stovetop/refrigerator combination, but all functioned well. Gas grill in the common area if you were so inclined to use it, as well as patio furniture under a pretty crabapple tree. The owner, who took over this property about a year ago, was friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and strove to make sure we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serafina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#25 of 33 in Thunder Bay
132 reviews
3.8 mi away
Thunder Bay Inn
Thunder Bay Inn
#11 of 33 in Thunder Bay
84 reviews
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
7 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Country Motel

Address: 500 Cumberland St N, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4R8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay District > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range: £36 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Country Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Old Country Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing