We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay for the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Superior Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Superior Motel
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff at check in. Room had a kitchenette and was a good size. Although the carpet and furniture were well used, everything was clean. It would be nice to have coffee to go with the coffee maker.

I was in room 18, which is one of the few rooms with another room above it on a second story. The floors were creaky and not well sound insulated. Fortunately the people above me were fairly quiet. I would recommend requesting a room in the single story part of the motel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
15
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kenora
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

we have stsyed here in the past with great service. After calling and booking 3 nites and being told no problem we arrive to be told our room has been given away. If thats the way they treat repeat customers than i say find some place new.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunsetlimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed there for 2 days in a single bedroom, No kitchen.
The bathrooms weren't big nor small and super clean, the bed tidy and clean, the owner very helpful and very nice.
I was amazed at the cheap price - $50 per night.
The room was a bit noisy, as can be expected since my room was parallel to the road, but other than that I'd recommend staying there.
It was better than other, more expensive places I stayed in on my trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwgTrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed in a room with two double beds. The room was clean, but had an odd odour in it. Not anything that smelled dirty, just different. The room had a fridge and microwave, cable tv, wifi and the bed was pretty comfortable. Despite being on a failry busy street it was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor ON
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I was satisfied with my four night stay at this motel in room 2 and I thought the kitchenette room was a good value. The room was a decent size but not as clean as it could be (don't look up). The bed was firm, having a mattress on a raised wooded frame which I had no problem with. The bathtub did have a mold problem which could have been easily remedied by removing the old sealant and apply fresh sealant .

Room Tip: Do not stay in room #5 which I did for two nights; it is small. For $10 go for the kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalSerenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were happy with our room as it had a separate eating area along with a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The room was clean, with a nicely redone bathroom. The host was hurried, we arrived after 6 and he acted like he just wanted to get rid of me, no info on Thunder Bay, not even a map. All in all we were happy as we just needed a place to eat supper and sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abotsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This motel looks not so great from the outside, the rooms were great though. Comfy beds, very clean, great location, quiet, good housekeeping. We are even going to stay here on our back to BC too!!! Do stay here if you plan to be in Ontario!

Room Tip: Room # 8 was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Junglegwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
3.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.3 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads
3.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Motel

Property: Superior Motel
Address: 446 Cumberland St N, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4R2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Superior Hotel Thunder Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing