We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
STACY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hotel was OK, and room was very clean. The restaurant was good and staff were nice. The only disappointing thing was that no alcohol was allowed in the pool area and if you wanted to visit with your friends and have a cocktail you had to sit in your room..

Room Tip: Don't choose a pool view room you can hear all the noise from the pool thru the vents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    99
    62
    27
    29
See reviews for
105
41
7
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, On
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Everything was fine, with one exception: your page said that breakfast was included, but it was not because, we were told, "... you booked with Expedia.com..." This was disappointing; also there was only a shower, no tub.


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prior lake mn
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I checked in for one night. At check in the staff were busy with a number of guests but still very friendly. I had a poolview room on the second floor. It and the hallway were very dark. The room felt tired and the hallways also are in need of some updating. While I could get wifi in my room, my co-travelers just around the corner could not and had to go to the lobby to connect and were not offered any compensation. Hotel met my basic needs of clean and quiet room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The pool was great but if you stay there during the week the water slide is only open sporadically-this was disappointing to the kids. The pool area was clean and well kept. The staff were not friendly during my stay. Our room, which had a pool view, had no temperature control and was blasting out cold air continuously-the a/c must have been on and we were offered a blanket and told that maintenance couldn't do anything about it. When I complained the second day I was offered blankets. On the third night I was offered a heater, but not before this. Very poor service.
When we checked out the staff did nothing to reduce our rate or compensate us for the lack of temperature control/very cold room. It was a very expensive stay and very uncomfortable. I was not offered another room until we checked out.
Dated rooms but clean

Room Tip: Make sure your room has individual temperature control or you will freeze Pool view rooms are loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very clean hotel with friendly staff. The pool facilities were great for us and our grandchildren. At least 2-3 lifeguards while we were there and very watchful of everyone in the pool. Enjoyed very good dinners and breakfasts at the restaurant. This is the second time we've been there and have already recommended to friends and family. Also very close to the airport and highways - perfect for travelling. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gord4700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent three days in the hotel. We were attending a wedding and other members of our family were in the hotel. The young grand kids had a place to vent their couped up fealings in the pool and the water slide. The family room asigned to my Daughters family was big spacious. The cleaning staff did a good job. I would return to this hotel for a stay.

Room Tip: back corridor facing the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
472 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hotel was quite dated seemed like I was stepping into the 1960's- even though hotel was fairly empty they put me at the FARTHEST room from the elevators - the pool/slide looked like a lot of fun but didn't have time on this trip to try it out.
The lotion was half gone - a sign that it had been used previously - throw it out!!! The hand soap that was suppose to be foaming was watered down so much it wasn't soap.
The staff are amazing which made the stay more enjoyable. It's nice to feel welcomed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
2.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
2.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre

Property: Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Address: 555 Arthur Street West, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R5, Canada (Formerly Victoria Inn)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Thunder Bay
Victoria Inn Thunder Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing