We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Burger”
Review of the Sovereign Room

the Sovereign Room
Ranked #12 of 288 Restaurants in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Burger”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I went to this bar recently and I loved the atmosphere, food and beer selection. The burger is one of the best burgers I have ever had, they even make the bun from scratch. I would definitely suggest thing place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane12345615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    78
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Every visit to this place has been enjoyable. From great food to great service. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Pub Food with a Twist”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

"The Sov", as the locals call it in Thunder Bay, is popular hangout for the local college kids, but the food is a well-kept secret. The menu features modern takes on classic pub food, with a latin flair.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An unpretentious GEM!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Service with a smile, and an obvious passion for food preparation. My wife had the nachos - said they were the best she had ever had - and I had the duck breast - FABULOUS! This place could be transplanted to College Street in Toronto, double or triple the prices, and would be jammed.

It's definitely in our "must visit" list for our next trip to Thunder Bay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LexCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Everything on the menu is always wonderful. They have unique specials and the service is always cheerful. They have done a great job of remodeling the interior and yet seems to posses the charm of the old establishment that was there 40 years ago. They have a great little bar and they serve "Sleeping Giant" beer on tap, plus others. The prices are very good and it gets quite busy in the evenings. It is a fun place with fantastic food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woody_derango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the Sovereign Room also viewed

Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 

Been to the Sovereign Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing