We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come here not the other amethyst mine!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Point Amethyst Mine

The Blue Point Amethyst Mine
Ranked #6 of 64 things to do in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Come here not the other amethyst mine!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

While it is off the beaten path we found it after the 5km or 3 mile dirt road. My wife and I had a great time picking through the piles of rocks looking for amethyst as the owner set up for a blast. After about an hour they asked us to move to a safe distance so they could blast. WOW. After the explosion, we found the most amazing gems. We left with about 40 lbs or about 20 kg of great gems and one large one full of amazing amethysts. Best of all we were allowed fairly free access to the area (not the mine pit itself, I am sure for our safety) and we could use our own tools to take off excess stone to get the very best gems. A way better value than the other amethyst mine in the area that charges for admission. Great place and very friendly people.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank kevinlkaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    30
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chanhassen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not Fancy, but so fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stopped here on our way out of Thunder bay to continue our trip around Lake Superior with our four children, ages 2-10. A friend had recommended Blue POint as perhaps not so touristy, etc. And she was right! Not much in the way of amenities. The owner, though, is super nice and laid back. We spent quite a bit of time digging through the open mine, smashing rocks with hammers and other rocks to see what gems we found and then used his scrub brushes to clean them off to decide which ones we wanted to take. He helped the children choose some good ones and we extremely fair in his pricing. Really, a great time and you can spend as much or as little time there as you like. We came away with great memories and some nice gifts for friends, meaningful souvenirs from our trip and lovely specimens for the kids' classrooms.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Cara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Indiana
Level Contributor
263 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Have fun looking for treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stopped at the Blue Points mine on our Circle the Lake tour of Lake Superior. The mine is located near Pearl, Ontario. Turn off highway 11-17 onto Road 5 North, cross the railroad tracks, then left 2 miles. The road is dirt, but easy to navigate with no big hills. Plenty of parking when you arrive. The mine is a big dynamited hole and you are allowed to pick through the piles of rocks looking for gemstones. I thought we'd be lucky to find one or two nice specimens, but to my surprise, the crystals were everywhere. It had just rained, so the dust was washed off revealing purple stones everywhere. For $20 we could fill a bucket, $10 for a half bucket. It was one of my favorite stops on our trip.
Be aware that if you wish to go down into the pit, you must have your own safety gear, ie hard hat, gloves, knee pads & sturdy shoes. Open Mid-May through Canadian Thanksgiving.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank tagnrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little treasure hunting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The Blue Point Amethyst Mine does not advertise. You won't find them in any guide book or flyers. The only way we were able to find the place is by reading the reviews of the people who had been there. We almost missed the hand written sign on a piece of plywood that was posted by the side of the road. We got there eventually and spent about an hour there. We mostly got rocks with traces of amethysts but found nothing that was really of value. It was still fun, though, digging through the big pile of rocks as this was the first time we have ever done this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank delight58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haleyville, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Mr. Swanson's Purple Haze”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I read about Blue Point right here on TripAdvisor before we left for Canada. It was everything other contributors said it would be. We never like to go for the regular tourist attractions if there are smaller and more personal ones to find. Blue Point did not disappoint !
We got up early and loaded up our rock hammers and work gloves and took off into nowhere with only directions from others on TripAdvisor. Sure enough...there was the tiny sign, the dirt road, the chain link fence and the old cabin. Right in the middle of it all there stood Mr. Swanson. I was so excited. We walked the short distance into the woods and there was the open mine.
Mr. Swanson gave us both two very large buckets...for the only fee charged which was $15 a bucket...pointed to the best digs and off we went. I am so pleased with our treasures! We didn't find anything worthy of the Smithsonian but we have some really pretty amethyst! Single stones to small boulders with deep purple crystal seams. There were several other people there and we just all had a wonderful morning. A young man did find one single cluster the size of a basketball and it was the deepest purple and brilliant! It was a fun experience and one I have now happily crossed off my bucket list!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Janice819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Point Amethyst Mine also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Point Amethyst Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing