We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice new property”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When we arrived after a long day of traveling we discovered that asking for a quiet room on a higher floor meant a room farthest from the elevator (long hallway) and overlooking a major intersection. The front desk staff was very accommodating and found us another room on the second floor near the stairs that worked out perfectly for my daughter and I during our 10 day stay. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are nice and new with bright colours. The kitchenettes have nice appliances and a full size fridge with freezer so you can have ice cream in your room :)
The table and chairs are nice for eating in the room or for having friends over to visit.
The sink and mirror are outside the bathroom and have drawers for storing your things which is nice during a long stay, they provided a hair dryer that worked well.
There is lots of storage for clothes and suitcases with a long closet beside the door and a closet with shelves near the bathroom.
I found the air conditioner a little loud at night but it did cool the room and I got used to it after a few days.
The breakfast was pretty typical and didn't change much from day to day. They have the fixings that you could make an egg on an english muffin with sausage and many guests seemed to like that. My daughter liked that they had chocolate milk. After a few days we tired the breakfast scene but it was nice to be able to grab a yogurt or instant oatmeal to bring up to your room. They didn't have much selection of fruit, just apples and oranges I believe. They have coffee in the lobby all the time.
The pool is fine for kids to splash around and their is a tiny hot tub attached to the pool. The seating around the pool is limited and the actual pool area is quite small but their is a patio where families were BBQing and you can see the pool through the windows there, and there is a door to access the patio from the pool area.
You can't beat the location, very central to everything in the city and Intercity mall is just across the street. There are lots of food options very close by. I would recommend a car if you are staying here but that goes for any hotel in Thunder Bay.
The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is still quite new so some there is still room for improvement in their service, more staff training will fix that.
Their were some meetings taking place while we were there and the meeting facilities seemed quite adequate.
The fitness room is well enough equipped with nice new cardio machines, a few free weights and lots of televisions.
The guest laundry machines were inexpensive and worked great, quick and efficient.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: The hotel is kind of an L shape and the one hallway is quite long so if you are on a higher floor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank memorymakermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    84
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
61
56
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
RochesterMN
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is nice and new. Room was clean. Pool and hot tub are small but sufficient. Staff was friendly. Lots of noisy traffic right outside the window, however, a convenient location to shopping, movie theater, A&W in parking lot, indoor sports dome/trampoline park. Breakfast was adequate. The two bedroom with kitchen was very spacious and suited our family of 4 quite well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyGRochesterMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. Our 1 and 2 bedroom suites are situated on the south side of the hotel and usually the traffic is not so noticeable. Next time you want to stay with us please let me know. Maybe we could accommodate you further away from the south side of the hotel in adjoining rooms, for the same rate as the 2 bedroom. I'd be more than happy to do that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomdon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed the weekend of Aug.15-17, I was visiting my sister. This hotel is very nice and clean, the rooms are spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. The hotel is also conveniently located near a Superstore which is great as the room has a kitchenette. There is also a A&W right next door. When I return to thunder bay I will definitely be staying here again :-D

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaDemedeiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed two nights recently in Thunder Bay at the Towne Place Suites, and were very pleasantly surprised. We had reserved two rooms with the request they be adjacent to each other, and on the quiet side of the building. They were both close (across the hall) and quiet. The room were very comfortable and well equipped with the usual plus the small kitchen. The included breakfast was certainly more that adequate and very convenient. The hotel is very visible in the area as it is a tall building, however not easy to get to. I would have thought that Marriott would have bargained for their own access off of Harbour Expressway. Anyway, once there, we enjoyed it, and would certainly go their again if in the Thunder Bay Area. Our rooms were near the elevator, so didn't have problems getting to our rooms.

Room Tip: Upper floors help to avoid road noises (elevators are good there).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70plusandtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very clean, spacious and fully fitted out suites. Roomy, great bed and linen made it a very comfortable overnighter. Wifi worked well, staff very friendly and efficient both on arrival and departure. Not sure of location in relation to sites/tourism stuff, but was handy enough to airport.
All in all, value was there and experience was seamless.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This brand new hotel leaves nothing lacking. Spacious clean rooms with kitchenettes, breakfast with hot and cold options (chocolate milk is a nice touch for the kids!) laundry, a pool, and air conditioned work out room. Snacks and light meals are for sale at the front. All staff are friendly, there is a very positive vibe in the hotel. Will stay again when we pass through Thunder Bay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreaadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webberville, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We chose this Hotel because we like the suite concept. Our romm is 308, it has a kitchen with all the dishes you would need, stove top, dishwasher, microwave and a full size fridge. The Hotel is only a year old and is still pristine. Breakfast is free, the room are large and well laid out. Very, very nice. There is a guest Laundry too, feed in quarters and you can wash your clothes. Also a fitness center and a nice pool.

Room Tip: We like 308, I am sure all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi48836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
847 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
3.3 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay

Property: TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
Address: 550 Harbour Expy, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 6P4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott® is an all-suites hotel, with fully equipped kitchens, well designed work areas, Free high-speed Internet and daily Hot breakfast. We feature an indoor pool/hot tub, meeting rooms, fitness room and our exclusive ln a Pinch 24/7 food market. Pets welcome. Business, leisure and extended stays; our amenities and staff will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing