We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent night out, or romantic overnight”

Rose Valley Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 288 Restaurants in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$52
Cuisines: European, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are by reservation only with one dinner sitting at 7:00 pm Thursday to Sunday. First reservation chooses the main entree for that evening. Experience a delectable 5-course meal in a quiet, intimate setting on secluded 440 acres of meadows, forest and ancient mountains. Make it a full getaway with an overnight stay in one of two log cabins available for rent.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent night out, or romantic overnight”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The host is an excellent chef. The food is phenomenal, and the venue beautiful... looking out on to low planes, with horses and the occaisional dear... remote, rustic, romantic... strongly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the 1/2 hour drive.”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Amazing dinner tonight at Rose Valley Resort and Restaurant. Started with a colourful and tasty pea soup, followed by a simple but flavourful broccoli salad with almond slivers and cranberries. Next was the lightest ravioli pasta I have ever eaten filled with spinach. The main course was perfectly cooked pickerel with a fennel sauce garnished roasted baby potatoes, carrots and celery root. Finish it all off with a very light chocolate mousse with orange zest and mint leaves.
For our wine selection, I asked for the chefs suggestion, and he said he had a wine that is not on the list from Switzerland and it was a perfect pairing.
Combine this with my wife and four kids (aged 17-25) and I can't think of a better way to spend 3 hours.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“anniversary”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My boyfriend and i went there for our anniversary, amazing food great chef so much soul in what he does, there was a nice horse back riding trail to go on down the road with beautiful horses a great host. It was such a beautiful experience being cut off from everything and having being served this amazing food and great wine too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

A very special birthday celebration with a delicious supper & breakfast by the amazing Markus--gluten free no problem. Comfy cabin.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank porchbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meal of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My husband and I went to the Rose Valley Lodge for our first wedding anniversary. When I booked our reservation Markus asked us for our menu selection. I ordered the beef tenderloin with bernaise sauce. It was a Sunday evening so we were the only guests so we had our 5-course meal cooked by our own personal Swiss chef! It was fabulous! Every course was very good tasting, nice presentation and we enjoyed some interesting conversation. We savored excellent potato leek soup, tangy Napa cabbage salad, delicious bow tie pasta appetizer, and a perfectly done steak with potatoes, carrots and cooked cucumber. Not to mention the delicious warm homemade bread and decadent chocolate souffle hot out of the oven for dessert! We ordered a bottle of French wine with our meal and enjoyed every bit of it. We will definitely be going back for another meal. We both agreed that it was one of the best meals we have ever had in our lives!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieH1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose Valley Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 

Been to Rose Valley Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing