We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Wedding Stay”
Review of The Senator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Senator Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My entire family stayed two nights for a Wedding weekend. Right from the reservation to the departure the Hotel Staff were very helpful. The rooms were very spacious and clean and above all quiet.
The continental breakfast was awesome and coffee rivalled Starbucks. Hot and tasty .
It was a wonderful wedding weekend with no stress thanks to the staff at this Days Inn.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on inside of the Hotel. Air conditioning works really well.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

I am very happy to read that we made your weekend stress free. That is very rewarding to us.
We will continue to do so, do come back soon. Thank you for this review and have a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for The Senator Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel last weekend, and I had a wonderful experience. Fast check-in, clean room, big breakfast selection, and friendly staff. The room was properly air-conditioned for a hot weekend. Would recommend to anyone staying in the Timmins area. Its close to many amenities and had a great room service option.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you very much Cassie. Your comments and review are truly appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed the room service option. It's always nice when you just want to stay in your room and relax, watch tv or do work, Have a great weekend!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Greetings,
Our party of 8 stayed at this hotel for a wedding and it was a great experience. The staff treated me kindly when I asked for directions and were attentive to my requests for extra towels. We stayed on the 6th floor overlooking downtown Timmins over two beautiful sunny days.

The breakfast is a highlight, so don't miss out on the pastries or the eggs. Covered parking is a plus and there was a microwave and a fridge in the room, something we rarely get at hotels double the price of the Days Inn. I used the free wifi on my phone and was surprised by how fast it was. I'm used to heavy traffic and turtle speeds at most hotels, so it would seem the Days has upgraded, though I'm not sure.

Overall, we got an affordable rate and had no complaints. I can echo other reviews that the red lounge chair and ottoman was distinctly and inexplicably comfortable beyond words. You kind of melt into it like some sort of witchcraft. I think I'd go back just to relax in it again.

Cheers,

Justin

Room Tip: It's one of the taller buildings in town, so if you want a view of the cozy downtown charm choos...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justintraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you Justin. The staff will be so delighted to read this. So positive and encouraging. Your comfort is always our priority. Yes please do come back. I would like to meet you.
Have a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel services were great --- the people so friendly! Rooms were very comfortable and cleaned each day!
Complimentary breakfast offerings were tasty.
Dining room food was excellent! Used the fitness centre and was impressed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you Bonnie! Always a pleasure to read reviews like this. This is what we are all about,
pleasing our guests and ensuring they come back. Do come back for a visit. Have a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Nathalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for two nights at the hotel. Our room was very spacious with a fireplace,fridge,microwave and Keurig coffee machine. One of the best things in this room is the big red comfy chair and ottoman! The bed is very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel as it is central to downtown and has a great morning breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Oh Patricia I am so glad you commented on the big red comfy chair!!! It does make a statement.
So rewarding to read reviews like this. We get so many compliments on our beds, so much so
guests want to purchase them. That is what our industry is all about. Pleasing you! Thank you and do come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After writing before saying I wouldn't stay here again, I was told there was many improvements and to try again. well I did.

List of improvements
*Rooms have been renovated and beds are nice
*cleaning staff are very friendly and do a great job

List of issues (unfortunately more than improvements)
*had to wait long on check in. Front desk staff rude. Said they were doing me a nice thing and upgrading my room to a deluxe. The funny thing is, I originally booked the deluxe
*parking garage is tight for trucks and no security. While driving in, my young children and my wife and I had the disgusting pleasure of seeing a prostitute servicing someone in the garbage area, while driving in. I later observed there was no lock so anyone could go in. A lot of people were hanging out by there. Very disgusting
*Elevators from parking garage are convenient but not safe. anyone can use them and roam in through the hotel. did not like this
*We were on 4th floor, but there is no up button on elevator, only down. but there is more than 4 floors. Makes no sense, and I ended up having to take the stairs.
*no signs to where ice machines are located
*breakfast is decent, but no gluten free options
*we wanted a sheet for the playpen the hotel supplied, for our son but the front desk clerk didn't have access to any only thick blankets and she couldn't leave the desk as she was totally alone in the building...seems like a health and safety issue to me especially with the non secure building...

overall it is sufficient but not great, if you made it more secure and trained the front desk staff to be more professional, and it would be better. I should have complained at the time but again no managers were available. I paid way too much to stay here

Room Tip: deluxe rooms, don't use parking garage
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Good afternoon,
I was quite disturbed to read about the problems you encountered at the hotel. I have spoken with our maintenance supervvisor as well as housekeeper in regards to the comfort and safety of our guests. The issues you mentioned were handled today.
As for the "up" elevator button, even if it indicates a down motion, it will take you up. I experienced something very similar in a hotel in Toronto a few weeks ago.
We will also ensure that guest room supplies are well stocked and available for guests at the front desk.
Your comments are very appreciated I assure you.
In closing, please accept my most sincere apologies and I also thank you for your review. Have a great week!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timmins hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Timmins
2.5 mi away
Ramada Timmins
Ramada Timmins
#10 of 12 in Timmins
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Timmins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Timmins
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Timmins
Travelodge Timmins
#9 of 12 in Timmins
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balsam Suites Boutique Inn & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Senator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Senator Hotel

Address: 14 Mountjoy St S, Timmins, Ontario P4N 1S4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Price Range: £68 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Senator Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a room at the Senator Hotel (formerly Days Inn) for value and warm hospitality in beautiful downtown Timmins. With a prime spot in the heart of the city, our Timmins, Ontario, hotel near Timmins Square makes it easy to reach in just minutes. From an on-site restaurant, sports bar and room service to in-room microwaves and refrigerators, our pet-friendly Timmins, Ontario, hotel offers all the amenities and special touches to make your stay memorable. All Rooms feature Free Wi-Fi Internet access. Wake up for an early morning workout in our fitness center before enjoying free Hot Buffet Daybreak breakfast. Book our spacious conference center or ballroom for your meeting or event. Guest laundry facilities, non-smoking rooms and executive suites are available. We offer a 5,776 square-foot ballroom, three conference rooms, catering service, audio / visual equipment to take care of all your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Conference Centre Timmins Hotel Timmins
Days Inn Hotel Timmins
Days Inn Timmins
Timmins Days Inn
The Senator Hotel Timmins, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing