We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Comfort Inn but fine.”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
North Bay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Typical Comfort Inn but fine.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a typical Comfort Inn, but acceptable to us. However, with renovations ongoing - and it seems at this Comfort Inn they have been for a couple of years now - our room smelled like paint. Although I requested a ground floor room when I reserved on-line, for some reason this request was not received and we were to be put in an upstairs room. However, the receptionist did graciously accommodate us and we were switched to a ground floor room. (Is there a Comfort Inn whereby the patio doors open without a lot of effort?) The ground floor faced the highway and traffic could be heard throughout most of the night. The bed and pillows were very comfortable as they seem to generally be at Comfort Inns. The room was very clean and contained a small fridge and microwave. Two people called me while we were there. One got through after about 20 rings; the other did not get through at all, even after two attempts. She let the phone ring about 40 times each time, but it was not answered at the front desk. Maybe short-staffed on the weekends? Still, we would return as long as we were assured of a ground-flooor room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you don't want to cart your luggage up stairs and ask for one at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilishm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimminsComfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thanks so much for your review, we appreciate your feedback, without it we cannot improve our product and services.

I am pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate your 1st floor request. We make ever effort to accommodate guests room request.

I would like to apologize you had issues with receiving phone calls. But I am pleased to inform you that we have recently invested significant capital to upgrade our hotels telecommunications operating system. This system will allow callers to connect directly to guests rooms, provide voice mail, and several other upgrades that will make reservations and contacting the hotel with greater ease.

In regards to the sliding glass doors; this matter is being addressed. We are currently in the process of repairing and replacing the sliding glass doors.

As renovations do cause some inconveniences to our guests, we appreciate your patience during the renovation process. We know that you will be pleased with the results, and we look forward to hosting you again.

Safe travels,
Shane Reinhart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    23
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
9
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I am a frequent visitor to Timmins and when I stayed at the Comfort Inn I was pleasantly surprised by the new renovations. The room were nicely done and as always it was very clean. The new breakfast area was nice as well. With the price being very competitive, and the cleanliness, I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would get a room at the back so you miss the highway traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heddwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimminsComfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking time and posting a review of our Comfort Inn Timmins.

The staff have worked very hard and have been instrumental in the renovations.

We are pleased to hear your satisfaction with the renovations and the new hot breakfast.

The renovations only compliment the hard work and dedication of our staff, to ensure we provide you with clean, comfortable surroundings, and personable service.

We still have more exciting updates coming.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Safe travels,
Shane Reinhart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powassan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This hotel is very typical of Comfort Inn's in the Northern Ontario region. It is used mainly by transient contractors working in the mining industry. The hotel has seen its better days and is in need of some renovations as the rooms are old and tired.

Staff are very friendly and accomdating and the breakfast bar is your standard fare mind you I did notice they have added a waffle maker within the past few months.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdwarrior1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massey, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The Comfort Inn in Timmins is what you would expect. The breakfast was average, the room was average, the amenities were average. We didn't like that there was no folding cot to accommodate our large under-five family and one of us had to sleep in a "nest" on the floor.
No kid's activities or amenities. There was no control of the children's and teen's hockey teams who ran the halls keeping our babies awake.

Room Tip: When you book on the first floor, ask for a room in the back. The front is noisy with traffic with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatalystPromotions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Had to be in timmins,for medical reasons. Asked for a medical rate, and they didn't have one. When we got to our room the bathroom light did not work. They switched us immediately to a new room, no questions asked. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was continental.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oosak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

clean hotel for the price. stayed with family. staff was friendly

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morin Heights, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

One of the few motels/hotels that still has smoking rooms next to non-smoking ones. I'm a non smoker, and although the room I stayed in was marked non-smoking, I awoke the next morning with a very hoarse throat. The carpet in the room was worn and stained. The property, in general, is in dire need of an overhaul. Free wifi in the rooms and outdoor parking. Lumpy bed. Plenty of hot water, though.

Room Tip: There are renovations planned for this spring. I'd wait until after they're completed before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4puttee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Timmins hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timmins hotels
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Timmins
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Timmins
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Timmins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Timmins
Travelodge Timmins
#10 of 12 in Timmins
232 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Senator Hotel
The Senator Hotel
#7 of 12 in Timmins
235 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Timmins
Ramada Timmins
#9 of 12 in Timmins
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 939 Algonquin Blvd. E., Timmins, Ontario P4N 7J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McIntyre Arena, Kamiskotia Ski Hill, Porcupine Ski Runners Club, Timmins & District Hospital, Hollinger Golf Course, Hollinger Park, Timmins Square Shopping Centre, Spruce Needles Golf Club, Northern College of Applied Arts & TechnologyComfort Inn® hotel is in a central location near McIntyre Arena, the Porcupine Ski Runners club, Hollinger Golf Course, the Northern College of Applied Arts & Technology and the Kamiskotia Ski Hill.You'll find everything you need to create your perfect stay at the newly renovated Comfort Inn Timmins. Our hotel features brand new contemporary guestrooms, stylish lobby and free HOT BREAKFAST in our modern new breakfast room. All rooms are equipped with 32" LCD flat screen television, free high speed internet access, work desk and ergonomic chair. Whatever your reason for getting away, you'll wake up refreshed and ready to start your day.Guests of this Comfort Inn hotel enjoy high value amenities including: Free hot breakfastFree local callsFree weekday newspaperFree parkingFree wireless high-speed Internet accessPet-friendly hotelCold weather hook-upFree 24-hour coffee serviceBusiness CentreIn-room refrigerators and microwaves100% smoke-free rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Timmins, Canada - Ontario
Timmins Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing