We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This resort~by far, is the nicest place to stay at and or visit when you do come to Timmins. The resort is very large and is a Family run and owned business. The Lafleurs have been upgrading and adding to it every year. There is a horse-drawn carriage you can rent for a period of time to bring you around the grounds and interact with the wildlife. There are Caribou, moose, deer, geese and so on... The grounds are amazing.. The restaurant which also has a chef on hand has a daily wildlife feature for the day... There are beautiful free-hand painted murals from one of Richards" daughers"(Marie-France) manager of the resort. There is a beautiful spa, waterfall inside the spa and all. There is also a conference room with top pf the line technology, where when in session there is catering available. There are also private little cabins for rent and it makes u feel like you are actually in the wild... The frogs and cricket sounds are nice to fall asleep to.. Also, the ride from the airport is very close.. If in TImmins,,, This is a MUST if you like to stay at a beautiful , quiet, and tranquil place . Oh yah,,, This is a smoke -free environment.. Of course you can smoke outdoors,,,,, ?Check it out and enjoy!!

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptionally beautiful.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMR1000, Owner at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you Joanne for this excellent review of our establishment you posted on TripAdvisor. It is always great to here back from our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review. It is through comment such as yours, that we are able to determine whether or not our guests are satisfied with the services we provide at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Richard Lafleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

I wasn't sure where i wanted to stay and i'm not a fan of corporate hotels. This was an excellent spot. Greeted with friendly and up beat staff. The room was very comfortable, and so was the bed.

Dinner and the brunch buffet were also excellent, a chef with a keen eye and taste buds for sure!!!

The owners were very friendly and came and said hello and asked how my meal was.

Very great, i didn't use the spa, but i'm sure it's just as nice as the rest of the hotel and dining room.

Will be going back when i'm in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMR1000, Owner at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello Paul K,

Thank for taking the time to review Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa. We take pride in the services we offer at our establishment and we appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your room as well as your meals!

Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thank you again,

Richard Lafleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I don't tend to select hotels based on charm. I select them based on cleanliness and location. One out of two here but definitely one of the most consistent and reliable bets in Timmins. It's off the beaten path but always clean and friendly. I'm a frequent traveller to the area and do enjoy this property.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank ramblingsalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback "ramblingsalesman". We are pleased to hear you enjoy our facility and find it clean and friendly.

It's always a pleasure to hear from our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I have stayed here twice and on both occasions have found the propery, staff, restaurant and spa to be very nice. We stay mid week and are always happy to find that all the amenities that the hotel has to offer are always available. The rooms are clean and more than comfortable. The restaurant has what could argueably be the best food in Timmins if not north of Muskoka and prices are fair. The spa is clean, well attended, very relaxing and reasonably priced with lots of options to choose from. All of these terrific qualities are created in a original ambience of Metis & Northern Ontario decore (very unique). You don`t get the big box, corporate run of the mill feeling that come with other name brand hotels and yet you do get all the service and treatment that those other hotels try to sell you on. Cedar Meadows is a very refreshing breath of air in an overwhelmingly overy branded cookie cutter style industry. Thanks Cedar Meadows.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you kindly Kris S for taking the time to review our property.

We are happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our facility and services offered. We take pride in the services we provide to guests such as yourself and want nothing but the best.

We look forward to seeing you again and your wife in the near future!

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Excellent service, beautiful room and very clean. Dining room very inviting, great meal, my husband's steak was the best he ever had. The spa was a wonderful getaway. I highly recommend. I also indulged in a wonderful massage, so relaxing. The staff was very friendly and professional. The atmosphere and is truly a retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. Your comments are very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear you took the time to enjoy yourself and fully took advantage of the services we offer at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hay a gorgeous resort! They treated us like gold, our children included. The restaurant was wonderful, and the food was delicious (I'm a chef).
I spent the afternoon in the spa which was so relaxing and impressive!!
Rooms were clean and really comfortable. I would highly recommend this resort and we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameronlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you Cameronlucy for taking the time to share a review of our resort on TripAdvisor. Your comments are very much appreciated and it is encouraging to hear such feedback from our guests.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your children and hope they had a great time! Our employees take pride in their work and do whatever it takes to satisfy our guests. Thank you for the compliments on our restaurant food, the spa and the cleanliness of our rooms.

We do look forward to see you again with your family in the near future. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I came up here on business for a few days and had hoped to have a nice relaxing weekend - that unfortunately did not happen. First, the rooms. I had a room mid week and a room on Friday. My first floor room had a sliding door leading to a patio where all the patios had pails for cigarettes so forget about using your patio or opening your doors unless you are a smoker. My 2nd floor room was too hot and the window lever had been removed so you can't open it. Though not the worst thing, the rooms are very basic and sorely lacking in decor. I can hear people in the hall and the next room, very loud especially on Friday. I'm here now and there is a lot of yelling and loud talking. I had hoped to relax in the spa and the baths but again, this was not to be. I was unable to book spa appointments in advance because I didnt know my schedule and upon arrival mid week was told the spa was fully booked. As for the baths, I tried to go on Friday but was told by the girl at the spa that there were 25 people in the baths and 30 more were expected - again a loud rowdy party as some of them came through while I was at the desk How in the world could anyone possibly relax here! The restaurant was nice though - good food. I'll be glad to get the heck out of here tomorrow. Next time will have to stay elsewhere. Donna

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you Donna for your review.

Since our facility is entirely non-smoking, it is important to have proper ashtrays outside every room on the first floor. Otherwise you would find cigarette butts on the ground which would not look appealing. This is the reason why we have a small rustic looking pail filled with sand hanging on every post. You mentioned "forget about using your patio or opening your doors unless you are a smoker.", although it is nice to use during summer & spring months, we would not recommend our guests open their patio door in January at -40 degrees celsius. Which also explains why we remove the window cranks from the second floor windows during winter months. Guests can leave their windows open causing damage to the windows and in result, not being able to close their windows properly. At -40 degrees celsius, pipes can freeze. Every room is equipped with a heating & cooling unit. We would recommend you turn your AC unit on as oppose to opening a window.

Although it would be nice to have 100% sound proof rooms, this does exist in any hotel. The fact that you have guests in other rooms staying above and beside you, it is normal to hear other guests in a hotel.

Having booked your spa services in advance, the spa would have been able to accommodate you no problem but as you mentioned, you did not know your schedule ahead of time. When planing ahead, this is a non-issue.

As for the Nordic Baths, we cannot control when people come and go. Reservations are not needed for the Nordic Baths therefore we are unable to predict how many people will be using the baths. That being said, if a guest (or a group) is being loud in the spa, we have had to ask some people to leave due to noise complaints.

Having given use a chance, we are positive you would have been able to enjoy yourself and fully take advantage of what our facility offers. Leaving you relaxed and rejuvenated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timmins hotels
1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Timmins
1.9 mi away
Balsam Suites Boutique Inn & Residence
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Timmins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Timmins
Ramada Timmins
#9 of 12 in Timmins
142 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 12 in Timmins
78 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Senator Hotel
The Senator Hotel
#7 of 12 in Timmins
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa

Address: 1000 Norman St, Timmins, Ontario P4N 8R2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Price Range: £81 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 175 acres, this 5 chalet resort & spa is nestled in the majestic beauty and natural serenity of Northern Ontario. Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is ideally located five minutes from the urban center, ten minutes from Timmins Airport and five minutes away from the Shopping Mall. Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is proud to welcome you to Timmins’ very first wellness spa, Le Spa Grande Nature! As Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is continuously growing, people gradually understand our philosophy:“We want you to experience and feel nature the way it is intended to be.”Offering the convenience of a year round resort & spa, guests are welcomed by the natural surroundings, the genuine warmth of the staff, the richness of the appointments and the tranquility of the country setting. This environment is perfect for a wedding ceremony, working, or relaxing! Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa restaurant Le Voyageur Dining Room offers a quiet and romantic atmosphere where you can enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner! If you prefer not to leave the comfort of your room, your meal can be brought to you at your leisure by using our in-room dining service. Why not take advantage of our complimentary exercise room open 24 hours for your convenience? Afterwards, enjoy a hot sauna in the spa’s Infra-Red Sauna. At Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa you can even get up close and personal with moose, bison and elk, while riding on a tractor drawn wagon! This Wilderness Tour is offered daily to the public.Whether you join us for a night, a weekend or longer, Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa has all the amenities you expect and the thoughtful extras that will make your stay memorable. Premier and Executive Suites provide for the perfect getaway. Indulge yourself in a setting that includes a two person Jacuzzi, soft romantic fireplaces and comfortable living rooms. For those individuals here on business, all our suites are designed to provide you with comfort and practicality. Our modern facilities include hi-speed wireless internet access. Offering a pristine rural setting that gives you complete privacy while providing big city business facilities and services. Choose from four fully equipped conference rooms ideal for groups of 10 to 150 people and one outdoor tent that can sit up to 300 guests.Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is a special place that captures the very way you live. A resort that is rich in character, elegant in detail, and offers the very best in service and hospitality, assuring you of a memorable stay no matter what time of year you visit. Truly a four season resort & spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Meadows Hotel Timmins
Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa Timmins, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing