We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive, Great Stay”
Review of Toronto Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toronto Garden Inn
Ranked #7 of 117 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I spend 5 nights at the Toronto Garden Inn. Location is superb, in a small and quite street. I walked or bike to all the main tourist attractions.

The room was spotless and comfortable, I felt welcome at all times. The bathrooms was also very spacious and clean. The shower had good water pressure. Breakfast was great. There was a lot to choose from. Especially I would like to mention the hospitality of the owners who went out of their way to ensure I am having a good stay. They recommended places to go and how to get there. Wissam and Miko and of course Bryan are cool and amazing. Super helpful and really care about their guest - thanks so much guys! you are delightfully friendly and helpful.

Overall I highly recommend the Toronto Garden Inn to those who appreciate small and intimate hotels and excellent location.

Cem (Denver / Colorado)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Toronto Garden Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed at Toronto Garden Inn for 5 nights while attending a conference. It was a pleasant, uneventful and smooth stay at a fraction of the cost of other hotels I'd been recommended. Kudos to the hosts Wissam (Sam), Bryan and Miko for their great attitude and hard work to make this place a true home away from home. They are great conversationalists and do all they can to make you feel comfortable.

I booked very late when the hotel was pretty full, so I stayed in the Orchid Room for 1 night and then moved to the Jasmine Room. Wissam was very thoughtful when booking the rooms to make sure I won't have to move more than once.

I arrived in the late afternoon, after "reception hours", so I got a welcome note on the front door from Bryan - very sweet! They leave notes for guests quite often and it's a great personal touch. I had to head out early in the morning before switching rooms, so I let the team know I'd move my things out to the (beautiful vintage) lounge area downstairs. When I came back that day, Bryan had been very kind to move my things to the Jasmine Room.

Both rooms were clean and cozy, with a lovely decor and comfortable beds. The stairs and floors were a teeny bit creaky but that only added to the charm for me. The shared bathrooms were compact, clean, new and well lit. The hotel is undergoing a renovation right now, so the backdoor garden is all new also. It's a lovely quiet place to relax after a long day, or on a lazy afternoon.

Breakfast is DIY all the way, just like you're at home. The counters and fridge are bursting with delicious food that the guys restock every few days - cereal, bagels, pastries, spreads, cheese and cold cuts, fruit and veggies, nuts, milk (regular and soy), juices, teas and coffee. There are even eggs in the fridge if you have the time or desire for a heartier breakfast.

Breakfast is also a great time to chat with the other guests of the hotel. I met very interesting folks, mainly artists - a photographer of Roma people around the world, a bassoon player who'd come for an audition, a painter from Quebec fascinated with horror movies, and a couple of animators who'd come for a festival. They made breakfast a truly memorable experience, rather than just a meal.

The hotel was some distance away from my conference location but I found the walk enjoyable. The building is in a small, pretty, quiet street with lots of greenery. Parts of the general neighborhood may look sketchy at night to some people. A cab driver told me it's not very safe to walk around at night but I didn't really have trouble going back after dark.

We had a bit of a glitch with the credit card reader when I was checking out, but it was resolved fairly quickly. Set aside half an hour for checkout just in case.

All in all, a great stay and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Best to book one of the rooms on the second floor because it's closest to the bathroom and if yo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhanasandeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Loved the neighborhood. I stayed in the Orchid room 2 nights with my girlfriend. Bryan and the other managers couldn't be more hospitable. They did a fantastic job of making breakfast and talking about the city. The price was very reasonable. Their garden makes the place nicer than just a place to sleep. I would definitely pick this place next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: Orchid room on the ground floor does have foot traffic going to the kitchen, so another room could b...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. Sam, Miko and Bryan are personable and gracious hosts and went out of their way to make us comfortable. They were very knowledgeable about restaurants, bars and sites to see. We stayed in the Orchid room on the main floor. It is very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. Miko had recently made significant improvements on the garden area that adjoins the kitchen. It is both beautiful and peaceful as well as a perfect place to sip a cup of coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the afternoon. The kitchen is spacious and colorful and the breakfast offerings were both varied and delicious. If you are looking for comfort, good location and value then look no further.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIMrmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our daughter stayed here for 10 days while attending an opera workshop. It is a very welcoming and comfortable place to stay and the owners were VERY helpful in advice. They took her under their wing as if she were family. Thanks to Miko and Sam for their hospitality and willingness to help. We would book here again. Very close to Yonge Street and Church and walkable to many sightseeing spots. The breakfast was "on your own" and lots of choices available. There was room in the fridge if she wanted to cook. :) :) :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanaUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here 4 nights in May and enjoyed the friendly and homely atmosphere greatly. The place is spotlessly clean and well kept, and the common living room has vintage furniture to carry your imagination to think of how living here must have been in the past. I received good instructions how to reach the place in a late hour, although in the dark in the residential street I first did not recognize the house. A pretty garden was under construction while I was there. Breakfast was also suitably variable and coffee good! Only downsizes are the rather shabby neighbourhood and a shared (but tidy and comfortable) bathroom. However, this place is very good value for money. It is possible to reach places downtown by foot. I heartily recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minna99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My boyfriend and I only stayed for 2 nights. The complimentary breakfast was simple, but we didn't have time for breakfast so I can't really comment on it. We stayed in the jasmine room, there was a queen size bed, a small vanity and a small tv. The bathroom is shared which is my only problem. Otherwise, it's quiet and within walking distance of downtown Toronto.

Room Tip: If you are planning on staying for longer than 3 days, I suggest renting out the basement suite. The...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#26 of 137 in Toronto
1,996 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Garden Inn

Address: 142 Seaton St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2T3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: £58 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toronto Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Garden Inn is an intimate Bed and Breakfast set in a charming Victorian Home ideally located on a residential street within walking distance to many of Toronto's major landmarks and attractions. We have 6 comfortable guest rooms and 1 studio apartment suite. Prices are per room, single occupancy and vary according to the room and the number of guests. We offer free continental breakfast, 24 hour snacks and beverages as well as free Wi-Fi and Canada/U.S. Phone calls. We are about a 10 minute walk east of Dundas Square/Dundas subway station and within 10 to 30 min walking distance to the Historic Distillery District, Yonge Street, the Eaton Centre Shopping Mall, St. Lawrence Market, Cabbage Town, the Elgin Theatre, the Art Gallery of Ontario, Ryerson University, St. Michael's Hospital, the Gay Village, The Financial District, The Bus Terminal and the Train Station and 30 to 45 minute walking distance to the CN Tower, Ripley's Aquarium, Roy Thompson Hall, Yorkville, Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, University of Toronto, Royal Ontario Museum, Greek Town as well as the city's finest restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Toronto Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Garden Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing