We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Toronto Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Toronto Garden Inn
Ranked #7 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A truly lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

Toronto Garden Inn is a delightful place to stay. A Victorian period home with charm; the
B & B has a comfortable and friendly atmosphere. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the share bathrooms immaculate. The managers, Unal and Ergin, a very friendly and helpful. I have been to Toronto frequently in the last couple of years and now I would not choose to stay anywhere other than the Toronto Garden Inn.
Dorothy, Adelaide Australia

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doroAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    85
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
76
75
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

The guest house is on a lovely street with nice houses and gardens walking distance from central downtown. Around the corner the street was a bit more unruly (but those sudden contrasts seemed typical for downtown Toronto). The house and rooms are nicely furnished, clean and pleasant, cozy. There is a nice living room and kitchen for everyone. You can help yourself to drinks from the fridge and breakfast is set out on the kitchen table. Welcoming and friendly staff. Other guests nice and pleasant. You get your own key to come and go as you please. There is a guest computer with Internet, but it was not working very well. If I'd had my own laptop there would have been wireless. The place felt like a really nice retreat, a home to come to after a day on the town. Good value!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OccasionalTravelerFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Staying at this B&B was similar to staying at an absent friend's house; we barely saw the owner who seemed to be living off-site. It was very reasonably priced and just a few blocks from Eaton Centre. However, the location was a bit sketchy, with groups of men loitering and arguing on the street, as well as a nearby strip club. WiFi was very easy to use and had a strong signal. Breakfast was strictly do-it-yourself, although 24-hour access to the kitchen was nice for a cup of tea. American visitors should be aware that they will be sharing a bathroom, although this was not a problem. The Orchid Room on the main floor was surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
63 Thank AnnArborMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

I spent four nights at the Toronto Garden Inn last week and plan to return in the autumn. I had good email contact with Unal over my booking and he was there when I arrived to welcome me and explain everything. The house is in Cabbagetown which is the old Victorian section of Toronto. Seaton Street is leafy and quiet with vast trees in almost every garden so a cool, green canopy overhead. The architecture is quirky and interesting and people are friendly and up for a chat. I was only a few blocks from the main streets of Dundas, Carleton and Parliament with easy access to the street cars that go ding ding round the corners just like in San Francisco. So, great location. My room - Mimosa - was the smallest but the bed was comfortable and the shared bathrooms (which make it affordable) were spotless. I had a little TV with cable and the sound proofing is good so you don't hear other people. Nice carpets! Breakfast was help yourself and the kitchen was a great meeting point for everyone. The atmosphere was convivial and it was great meeting so many interesting people from so many places - Belgium, Calgary, Montreal etc. I made use of the phone for incoming calls and Ergin (who took over when Unal went on a trip to Philadelphia) made sure I had a laptop to access the internet.
The exterior of the house needs a paint job but don't be put off - Ergin and Unal are great hosts. They helped with places to eat and taxis too.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

This stay truly was an experience that spurs people to choose a B&B over a hotel: we became part of a community! Intelligent conversation and just pure friendliness.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripping21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

Enjoyed thoroughly my first visit to the Toronto Garden Inn. Unal, the owner, was very helpful and personable. My room was wonderful and had that "victorian" charm as did each room in the bed and breakfast. Everything was very clean and welcoming. I will definitely be back and would recommend highly! Coleen - Halifax, Nova Scotia

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Halifax_lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

I am very satisfied with this B&B. The two hosts were friendly and helpful. Breadkfast was plentiful and filling. There's a laundromat around the corner of the street which is a great advantage. There were two lap tops and a printer for guest to use, although the one connecting to the printer wasn't working while we were there. Phone is free to use if you have a prepaid calling card. The house is old and Victorian style; we have the biggest room, the Orchid room and it was very comfortable. The location has many eateries, mostly ethnic. The only drawback is the small bathroom on the first floor, in the kitchen. Kind of awkward in the morning when you come out of the bathroom with other guests eating breakfast , at other times it's fine. The bathroom on the second floor is much bigger. Both bathrooms have good showers. The outside of the house looks drab and untidy...but that's the same with all the houses around; it's a old neighborhood. Parking could be a problem, although we were able to find a parking a parking place everyday. The host provided us with a parking permit. Be sure you don't park in front of the fire hydrant at all times. My husband parked the car there, even it didn’t have a red line; parking enforcement came by 2:00am and gave us a ticket! Walking distance to Chinatown, Eaton Center and some other attractions

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Downtown Home Inn
Downtown Home Inn
#6 of 115 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Garden Inn

Property: Toronto Garden Inn
Address: 142 Seaton St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2T3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Toronto Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Garden Inn is an intimate Bed and Breakfast set in a charming Victorian Home ideally located on a residential street within walking distance to many of Toronto's major landmarks and attractions. We have 6 comfortable guest rooms and 1 studio apartment suite. Prices are per room, single occupancy and vary according to the room and the number of guests. We offer free continental breakfast, 24 hour snacks and beverages as well as free Wi-Fi and Canada/U.S. Phone calls. We are about a 10 minute walk east of Dundas Square/Dundas subway station and within 10 to 30 min walking distance to the Historic Distillery District, Yonge Street, the Eaton Centre Shopping Mall, St. Lawrence Market, Cabbage Town, the Elgin Theatre, the Art Gallery of Ontario, Ryerson University, St. Michael's Hospital, the Gay Village, The Financial District, The Bus Terminal and the Train Station and 30 to 45 minute walking distance to the CN Tower, Ripley's Aquarium, Roy Thompson Hall, Yorkville, Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, University of Toronto, Royal Ontario Museum, Greek Town as well as the city's finest restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Toronto Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Garden Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing