We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, excellent location, part of a great trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Ranked #35 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent location, part of a great trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

I went to Toronto to see a show, so this hotel, situated right in the Entertainment district, was very conveniently located. It is about a 10-minute walk away from the arrival point of Billy Bishop Airport's shuttle. During the summer, you can't beat a $0 "travel fee" from the airport to your hotel. It is also a few steps from the tram and 5 minutes' walk from the subway. I had loads of things to see during this trip, and transport was never a problem.

For the hotel itself, my room was spacious (king room), quiet (10th floor with a view on CN Tower) and equipped with free internet and fridge, two things I appreciate to keep costs low (I'm a new self-caterer). Breakfast is expensive though, so I recommend grabbing it someone else. The 24-h business center with printer and copier came in handy for booking CN Tower tickets and boarding passes. Staff was pleasant, though they did seem a little disorganized (it took a long time to get their attention). Getting a taxi was never a problem though, there are always some near the front entrance.

With no major problems and only 1 or 2 very minor irritants, I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elfy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgitdgm, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Dear Elfy10 - thanks so much for your review here! It's always great for me to read them and share the reviews with my team! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us - please let me know when you are next coming back and I'll treat you to breakfast!

Sally Ifill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    552
    172
    53
    56
See reviews for
294
358
60
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

This hotel is very nice, clean and comfortable. The room was fairly spacious, and the bathroom waslaid out well with a granite counterop vanity. The staff members were very helpful and courteous. The free wireless was great, and they have a nice business center. My room was also fairly quiet even though it was right by the elevator. The Fitness Center is small, but had new Precor equipment that was great. Our dinners in the restaurant in the hotel were very good, and the bartender, Elizabeth, is very friendly and gracious. The location was within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgitdgm, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Dear Wilson60 - thank you so much for writing such a great review on this site! It's always pleasing to me when I read such things and I love to share the feedback with my team. I couldn't agree more about Elizabeth - she is a shining star! Please let me know the next time you are staying in the hotel - I'll be sure to treat you to one of Elizabeth's fabulous cocktails!

Sally Ifill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Arrived early 10.15 and asked if I could leave my bags and check in later, the girl on the desk let me check in straight away, a real bonus when sometimes they make you wait until 3pm. The room was great, the only issues we had was with Valet parking and having a room at the front of the hotel. The Saturday night rave at the local night spot was fairly noisy and interrupted our sleep. The 20 minute wait the following morning for the car wasn't good either especially as I could have parked across the street for $15 dollars rather than the $36 the hotel charge, Overall recommended

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altyaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgitdgm, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Dear altyaces,
Thanks so much for writing such a positive review on here! I love to share these reviews with my entire team and truly appreciate the feedback. Please let me know the nest time you are in the hotel,

Sally Ifill, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

My friends and I always book the Hilton when we have a big night out downtown for its convenience and great rooms. It's a one to ten minute walk from all the clubs in that area, in fact it's right NEXT to one. Despite this (and some of the other reviews), I found that the hotel is quiet and I was never disturbed by what is going outside.
We've stayed here at least 5 times, the last being NYE. That was a bit of a pain, but understandable, because it was getting extremely rowdy and it was clear people were bringing in about 10 people into one room. This night was a bit of a mess; we would walk out to the hallway and smell weed, hear loud music blasting, etc. Every other time we had no problems, however there are only 2 elevators and they DO take a while, especially that night.
Excellent rooms. We usually get the 2 queen beds, very spacious, comfortable, clean. Washroom is big too, lots of counter space (which is handy when you have 4 girls doing their hair and makeup). A HUGE plus is that there's a microwave and mini-fridge in every room!
Staff is also very friendly and accommodating. If you want to check in early (it's usually 3pm), call in advance and many times they have some rooms that are ready, and they'll let you in with no extra charge. This has happened for us several times. If we call for extra towels/sheets/cups, it's all sent up very quickly by housekeeping staff.
Love this hotel, great location ... if you're a group of young people looking for nightlife and shopping (Queen West is right there with a bunch of stores, Chinatown and Kensington is walking distance), definitely give this hotel a shot!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jot23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgitdgm, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Dear jot23,
Thank you so much for posting some feedback on here. I love to share the comments with my team and truly appreciate the time people take to share their thoughts with others.

Please let me know the next time you stay with us!

Sally Ifill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soo, ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

It's a shame this nice hotel is run by total incompetence. No housekeeping showed up the first day, had to call the front desk for clean towels. Asked for coffee that night, it never arrived. Went down the next morning still no coffee, front desk didn't have any. Had to wait till 10 am for housekeeping to come on shift. Front desk personel have the "not my job" attitude. For this they want $200 day?

tip: everybody and there dog is waiting to checkout at 12 so the vallet parking attendants are overwhelmed., 55 minutes to get your car back, park across the street for 1/2 price if you must stay here...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank primitivepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

The rooms in this hotel are really nice and the front desk staff were very friendly when we checked in. However, it's right next to a really noisy nightclub. So, on Saturday nights at least, you're not going to get a lot of sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

We were looking for a great stay at a comfortable, clean and convenient downtown Toronto hotel and we found it here. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the location was very convenient to a lot of major attractions downtown. We parked our car and never looked back because everything was within walking distance. A great place for a family of four (2 children under 10).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsharner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#33 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,882 reviews
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Address: 92 Peter Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#38 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing