We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Ranked #37 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

OK - first let's get the price out of the way. We reserved a one king bed with sofabed room that was supposed to be $149 per night for three nights. Upon checkout it ended up being $218 per night. So - beware - there are extra costs to stay here. Daily fees were: Valet parking $40, HST-General $5.20, HST-Room Tax $19.37, Rooms D.M.P. DEST MKT PRG $3.96 and finally D.M.P. HST $.51. Have no idea what all these mean, just know we have to pay them. That being said, now we can say we thoroughly enjoyed staying at this Hilton Garden Inn! Looks can be deceiving. It looked like a very ordinary hotel on the outside but it is very nice on the inside. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our preferences were honored: quiet room not near elevator or ice machine on a high floor. We were put on the 17th floor and had a lovely view of the city. The room was clean except for the rugs. The bottom of white socks turned brown very quickly. We told the staff about it and they made a note and told us the rooms are "scheduled" to have rugs cleaned. Hopefully they will take care of that before you arrive! The bathroom was nice and had a wide vanity. Super shower with good water pressure. The adjustable bed put us in holes when we put it on soft, so beware! The linens were crisp. Free wi-fi. The location of this hotel is fantastic. Fabulous restaurants nearby in addition to many sights. Breakfast was not included but "What a Bagel" on Spadina was recommended and it was great. If we're ever back in Toronto, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DetailsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Toronto on Peter Street. Valet parking is expensive...and about $30 more than some nearby private lots, but the valet service was excellent. Lobby and room were clean. Front desk staff very helpful. There's an indoor pool on the second floor...which means that during the day/evening you really need to be careful using the elevators...as guests leaving the pool and returning to their rooms seem to not dry off and the floor is wet and tends to be slippery.
Lounge is nice, but hardly anyone there, as there are so many local options. Breakfast was very good, but not included and a little pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was a bit surprised by how attractively decorated this chain hotel was. Very good downtown location, room was decent size, nicely furnished, in good condition. Comfortable bed. Completely pleasant stay -- and it doesn't feel like a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Nice Hilton in perfect downtown location. Walk to CN Tower and Blue Jays/Argos Stadium. Plenty of restaurants nearby to walk to and theatre. Hotel staff was efficuent and friendly. Room was very clean and comfortable. Didnt use pool or exercise equipment but all looked good. Breakfast was included with our stay and it was very good. Nice wait staff and knew us on day 2 when we went back for breakfast. Impressed with that. Coffee served is Starbucks and good. Overall this Hilton Garden Inn is managed very well and we would stay here again if in Toronto. Well done and a wonderful stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dkmercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very nice property. No complaints about anything. Breakfast buffet with hot dishes (omelet/waffles/fried eggs/pancakes) is very well stocked, very personal service and tasty. $19 CAD for breakfast, but not unexpected in downtown hotels. Hotel pool and hot tub were clean and well cared for. Room was very well maintained; no odors; nice linens; thick towels; HVAC was in good operational condition.

Parking is not the best situation that I could think of. I drive a Ram 1500 pickup, so should not expect that I can park it everywhere, but they could not accommodate any more oversized vehicles in valet parking. Turns out that was a good thing, as they wanted to charge $47 CAD per day. The bell hop / valet suggested that I drive around and 'negotiate' a rate with some of the surface lots in the immediate area. As it was Canada Day, none of the lots were staffed, so there was no negotiating to be had. I wound up at the lot across from the front of the hotel and using their automated machine. I kept punching the 'add time' button to maximize my time and eventually got 4 days out of the machine for $60 CAD, which was a bargain compared to the hotel valet.

I found all of the staff very polite and helpful, but I must call out Leticia at the front desk. She was absolutely a gem. ALWAYS greets with a smile, asks how your day was, how was dinner, etc. She gave some great recommendations in the area and accurate directions to destinations. I hope HGI is treating her well, as she is an excellent customer service agent!

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the CN tower, Rogers Centre, and the Convention Center. 15 minute walk to Chinatown.

Nice property; highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ripwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Overall the hotel was fine. Check in was quick and the two clerks were very nice. The room was clean but the carpet was a bit threadbare and the chair had a few stains. The hotel itself was a bit off the beaten track and not in a great spot. It was a few blocks back to Front Street but definitely walking distance to restaurants and attractions such as Rogers centre and the aquarium. The staff in the morning was not quite as friendly and we had a bit of trouble with a late check out issue. We would pick a different spot next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybersis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had just one night in Toronto and it poured rain, so we didn't see much of the city, but the staff recommended an excellent Thai restaurant around the corner that the locals went to so it was not touristy. We had a really good dinner and then went to a nice bar nearby, also at the recommendation of the front desk ladies. The room was nice, with the duvet that is cleaned for each guest, and the water pressure int he shower was good.

Room Tip: Maybe see if you can get higher up for a better view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#36 of 137 in Toronto
3,115 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#32 of 137 in Toronto
2,428 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
779 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Address: 92 Peter St, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
#38 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £152 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing