We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid property -- exactly what I'd expect from a Garden Inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Ranked #38 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Newer hotel near the Hyatt and conveniently located near Rogers Center and the CN Tower. The new Ripley Aquarium is also near by. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Bed was restful and the room quiet. Restaurant is a little limited but food is good. A recommended place to stay.

Kudos to the gal who cleaned my room. She did a wonderful job!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is a little (10 min walk) East of Yonge/Dundas, but certainly close enough to the facilities there. The location is a little sparse (Tim Horton's opposite is about the only viable food outlet), but the hotel itself I found to be superb. The room/suite I was huge and well equipped, yet reasonably priced; I ended up paying about $165 after tax.

Room Tip: I had a suite facing West on the lower floors. It was really quiet. I imagine upper floors would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mcgdas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I found the Hilton Garden Inn - Toronto to be a good property. Friendly staff, clean property, well-maintained. However, the parking operation left a lot to be desired.

There is no self-park option, which other reviewers noted. I don't mind the extra expense associated with valet. However, if you pay the premium associated with valet parking, you need to deliver. This hotel did not deliver.

Based on the configuration of their parking (car elevators deliver vehicles to the ground floor), there were often long waits for a car. Surprisingly, the valet was NOT on duty 24 hours a day, so the Front Desk staff was left to scramble to fill the void during off hours. Really? No self park option. Valet only. And you don't staff a large downtown hotel with a full-time valet?? There's a management issue here.

Unfortunately, this management issue becomes a client service issue. I would recommend the property based on the quality of the room and its downtown location. However, be aware of the parking downside!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank RoadWarrior519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalee M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear RoadWarrior519,

Thank you for taking time and providing us with your candid comments and review of our hotel.
We are glad that for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the location and the staff.
We sincerely apologize that on this visit we did not deliver the prompt service of our valet parking. Our hotel parking is complex, in that our cars are transported by a car elevator to their spots. therefore we cannot allow self parking. We do recognize with only 2 car elevators we are limited to how fast our cars are brought up, hence we note on our tags that our guest allow us 30 minutes to bring their vehicles up. In most instances, it only takes less 10 minutes when we are not busy.
We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Kalee M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here twice on business in March and May. I really enjoyed my stay -- it was very comfortable, quiet (despite the very, very central location) and overall, was a great place to be situated for both business and leisure. I would definitely consider staying here again when Im in Toronto next.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TravelHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Fist time staying at this hotel in Toronto and it was a good experience. Room was a generous size and well-equipped as most Garden Inns. Full shower instead of tub is always a bonus! This one even had the additional spray nozzles on back wall! Nice touch. Staff was quite friendly and accomodating. We arrived quite early and she did her best to get us checked into at least one of the three rooms I had booked. This was much appreciated prior to heading to the Indy races. Thanks again. Parking was too steep $$ so we parked at a different hotel across the street. This was the only negative on the property. Great location for entertainment/dining etc in downtown Toronto.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DDKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at a Hilton in Fort Lauderdale, Florida - and both that experience & this one at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto were fantastic experiences. Even though we weren't in our room very much - the staff at the Hilton's are amazing! Anything we asked whether it was for restaurants in the area, directions, or for more coffee - all of the staff are extremely knowledgeable, friendly, & helpful. In this world of everyone in a hurry all the time & not caring about others, their Customer Service is above & beyond - so THANK-YOU!!! and keep it up! We will be back...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Kimberly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I had some issues with this hotel which, although in themselves small, add up to three stars instead of four. First, there is NO self parking. Just $45 a night valet parking. I realize this is somewhat typical of big city hotels, but the hilton website should say "NO self parking available" and not just have that by implication. Second, the bathroom. There are no towel bars except for a towel rack in the shower and the fan in the ceiling has no switch to turn it on. The Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Montreal has all of these things, so the Toronto one suffers by comparison. The location is good and the front desk staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: There is private parking lot right next door where you can NEGOTIATE cheaper self parking.It's l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalee M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear MichaelC,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear our front desk was helpful and that you liked the central location of our hotel.
Also pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Montreal. As each hotel is built differently because of location and limitiation, they may be able to be able to provide such amenties as self parking that we are unable to; due to the way our cars are transported to their space by car elevators but I am happy that you were able to locate a self parking space in the lot right behind the hotel.
Our bathroom ventialtion is centralization so there is not individual control from the room and many of our rooms do have towel bars.

We do hope that you will visit again soon in the near future despite some of the hiccups you experienced in the first visit.

Regards,
Kalee M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#37 of 138 in Toronto
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#29 of 138 in Toronto
2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Address: 92 Peter St, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £118 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing