We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful way to end our stay in toronto”

Backpackers on Dundas
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers on Dundas
Ranked #124 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“awful way to end our stay in toronto”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

after spending 3 great nights at another hostel we had to endure 2 nights at this place for the end of our stay in Toronto. its very small, poorly run and lacks everything a hostel is in my eyes. zero atmosphere. it looks like its been set up by a group of teenagers (who lived there also) who have no clue how to run a hostel, zero people skills and if anything u seem an inconvenience them when u check in or ask questions as they have to stop watching films etc on there computers. the first sight u are greeted with is a big pile of smelly shoes as u have to take ur shoes of in the hostel. the bed linen that was given to us after the tiresome check in process was stained and very old. we were then shown our room which has badly damaged ceiling tiles smelt bad and had the worst blinds for a bedroom ever so the room at night was lit up like a xmas tree. the washroom facilities were small, dirty and shower cubicles were held together by tape in some. the water pressure was bad some times they worked sometimes the trickled out if that. the kitchen is none existent and consisted of a jam packed fridge of food so no room for ur stuff. overall this is the weirdest place I have ever stayed at, for these reasons and more I, think most people who were stayin in the hostel were stayin there long term and seemed a bit odd, much like the hostel. it was as if u were staying in a college kids dorm. if u have read this far I guess what im trying to say is..... just don't do it!!!

Room Tip: turn around and walk out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seann85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    1
    5
    18
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Oh do not stay there, Do not trust the manager. I arrived with a group of 12 scouts, at the Backpackers in downtown Toronto on a saturday evening at 8 pm in August. At arrival the manager told me he had given away our beds. I had reserved those beds weeks in advance. The manager told me he had sent an e-mail earlier that day, asking if we were coming. The day we were travelling from Iceland to Canada, Oh and the smell, it was dirty, and very small. The taxi driver we met the next day said we were indeed lucky not to be staying there at all. So the place has avery bad reputation with the ttaxi drivers in Toronto. I think that speeks for it self.
You can imagine, trying to get accommodation elsewere in Toronto at Carabana festival. We ended up in Burlington, 45 min away from Toronto.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank VigdisBjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri, Eyjafjardarsysla, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

When planning a trip to Toronto this seemed like a good cheap option. As it turns out that was not the case. To be fair I didn't have a chance to sleep in the beds or try out the shower but that was because they had given away the beds we had booked. We had a copy of emails that proved that we had booked beds but the "manager" of the place told us that he had sent us an email earlier that day asking us if we were coming to stay. We obviously didn't have a chance to respond to that email because we had spent the entire day traveling. The manager was very rude and didn't even consider helping us to find another place to stay.
When I think back I'm very relieved that we had to find another place to stay because otherwise we would have stayed at this hostel for three nights.
So a word of advice for those who are thinking about staying there, DON'T DO IT!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Berglind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Travelling with a group, we booked three nights at this hostel a few weeks in advance, and later sent e-mails to confirm that we would be there on schedule. When we arrived we were informed that our beds had been given to other visitors. Supposedly the manager had sent us an e-mail while we were in mid-air three hours prior to our arrival which we would have had to answer immediately, otherwise he'd give the rooms to someone else, which he did. Well, we never got that e-mail, and besides, even if we had received it, this would still have been an outrageous act on behalf of the management.

On top of it all, the reception wouldn't help us find new hotels, or solve the issue peacefully. In fact they were extremely rude and unhelpful.

In the end, we were somewhat glad that we never stayed the night, since the place had a horrible smell of rotting flesh and strong detergent, the place was very dirty, electrical wiring hung loose from the walls, the staff was poorly trained and rude and the atmosphere was cold. No low price could make up for it. The only good thing about the place was the decent Arabian restaurant on the ground floor.

Don't even consider Backpackers on Dundas.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank svarfdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hostel is really the worst one I have ever stayed at. I certainly do not recommend it to anyone; as cheap as it may be it is not worth it.

Reception
The man did not really seem to know what he was doing
Receipts are not systematically given and are makeshift
There seems to be no registration number or any information on who actually operates this hostel
We were not provided with any keys

Bedroom
Dorm style (4 bunk beds, 8 people total)
There were not enough hangers and the lockers are ridiculously small
One of the beds we were given (we were three) was not even cleaned between stays
There was an overwhelming filthy smell and the carpets seemed like they had not been washed for a while. Our room smelled of Marijuana on top of that
No fresh air whatsoever

Amenities
The hostel can house more or less 18 persons, from what I saw, and there are two malfunctioning dirty showers and a small bathroom, which you share with a water heater.
The kitchen is a pile of some cutlery, pots and pans with a simple countertop heater and no stove.
No breakfast included or anything like that
Decent television room
Awful common room and internet stations

Comments
Basically, this place is a former office space converted to a hostel and is basically a dive.

We were not given keys and told the reception would be open, despite the signs stating otherwise. When we returned there was no one there to open the door. We had to bang on the door for 45 minutes until a guest opened up for us.

There is no way to contact anyone responsible on the actual day. No concept of customer service whatsoever.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eisosnane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed there and was bitten all over by bed bugs. Every other hostel and hotel was booked out that weekend so I had to stay. The manager just moved me to another bed and never cleaned the bed and let someone else sleep in it and wouldn't cover my doctor fees or medication- I would sleep in the park rather than stay there

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank paulkelly98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I live in a suburb of Toronto but decided to spend the night in a hostel to work a late then very early shift for the Hot Docs film festival. This hostel was the only one that had any space available the day-of.
For $24 in the heart of Toronto, it was definitely OK. Nothing exciting by any means. Lockers were way too small and the location is not an interesting one but it is well located between the business area, U of T and China Town.
Staff was OK.
Hey, it saved me a couple of subway rides and getting up ridiculously early. That is about all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank earthhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#107 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Downtown
bE SixFifty Hotel
bE SixFifty Hotel
#86 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Downtown
89 Chestnut
89 Chestnut
#98 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#99 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers on Dundas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers on Dundas

Property: Backpackers on Dundas
Address: On M5g 1r3 126 Chestnut St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers on Dundas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing