We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, that was a crushing disappointment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Suites At 1King West Hotel Toronto
Ranked #12 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Snailspace123
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well, that was a crushing disappointment”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I'd stayed here numerous times in the couple of years after they'd opened, and the hotel had always been warm, welcoming, accommodating.
It's been about 3 years since my last stay, and sadly, last night's stay will be my last. We came downtown for a nice evening out (dinner, out for some drinks) and its unfortunate that the letdown in the evening was the hotel. How things have slid right off the rails here in so many ways in the past few years.
The room we were in was was starting to look tired and dated, as evidenced by the original CRT television still there - (that's "Cathode Ray Tube" for you earlier generation folks!) - seriously, ditch that huge thing, because that pretty much does give the overall impression there's been little updated in nearly 10 years. Our room showed signs of heavy use - lots of scratched edges, paint chipped, crack in the sink, some stains on the wall - elements that are initially inconspicuous, but once you see them, you cant ignore, and could so easily be remedied / cleaned.
The towels: seriously, get new ones - the hand and bath towels so abrasive and nearly threadbare as to be skin-reddening and scratchy -
Where things really fall apart here though is sleep quality; maybe its the West side of the building, in the 30-35 floor range, but there is noise beyond belief, both from the building's ventilation / plumbing system, and sadly, from the louts that seemed to have all been lumped in the same floor (my penance for using Booking.com perhaps?)
The ventilation drones right into your skull - not the whoosh of air, but the grinding and wavering of huge compressors / machinery - its intolerable, and that's with earplugs.
The other guests - well, it was door banging, shouting, drunkenness until well past 5 AM, and that was only calmed with a) several visits from hotel security and when that didn't work b) a visit from Toronto Police. Nice. Nothing but a "oh, so sorry about that" at the desk on checkout when we mentioned it.

So, i hate to sound like I'm trashing this place but here's the thing: there are two high-level priorities at the core of booking a hotel, particularly in the centre of a major city:
1. It must be clean and comfortable - 1 King gets 3/5 on this based on the above amenities.
2. It must afford quality sleep. thats a big 1/5 for last night, based on the ambient and ever present mechanical noise, and the sinking suspicion that everyone who paid less than rack rate (drunken louts mainly - Pittsburgh hockey fans? Leafs fans?) were all put into the same floor of the hotel amongst people just looking for a good night's sleep.
We were tremendously disappointed, and I'd have very little now to recommend on this establishment.

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snailspace123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    28
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
36
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Rooms are really small for suites. I paid discount rate so accepted it. Bathrooms very small. Hotel elevator waits were around 6-8 minutes as busy. The bar was small but ok, reasonable. Great location and easy access to all event areas. Staff was great at front desk and average at bar. I did not eat there as there are many places near by better priced. Overall just average at best except location. The other hotels Renaissance and SOHO much nicer close by!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Paid $189.00 cdn dollars on line for one night plus 30$ for valet parking. Location was good, staff at reception were freindly and check in was smooth. There are two towers one 12 floors the other much higher, we were in the 12 floor tower and I think it may be older? Room was average, clean and beds comfortable. Old school TV, full kitchenette well equipped. The fitness center is in the other tower and it is a workout to get to it from the opposite tower, the elevators are very confusing. The fitness center was ok - no towels, no earbuds, whirlpool broken and some of the equipment needs a replace. Ok for a quick cardio but not much room for anything else. The stay was ok, but this hotel is not a 4 star as advertised, I have no real complaints about the room, it was ok for a night - just not a 4 star a 3 star for now and if they do not soon do some maintenance it will slip a notch furhter down the scale.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curioustravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Very central for downtown, access to subway very easy. Room very good, all the amenities including a washing machine. Staff helpful and pleasant. Meal in lobby restaurant very tasty and well served and priced. Didn't have a car, taxis have a set price for fares from the airport of 60 Canadian dollars.would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

stayed here twice, first time had a superior suite, recently stayed here again, booked a premium suite and becuase they did not have the view i asked for , i got upgraded to a 1 bedroom! cannot stress how good the service is at this hotel, you will not be dissapointed. rooms are clean, and spacious, hotel is immacualte

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

This is a really nice place to stay.staff was nice regardless what time you bothered them.They have valet parking(for a extra charge)so no need to worry about your car while visiting.15/20 minute walk to the rogers center and the air canada center,rooms can run you in the mid to high 100's

Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sammic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,022 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites At 1King West Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites At 1King West Hotel Toronto

Property: The Suites At 1King West Hotel Toronto
Address: One King West 1 King St W, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing