We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and facilities - superb”

The Suites At 1King West Hotel Toronto
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Suites At 1King West Hotel Toronto
Ranked #14 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location and facilities - superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

For us this hotel was in a superb location, close to the main railway station (we walked there) and right in the centre of town. The room was excellent, we didn't have a high floor so the view wasn't much but the room was spacious with a work desk at one end, then a small kitchen space and table, bedroom and bathroom. Excellent value, well fitted and kept clean. To cap it all we were there in a thunderstorm, no problem the hotel has direct access to the PATH underground walkway accessing shops without getting wet. Will certainly use it if we get to Toronto again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBeziers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    27
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
33
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel has two buildings: the old one and the new one. Both are superb ! The new one gives you super contemporary suites and upper scale rooms. The old one gives you rooms with a very tradicional lair. Extremely good taste and exquisite decoration, these rooms are for the ones who enjoys the classic style.

Room Tip: Any suite you chose will be fine,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertobrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temiskaming Shores, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I have stayed at The Suites several times, and it remains the best deal in downtown Toronto. The rooms are very comfortable. I stayed in a Superior Suite this trip. More than enough room, incredible view (I was on 41st floor)! The breakfast buffet is very good and is worth the price. Location can't be beat. One minor negative is some things are beginning to get dated, like the televisions and some of the lobby furniture. Staff is friendly and helpful, unlike other downtown hotels I have stayed at. I have tired other places, keep coming back here!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you can. The views, regardless of which side you are on (city view or lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

I see there's another review from a guest that went through what we do did: 34th floor, and banging, yelling, drunken revelry until 5 am and a visit from Toronto's Finest. When we complained on checkout, we were told they were sorry about that, but nothing they could do. Perhaps kicking the drunken guests out when the noise first started at 130? Any way, its a fairly mediocre hotel in a really good location in downtown Toronto. And the WiFi is utterly unusable.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snailspace123
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I'd stayed here numerous times in the couple of years after they'd opened, and the hotel had always been warm, welcoming, accommodating.
It's been about 3 years since my last stay, and sadly, last night's stay will be my last. We came downtown for a nice evening out (dinner, out for some drinks) and its unfortunate that the letdown in the evening was the hotel. How things have slid right off the rails here in so many ways in the past few years.
The room we were in was was starting to look tired and dated, as evidenced by the original CRT television still there - (that's "Cathode Ray Tube" for you earlier generation folks!) - seriously, ditch that huge thing, because that pretty much does give the overall impression there's been little updated in nearly 10 years. Our room showed signs of heavy use - lots of scratched edges, paint chipped, crack in the sink, some stains on the wall - elements that are initially inconspicuous, but once you see them, you cant ignore, and could so easily be remedied / cleaned.
The towels: seriously, get new ones - the hand and bath towels so abrasive and nearly threadbare as to be skin-reddening and scratchy -
Where things really fall apart here though is sleep quality; maybe its the West side of the building, in the 30-35 floor range, but there is noise beyond belief, both from the building's ventilation / plumbing system, and sadly, from the louts that seemed to have all been lumped in the same floor (my penance for using Booking.com perhaps?)
The ventilation drones right into your skull - not the whoosh of air, but the grinding and wavering of huge compressors / machinery - its intolerable, and that's with earplugs.
The other guests - well, it was door banging, shouting, drunkenness until well past 5 AM, and that was only calmed with a) several visits from hotel security and when that didn't work b) a visit from Toronto Police. Nice. Nothing but a "oh, so sorry about that" at the desk on checkout when we mentioned it.

So, i hate to sound like I'm trashing this place but here's the thing: there are two high-level priorities at the core of booking a hotel, particularly in the centre of a major city:
1. It must be clean and comfortable - 1 King gets 3/5 on this based on the above amenities.
2. It must afford quality sleep. thats a big 1/5 for last night, based on the ambient and ever present mechanical noise, and the sinking suspicion that everyone who paid less than rack rate (drunken louts mainly - Pittsburgh hockey fans? Leafs fans?) were all put into the same floor of the hotel amongst people just looking for a good night's sleep.
We were tremendously disappointed, and I'd have very little now to recommend on this establishment.

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snailspace123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Rooms are really small for suites. I paid discount rate so accepted it. Bathrooms very small. Hotel elevator waits were around 6-8 minutes as busy. The bar was small but ok, reasonable. Great location and easy access to all event areas. Staff was great at front desk and average at bar. I did not eat there as there are many places near by better priced. Overall just average at best except location. The other hotels Renaissance and SOHO much nicer close by!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Paid $189.00 cdn dollars on line for one night plus 30$ for valet parking. Location was good, staff at reception were freindly and check in was smooth. There are two towers one 12 floors the other much higher, we were in the 12 floor tower and I think it may be older? Room was average, clean and beds comfortable. Old school TV, full kitchenette well equipped. The fitness center is in the other tower and it is a workout to get to it from the opposite tower, the elevators are very confusing. The fitness center was ok - no towels, no earbuds, whirlpool broken and some of the equipment needs a replace. Ok for a quick cardio but not much room for anything else. The stay was ok, but this hotel is not a 4 star as advertised, I have no real complaints about the room, it was ok for a night - just not a 4 star a 3 star for now and if they do not soon do some maintenance it will slip a notch furhter down the scale.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curioustravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites At 1King West Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites At 1King West Hotel Toronto

Property: The Suites At 1King West Hotel Toronto
Address: One King West 1 King St W, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing