We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Similar to Hazelton Hotel but better value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ivy at Verity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ivy at Verity
Ranked #47 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Similar to Hazelton Hotel but better value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

Got a chance to stay at Ivy in colourful Room 3 (each of the 4 rooms is different in size or decor) on a Saturday night. Pure bliss! Huge bathroom with separate room for the toilet and separate large shower stall and huge soaker tub with choice of scented bath salts. High-end Hastens bed, swivel wall-mounted flat screen large TV, desk, 2 upholstered chairs, overstuffed armchair, ottoman, actual balcony facing peaceful courtyard (over George restaurant), and complimentary continental breakfast (coffee ready to order) and honour bar (several full-size bottles but no gin; two kinds of wine and assorted beers kept on ice) available just outside the room for in-room enjoyment.

Being a Saturday/Sunday, the business centre/library area of the private women's club upstairs was empty and the concierge said I could use it. Although the gorgeous basement-level pool, hot tub, and spa area is women-only, I still recommend this place to couples if the man can skip that part. We got the urban one-night getaway package, so a 4 course tasting menu at George was included. The service at George was a little rough -- we weren't offered any upgrades or wine pairings and the amuse bouche and first two courses came out too quickly -- we hadn't even received our aperitif cocktails yet!

Ivy is significantly cheaper than staying at Hazelton but now that I've stayed overnight at both, I would choose Ivy again and again. The only difference is the slightly smaller closet space at Ivy compared to the two-sided closet/storage area in Hazelton rooms, and the lack of a TV in the bathroom at Ivy. Otherwise the room setup and comfort quality is the same. Ivy provides Bulgari white tea scented toiletries along with the choice of 3 scented bath salts. Hazelton provides a fridge in-room stocked only with wine products and teas whereas Ivy gives many choices just outside the room and a free breakfast (Ivy continental included 2 kinds of croissants, jam, apple strudel slices, an interesting coconut oatmeal porridge that tasted great at room temperature, fresh berry fruit salad, choice of orange or grapefruit juice, and hot tea or coffee on demand.) Yes, Hazelton does room service and has a restaurant open for brunch on site, whereas George at Ivy does not provide that flexibility. The indoor pool at Hazelton was a huge disappointment (no windows, awful lighting and no relaxation area around the pool) whereas the women-only pool at Ivy is lovely and even has an underwater treadmill! Queen Street East between Church and Jarvis is no Yorkville. But for $200+ less on average per night, Ivy offers better value at a similar standard.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThingsToEatandDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
81
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Who knew that I could travel a half hour from home and feel like I was in Paris?! We had a lovely stay at the Ivy for a 1-night getaway in the city.

I can't compliment the hotel and it's staff enough. First and foremost was the European-inspired decor of this chic little boutique hotel - just stunning. With only 4 rooms, it's intimate and cozy, but doesn't feel 'small'.

Wonderful spa, library and lounge area. The hotel rooms are excellent - no detail spared. The walkout to the terrace was a nice surprise.

The 'honesty bar' in the sitting room down the hall was a personalized touch.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mangotree42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

To start off, the reception greeted me with smiles and hospitality. The room was extremely clean and set up with bath salts and nice music. The bed was like drifting on a soft cloud. The decor and art were stunning and well thought out. I felt at home and much relaxed in this hotel and didn't want to leave. Especially after an amazing massage done right in the convenience of my room. The staff was extremely accommodating and allowed me a late check out, so I could soak in the tub with some lavender bath salts (tub big enough for two). mmmm...

I would return to this hotel at any opportunity I may have.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayMerrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Ivy at Verity twice as an overnight getaway in the city. Each time we purchased a package which included one massage, dinner for 2 at George (restaurant associated with Verity), room and breakfast. The package offers excellent value. The rooms are beautiful (especially the bathrooms) and everything is elegant and luxurious. Food at George is excellent. We have food allergies and restrictions that the chef has always accomodated. We find that the chef has a preference for fois gras which we find too heavy so we make sure to ask the staff to exclude this. We've been to the Hyatt in downtown Toronto and prefer the Ivy to it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busymom1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

The Ivy at Verity ( a private women's club in downtown Toronto) attached to 5 star dining at George Restaurant with it's own private courtyard patio.
Posh but cozy, exclusive but welcoming. So beautiful and stylish but with plenty of substance. The people are warm and helpful and the beds are Hastens so the best sleep ever acheived. There is a Verity spa (complete with hot tub, steam room, and sauna ) on property called Sweetgrass that is exclusive for women but men staying in the hotel can have treatments in their hotel room. They even have fitness facilities (again, exclusive to women) and you can add on a yoga class if you want for a nominal fee.
Fabulous stay, incredible bed, God is here, in the deails.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

The Ivy is a small unique hotel - four rooms in total - all different and beautifully appointed. The beds are the most comfortable ever, with the finest of linens. Decor is simply gorgeous, beautiful ly upholstered seating, exposed brick walls and lovely wallpapers, bamboo hardwood floors and bamboo tiles in the luxurious bathrooms. Each room has a balcony overlooking an inner city courtyard. The Ivy is part of Verity Womens Club and upstairs from George Restaurant. The club's spa and fitness facilities are open to guests . You feel like a pampered personal friend rather than a hotel guest.. A small guest lounge with a marble table with selection of fine spirits and wine is part of the lovely surroundings. Definitely for discerning independent travellers who like to discover unique and special properties.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#36 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#23 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy at Verity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy at Verity

Property: The Ivy at Verity
Address: 111d Queen Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#19 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#21 Business Hotel in Toronto
#31 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ivy at Verity 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Ivy at Verity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivy At Verity Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing