We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Undeniably Cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Undeniably Cool”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I believe this hotel is probably the best Hotel in Toronto. This was the first time I stayed there and I was so impressed that I can honestly say that it will not be the last. The staff, lobby and rooms are impeccable. It impressed me as being a modern, chic, luxury boutique hotel that is situated downtown, close to all your needs. The staff is very friendly and will go to great lengths to get you what you want. The rooms are spacious and loaded with all modern technologies, not to mention the comfy beds. The food at the counter diner is incredible. They have a roof top bar which offers excellent views of downtown Toronto equipped with the sexiest pool which is open late to hotel guest and the spicy margaritas are great. In addition, they have a club on board offering good music and drinks. Overall this hotel is worth every penny you spend and the treatment you get makes you feel like a king.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiraz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Dear Shiraz81,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us, we love hearing from our guests. We’re very honored to hear that we provided you with exceptional service and accommodations during your stay. We pride ourselves on exhibiting superior customer service and we’re grateful to hear that you experienced top-notch service -we’ll be sure to let our staff know how much you enjoyed their hospitality. As well, we appreciate all of your compliments regarding your stay and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    268
    134
    72
    82
See reviews for
99
513
83
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I live in Toronto and was planning our wedding at the Palais Royale when the Thompson opened. We were driving by one day and The Counter caught my attention so we stopped to enjoy the cool new diner. After an..overwhelmingly delicious breakfast..we wandered into the hotel and asked for a tour, thinking we would use it as a hotel of choice for our wedding invites. Just walking around the lobby we realized that the hotel was impressive and cool, but maybe not particularly suited to or guests needs. It was when we reached the top floor we decided that WEHAD to stay here, particularly me and my girlfriends to get ready for the big day.
The room as spacious and sparkling clean. It had a large kitchen and dining area with plenty of light (perfect for start-out photos). We had tonnes of stuff, and the bellhop was very helpful and happy making multiple trips with our deliveries throughout both days.We had breakfast from the Counter both days and we're happy both times (once was roomservice). Found the sushi place to be meh for the money. We hosted a night-before party on the rooftop lounge and in our room and were never given a hard time by security for any back and forth trips and access requirements for outside guests. The day of the wedding we went to the rooftop again for photos- great view and lots of space! The staff were very accommodating and appeared happy to have our wedding party and photographers hang around the lounge and the lobby before heading to the Palais.

Thanks Thompson for the easy start to a great weekend :)

Room Tip: no spa but still great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantstoptravelling28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Dear cantstoptravelling28,
Thank you for taking the time to share you wonderful review with us, we love hearing from our guests. We’re very pleased to know that you had such a great experience with us during this special time and we’re honored you chose Thompson Toronto for your pre-wedding accommodations. As well, we appreciate your kind words regarding The Counter, your room and our excellent staff -we were very happy to have you staying with us.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The standard king room is the most basic room they have, but it's gorgeous, beautifully designed, and large. Light switches are really cool and you can turn on or off any light from the toilet if you want. Or bedside.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Dear dhmills,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us, we love hearing from our guests. We're grateful for that you enjoyed your room at Thompson Toronto -we appreciate your kind words -and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Tris hotel is diffrent from the normal hotel I've been ... All the forniture give it a different atmosphere and in specific in the room the shower is a nice sup rice.

On the roof there is a great view and the pool not big is amazing .... Try to find the time for enjoying it

The only bad comment is the parking ... The hotel is charging you 35$ ... Park in the parking in front of the hotel ... Much cheaper

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luka67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Dear Luka67,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we love hearing from our guests. We’re grateful to know that you enjoyed your stay at Thompson Toronto and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This is a new, trendy boutique style hotel in a great location near King West. I stayed here for 3 nights and overall enjoyed this property. The rooms are fresh with warm tones, stylish with the highlight being the well designed and appointed bathroom. This is the type of bathroom you wish you could recreate at home. Great apothecary bathroom amenities as well. The bed linens were of high quality and very comfortable. This hotel is a bit of a party central property and there is a lot of traffic in the halls. The lobby bar was a buzz of activity for the well dressed, trendy crowd and if you enjoy this scene you will love the Thompson. Front desk and concierge staff have definitely been selected on their "model" looks with their impeccably groomed appearance which is a reflection of this hotel's stylish brand. I had breakfast every morning at Counter and loved the vibe. The diner feel of yesteryear is well executed and I enjoyed the food and coffee each morning. The staff that served me there were all very nice and engaged in conversation. I enjoyed the music. Who doesn't like a little Fleetwood Mac and Patsy Cline to start your day sipping a cup of coffee? This property was within a quick walking distance for my business meetings which was convenient on these colder mornings. I would highly recommend you head up to the top floor bar for a drink once during your stay and marvel at the best view of downtown Toronto. I would recommend this hotel and hope to be back here and to discover more Thompson hotels.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canuckontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Canuckontour,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We’re pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Thompson Toronto and we truly appreciate your numerous compliments regarding our hotel, rooms and fantastic staff. As well, we’re glad you were able to dine at The Counter and begin each day with a great meal, coffee and music. It is important to us that we appeal to all types of travellers and we’re grateful we were able to accommodate your needs as a business traveler.

Again, thank you for your feedback, we hope we’ve made you a fan and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We loved it -- the hotel was cushy and comfortable, the staff was on top of things and we loved the vibe. We loved having choices of types of food connected to it -- great sushi, great diner food and the bar played great music (even if the ambience wasn't exactly our vibe). We loved it and would totally stay there again when money allows.

Room Tip: Next time we'll ask not to be by an elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksbDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear ksbDetroit,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us; we love hearing from our guests. We’re pleased to know that we met, and hopefully exceeded, your expectations during your recent stay with us. We’re grateful for your compliments regarding our rooms and staff and we appreciate your kind words. As well, we’re glad you enjoyed the variety of on-site venues we offer and we hope you were able to savor some great food. Most importantly, we hope you had an exceptional and memorable stay at Thompson Toronto and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We were at the Thompson on the weekend with about 20 colleagues for a business meeting. Nice staff, nice rooms and meeting.

BUT poor soundproofing [in a "hip" hotel with a high-energy, youngish market special effort should be made to have good sound proofing between rooms and from room to hall.

Anyway, tired after a long day of work and travel, we [and some of our colleagues] were annoyed by noise from the hall and partying in other rooms during the night. Security quickly shut down a party at 3 AM when I complained.

This and other hotels ought to try to put business travelers on a quiet floor, and away from elevators. This meeting was booked quite a long time ago, so that should have been possible

Another thing is that the plug ins were hidden under a panel on the desk top. I am not hip enough to sort that out at 10 PM, so it would be good to LABEL the panel "plugs". I noted that it would have been impossible to plug in a little transformer, so business travellers [like myself] would probably prefer a good old power strip to this elegant, obscure approach to providing power.

We usually go to the Park Hyatt, and my recommendation was that we go there in the future.

Room Tip: take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear ksmithderm,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us -we value your feedback and we love hearing from our guests. As well, thank you for your compliments regarding our staff, rooms and meeting space -we appreciate your kind words. Yet, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you endured during your recent stay at Thompson Toronto, but we’re glad you said something. Our goal is to provide you with an exceptional stay in all aspects of our services and we hope we can make the necessary changes to make your next visit absolutely remarkable.

If you would like to follow up, please send a message to ThompsonHotels or contact the hotel directly. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to speaking with you.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing