We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queen for the weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I attended a wedding of a close friend and from the moment I walked in the door, I was treated like a queen. The front desk reception was friendly and efficient. The roof top bar and pool were an amazing retreat. The wedding was in the hotel and as a guest, the reception exceeded all expectations and then some. The staff was pleasant and accommodating through out the weekend. I would return in a heartbeat to the Thompson if the situation arose.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Jo G,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your wonderful review regarding your recent visit to Thompson Toronto. We're grateful that you enjoyed your experience with us and we appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and event services. As well, we're always honored to hear when we've exceeded our guests' expectations.

Once again, thank you for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,511 - 1,517 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is to let everyone know that Thompson Hotel Toronto - Wedding Banquet management took it upon themselves to completely put themselves first before putting the well paying Bride, Groom and guests first. I've never experienced such self-interested business tactics that as I did at my best friend's wedding this past weekend. The banquet director, floor manager openly reprimanded bartenders who gave a groom, guests any full ounce of alcohol as standard practice. Thompson management basically went stingy at 9PM with the open bar. Everything was actually beautiful, food was amazing, venue stylish, front line staff super classy. It was the management that gave everyone a hard time and arbitrarily started to cut completely sober people off alcohol. Guests included doctors, lawyers, and other professionals who were simply sticking up for the groom - who wanted a shot. Too many rules and controlling tactics for welling paying guests is blatantly tacky and below the class Thompson Toronto claims itself to have. For those of you planning a future wedding a Thompson Hotel, make sure they clarify in writing what the rules are around the open bar. It was a negative experience and I cannot believe Management would do this at someone's wedding reception. LOW CLASS.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank SolarDante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

From the moment I stepped in the door I loved the vibe, the luxury, the amenities and the service. The Thompson exceeded my expectations – trendy, fun and sophisticated – it is centrally located and has so much to offer including a rooftop bar (with a magnificent view), a yoga studio and a great workout room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Dear Kevin H,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us; we love hearing from our guests. We are grateful to know that you enjoyed your accommodations. We strive to create spaces that are as beautiful as they are comfortable, all while providing superb service for our guests. We appreciate your kind words, and we look forward to serving you again upon your next visit to Toronto.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was my first experience with the Thompson family - they own and operate four properties in Canada.

The Toronto property manages the impossible - a very contemporary decor with ALL the feelings of home! The guest rooms are sleek and comfortable. Closets include a fluffy robe, multiple hangers - including the satin ones we ladies love....mini bar...and dresser all built into a modern schraunk. The desk has a hidden panel that houses multiple multiple plugs and every type of connection / plug you could possibly need. But the bed and pillows......so comfortable. Perfect for the exhausted traveler who needs to recharge.

My favorite features: Heated floors in the bathroom....and ...You can operate all of the lights in the room from any and all of the light switch panels - even the one built into the nightstand!

There are multiple restaurants and two night clubs....but the club on the roof top is only open to hotel guests! BREATH TAKING VIEWS! Service levels are spot in here. The staff is very friendly and will do there best to accommodate all requests. The food....AMAZING! I especially love the 24 hour diner....the name appropriately named THE DINER. In order to insure you get the best cup of coffee.....they will deliver to your room 24 hrs a day....none of the mickey mouse toy coffee makers for this hotel! Their coffee is some of the best I have ever had. Beware.

All in all a great hotel for business travelers and mature audiences tucked into a great location. Great for Groups / Conferences of 50 - 75 attendees!!

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are a bit roomier ....recommend upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Dear Julie B,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Thompson Toronto. We love to exceed our guests' expectations, and we're glad to hear that you were pleased with our service and accommodations. We also appreciate your compliments regarding our in-house venues. We hope you will join us again upon your next visit to Toronto.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

As a true fan of the Thompson Hotels in NYC it would only go without saying that I would choose The Thompson when in Toronto. The service is amazing, from the doormen to concierge all are first class. If you are looking for a truly classy boutique hotel experience then this hotel is perfect. The food at Scarpetta is superb and the the rooftop bar and view are breathtaking......I travel on business to Toronto several times a year and I truly feel this hotel to be my second home. What hotel doorman remembers your name three mont after your first stay. A fine example of luxury....this is one brand that definitely lives upto its reputation. Will be back for Christmas.........

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

pretentious! When did doormen and coat check girls start looking down on patrons? Never going back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Youngdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Having stayed at the Smyth in TriBeCa several times, I found the atmosphere, decor, and bespoke service levels consistent at the Thompson Toronto.

I have been reading a lot of negative reviews here and have noticed that a lot of them are a result of getting denied from accessing the roof -- possibly from non-guests of the property. There is something good to be said about a hotel that manages to maintain exclusivity of it's amenities to their guests who spend a lot of money to stay at the property.

We will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank briansit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Dear briansit,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Thompson Toronto. It's wonderful that you were able to visit more than one of our properties, and we're glad you enjoyed them both. We are grateful for your loyal patronage, and we look forward to serving you again upon your return.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 138 in Toronto
3,865 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 550 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: £134 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing