We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Ranked #19 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing service!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I've used Thompson Toronto a few times for corporate trips, and the concierge team is one of the best I've seen! It is not easy to coordinate travel for groups, but Paula (Chef Concierge) and her team were nothing but accommodating, resourceful, and responsive to all of my inquiries and needs. The Thompson team went out of their way to ensure that our stay with them was comfortable and effortless during a busy business trip. We will defintely be staying with them again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear DanielleW12354,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I would like to sincerely thank you for commending our service team. Your kind recognition has been very well received by our team.

We look forward to welcoming your group back very soon,

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director or Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    281
    144
    80
    85
See reviews for
108
537
88
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Modern hotel, nice lobby, clean and comfortable rooms. Bars and Restaurants on site, great view from the rooftop lounge and the diner had really good breakfast. Great location, easy to get around and always taxis available. The staff were very friendly and will help in any way they can.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesleyKhoury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Bentley2013,

Thank you for staying with us, I am glad that you had a chance to enjoy the Thompson Diner and found our staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Ring... Ring... Ring... "Sir, this is your wake up call"..... I hate getting up early, especially somewhere boring, yet when I rolled over and gazed into the beautiful white marble bathroom I was excited.... The waterfall shower last night before bed was exquisite, and the thought of stepping onto the heated marble floor, and smelling the lemon shampoo were a perfect pick me up.... even if the soft snuggly Sferra linens did their best to coax me into drifting off again... attempting to escape the lingering effects of last nights drinks at the Lobby bar...The crowd here is unlike any other in the city, and you would be doing yourself a great disservice not to sit down, order a drink and take in the surroundings. The Hotel staff are extraordinary and have just the right amount of professionalism, mixed with a keen sense of humour and a very pleasant demeanor. As I was checking out at 4:30am a group of 3 very scantily clad women emerged from the elevator and exited... Whereupon the concierge shared a witty remark and we had a quick laugh... It was a wonderful way to start the day. I can't say enough about the exceptional staff, They made my stay exciting.... right from checking in until the moment I left.... and even if the bartenders were somewhat slow on service, the drinks were good and they more than made up for it with their enthusiasm. Breakfast at the Thompson Diner was a treat as well...Great coffee, good food and a half dozen or so after hours party goers... It was 4:30am and listening to late night tales made for an entertaining breakfast. Perhaps I'm a little biased towards my like of the Thompson, but I can't stand anything that is dull. The Thompson is exciting and possesses a rare combination of great design, Friendly staff, wonderful location, and most of all an edgy personality that will make you want to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Walter S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the Hotel and appreciate you acknowledging our staff.

We hope you will return soon to experience our Rooftop Lounge and Bar as the weather improves with the season.

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The Thompson is a great choice for many reasons. Location is central for many walkable activities. Rooms are luxurious. The restaurant is fabulous. And the rooftop - wow. It's worth a trip on its own. Always my choice in Toronto.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Travel2030,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you found our location to serve all of our needs.

We appreciate and thank you for your patronage,

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We travel frequently and because of a sensitivity to chemical smells we always call ahead for special preparation of our room. Suffice it to say the staff was fantastic will all requests and even agreed to discontinue using a scent in their lobby area during our stay. After our arrival, it was as if they could not do enough to make our stay an enjoyable one. In addition, they had a great lounge, restaurants, spa/exercise facility and location. We will make this our hotel of choice in Toronto. Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aspenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear aspenfan,

Thank you for sharing with us. It was our pleasure to be able to accommodate your needs to ensure a safe and comfortable stay with us.

On behalf of all of your staff we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel again soon,

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Great stay at the Thompson. Started out with fab dinner at Scarpettas. Staff were very helpful.
And the design of the room was great - open, clean lines. Comfy bed and robes. And a very rare treat - the disappearing minibar!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMBBSMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear CMBBSMB,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again very soon.

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel offered a modern feel to the rooms. Lots of fabric and glass, no carpeting, wood and tile floors, hooray! The bed was comfortable. The walk in shower was spacious. The sliding doors were a good touch. The lighting was interesting. Our corner room had a nice view of the CN Tower and a nearby park. The Diner Restaurant in the hotel served a very good breakfast and the staff were pleasant and cheerful. Not in the centre of town and this could be a problem depending on what you were doing. We were going to the Skydome and it was about a 15 minute walk. We like to walk and felt very comfortable walking to the hotel in the evening after the game.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor in a corner room. It was narrow but adequate. I liked the design. Good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear johnpaul1,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you back with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#12 of 136 in Toronto
694 reviews
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing