We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun if you want to embrace the atmosphere”
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #10 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Salisbury, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fun if you want to embrace the atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The Rex is in a great location - walking distance to most of the sights, or 3 mins walk from the subway. Rooms are very very basic and there are no frills here, but the atmosphere in the Rex is great. Fantastic musice every night (until 1am, so don't expect and early night on the 1st floor if you don't have earplugs!

The staff are great - breakfast is a cup of coffee and some toast, but that was all that was needed to send you off on your day in Toronto - sitting at the bar in the evening you will meet some great people and see some fantastic bands. For this price the Rex is great - just don't expect room service!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateSMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    77
    51
    10
    7
See reviews for
18
101
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Hall, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Definitely not a family hotel, which we loved... kinda sick of getting woken up early in the morning by screaming children in the next room everywhere we stay. Room was small and simple; just a bed, TV, window and bathroom. No phone or clock. If you're a high-maintenance type person, this isn't for you. Perfect for my wife and I on a long weekend trip to the city. Very centrally located - just about everything we wanted was within walking distance. Restaurants, bars, shopping, and Toronto Art Gallery were within blocks. Harbourfront was a little further, but still walkable. Parking garage up the block isn't too expensive, about $13 per night. Staff was great - they even loaned us a parking pass for two of our three nights that one of the managers wasn't using, so we only had to pay parking one night. Bar downstairs is great - live music pretty much all times of the day. Could hear the music just a tiny bit in our room, but didn't disrupt our sleeping at all. This place was damn near perfect, will definitely go back next time we're in Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deathorglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Very clean, modern, comfortable and compact! We were very lucky to find such a convenient location at such an affordable price. The manager/owner was very helpful and pleasant. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

I´m not sure how I was lucky enough to find this place but it is absolutely a hidden gem. The place is right on Queen St. W a few short blocks from the CN tower (which I could see out of my window). You are a few blocks from the train station and have ample dining within walking distance.

I am not sure how long they have been a hotel there, but the rooms were pretty impressive - although small (which was OK for me). Absolutely the best thing about this place is the jazz bar downstairs. After checking in I was able to go downstairs, have some food, a drink and listen to some live music, perfect for unwinding after a day of traveling.

The room was small, but very up to date. There was no fridge, microwave, or anything like that, just a bed, TV and shower (nice shower). The food downstairs was great, the music was awesome, and the rates were reasonable.

The only potential negatives might be a) the room was small and b) they bill the room as FOOD on the receipt which made it confusing when it came time to get reimbursed.

All in all - Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIVAHUME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#61 of 136 in Toronto
1,463 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Property: The Rex Hotel
Address: 194 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1Z1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Rex Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Toronto's Queen Street Entertainment District, The Rex Hotel is a true boutique hotel experience. Compact, modern and tidy, our rooms cater to today's current business or pleasure traveler on a short visit to the downtown core.The newly renovated rooms include ensuite washrooms, individually controlled heating/air conditioning units, flat screen television and cable, wireless internet access, and one double pillow-top bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing