We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place to Hang Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Whelan's Gate

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Whelan's Gate
Ranked #3,057 of 8,434 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Bar, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Neighbourhood: West End
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Place to Hang Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I live near Whelans, and I often find myself there for a drink or two to hang out. The staff is super friendly, and I love the atmosphere. Be sure to check out the back garden patio if the weather is nice!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJanEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Went to an old favourtive spot of mine yesterday for some lunch with a pal. Sat on the back patio & enjoyed a jug of beer with a Whelan's Burger. The server was very helpful & explained some menu changes that were in effect however have not yet been printed. The beer was fantastic however we were surprised it cost $20 for the jug! Good old Ontario prices I guess. The burger was fantastic & really hit the spot. Been here many times over the years & still love it & will visit again next time I'm in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RiddimRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food! Accomodating for allergies.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Great local GTA pub! They went to great efforts to ensure the food was not in contact with my wife's allergen. The wings were really good, the Irish stew was great and the potato boats. Alas they only had Strongbow on the menu for ciders, but I'm a cider nut and figure all Irish and UK pubs should have a few more on the list. Great service and prices too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IamArcherGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Real, not pseudo Irish pub, well-worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Before you go looking for an Irish pub, decide what you want. Modern re-creations are usually fine in terms of decor & fare; others are "Irish" because of their clients/owners.

Whelan's Gate is a transposed pub from Ireland. It's got it all: small bar, larger entertainment & eating room, also with a full service bar, a snug and a secluded backyard patio.

I've been here many times for lunch and drinks & entertainment in the evening. The entertainment, live or recorded is great. The food is very good, made on the premises, and there is a good selection of beers and drinks. The balanced menu is reasonably priced and the service warm and efficient.

Whelan's passed the biggest test: St. Paddy Day.
-large crowded rooms, but a very convivial group which was well-managed & serviced by the staff;
-good food served consistently all day;
-great Paddy's Day vibe, sustained by the live and recorded music, super staff and an engaged crowd.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colonelhightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Peoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit dissappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Nice atmosphere and beer - food only so-so. The bartender was friendly and there was a decent selection of beers. The food really wasn't very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whelan's Gate also viewed

 

Been to Whelan's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing