We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must-see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Ontario Museum

Royal Ontario Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.32*
and up
Royal Ontario Museum Ticket
Ranked #4 of 500 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) is among the world’s leading museums of natural history and world cultures. In combining a universal museum of cultures with that of natural history, the ROM offers an unusual breadth of experience to our audiences from around the world. We realize more acutely now that nature and humanity are intertwined, and the ROM offers many examples in its collections and programs of these fundamental relationships.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must-see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a wonderful museum. There is a bit of everything, from natural history, to cultural history, to a little modern art. I went with all adults, but there seemed to be a number of kid-friendly activities as well.
We did one of the tours, and I would highly recommend it. The times are posted just inside the entrance. There is no sign-up or fee required. Our tour docent was friendly and knowledgeable. The tour lasted about 50 minutes. We went through many parts of the museum, hitting the highlights. It was a great way to get a general sense of the place before going back to spend some time with the exhibits that we found most interesting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,175
    1,763
    499
    85
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
188 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“interesting museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great place to visit and lots to see. The museum was very well organized and five floors of things to see made it a bit overwhelming!!! I stayed to viewing only the "old" side of the museum and i still did not get to see half of it in the 3 hours we were there. Beautifully displayed and organized.The dinosaur exhibit is very popular, esp with the kids. When we went it was also freezing and by the end I felt like a popsicle so bring a sweater. Two places to eat made it very nice. I plan to visit again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Museum visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

If you go to Toronto, make sure you visit this place, we spent a full day here and had a really good time.
the building looks like some thing out of the future, really modern looking with lots of steel and glass in pointed shapes.
The Indian showcase on the first floor is really impressive, lots of interesting showcases, from Canoes to clothing.
There are staff on hand in each area that you go to who are all very helpful and knowledgeable about that part you are in.
If you have young children, do not hesitate about taking them there, they will love it, lots of interactive things for them to do.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DelightedDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliantly curated museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Visit recommended by an Indian taxi driver. Fascinating. Could have spent much more than the three hours we had. High points were the section on first people, the minerals gallery and exhibition of 19th/20th century Indian photography. Even the cafe was good. Spotlessly clean with great variety of fresh hot and cold dishes.

Helpful?
Thank Montepegotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I literally traveled from New Brunswick to Toronto just to go to the ROM. 10 years ago I was in TO on business and managed to spend a brief few hours there - what a tease! I planned my whole vacation around visiting the ROM and was not disappointed.

There are things here that will have your jaw agape - Sitting Bull's war shirt. Dinosaur bones. Paintings. Artifacts from every corner of the world. There are no words to say how satisfying it was for this history buff and would-be archaeologist to walk around. Go. You will be astounded.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Ontario Museum also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Royal Ontario Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing