We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place...Rich with History...”

Royal Ontario Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.61*
and up
Royal Ontario Museum Ticket
Ranked #17 of 499 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 1914, the Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) showcases art, culture, and nature from around the globe and across the ages. One of North America's most renowned cultural institutions, Canada's largest museum is home to a world-class collection of more than six million objects and specimens, featured in 40 gallery and exhibition spaces. As the country’s preeminent field research institute and an international leader in new and original findings in biodiversity, palaeontology, earth sciences, the visual arts, material culture and archaeology, the ROM plays a vital role in advancing our global understanding of the artistic, cultural and natural world. The Renaissance ROM expansion project (2007) merged the iconic architectural heritage of the original building with the Studio Daniel Libeskind-designed Michael Lee-Chin Crystal. A distinctive new symbol of Toronto for the 21st century, the Crystal marked the beginning of a new era for the ROM as the country's premier cultural and social destination.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Another Must in Toronto...Huge place..should have at least 4 hours to see this place comfortably...one can spend even more...Great collection of historical items...

Thank Nirav40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROMtoronto, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Ontario Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The ROM is one of the largest museums in Canada with diverse exhibits on ancient civilization and natural history. We definitely recommend spending at least 3-4 hours visiting our vibrant galleries!

Until next time,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bat cave"
in 231 reviews
"natural history"
in 223 reviews
"blue whale"
in 189 reviews
"chihuly exhibit"
in 146 reviews
"dinosaur bones"
in 77 reviews
"totem poles"
in 65 reviews
"first nations"
in 105 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 150 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 107 reviews
"canadian history"
in 89 reviews
"on display"
in 133 reviews
"all ages"
in 195 reviews
"few hours"
in 159 reviews
"rainy day"
in 72 reviews
"rom"
in 1,874 reviews
"minerals"
in 215 reviews
"artifacts"
in 359 reviews
Filter

70 - 74 of 7,482 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018

We really enjoyed the Museum. They have a fascinating Spider Exhibit. I was interesting for any aged person. The Evidence Exhibition is about the evidence presented in 2,000 in a lawsuit in the UK that confirmed the Holocaust. Well worth seeing. The natural history sections with Dinosaurs was very popular.

Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROMtoronto, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Ontario Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed The Evidence Room, Spiders: Fear & Fascination and our dinosaur exhibits.

We hope you will return to the ROM in December to see our special exhibits Wildlife Photographer of the Year and Zuul: Life of an Amoured Dinosaur.

Until next time,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

I wish it had more content. Just my opinion though. You could try before to make a better review. cheers

Thank Prax_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROMtoronto, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Ontario Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The ROM is one of the largest museums in Canada with diverse exhibits on ancient civilization and natural history.

With rotating special exhibits that occur throughout the year, the ROM strives to display a wide variety of topics related to art, history and culture.

All the best,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Great display on spider as eye opening.
My grandchildren likes to come to Royal Ontario Museum to see dinosaur exhibit and play at the kids area. They are thrilled in the dinosaurs bone discovery play pan

Thank Albert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROMtoronto, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Ontario Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Albert,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The ROM is one of the largest museums in Canada with diverse exhibits on ancient civilization and natural history.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the Spiders: Fear & Fascination exhibit. And hope to see you again in December for our upcoming special exhibit, Zuul: Life of an Armoured Dinosaur.

All the best,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

It will take you a whole day.

Set the day aside.

Amazing displays...of animals..the 1920 s...you name it.

A must to visit.

Thank sxw202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROMtoronto, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Ontario Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The ROM is one of the largest museums in Canada with diverse exhibits on ancient civilization and natural history. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the mammals and biodiversity exhibits!

Until next time,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Ontario Museum also viewed

 

Been to Royal Ontario Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing