We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for younger kids/families”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Centre Island

Centre Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.37*
and up
Toronto Inner Harbour and Island Cruise
Ranked #13 of 501 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Toronto: ride a bike or take a turn on your blades on any of the many trails located on the island.
Milford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice for younger kids/families”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The island is very nice but geared towards young children/families. My husband, myself and teenage daughter only spent about 1-2 hours exploring. Beautiful landscaping, beach looked nice but not a lot to do. So much to do for younger children, great place to spend the day if you have little ones! The ferry was not busy when we went on Friday morning but Saturday morning it was lined down the street, so be aware of the times you go.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sharmonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    364
    69
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute must”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great retreat. The ferry over is a reasonable price and the island has lots to do or explore whilst equally providing a relaxing break from the city. The beach areas were very clean. Totally loved the discovery of this place including ward island.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 1AKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view but don't go at night.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We took a ferry ride over after dinner and the view of the Toronto skyline was great. We did not realize that at night the amusement park turns into a dance club/night club. We had to wait in long lines for the ferry back that was very crowded and let's just say it was an eye opening ride for our children! Not sure about the day time. We were going to go the next day but after the ferry ride and how crowded it seems to be we decided not to go.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relax and spend the day”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Loved the boat ride to the island. It gave you the best picture of the city. The island was full of things to do from swimming on the beach, going to the amusement park, or just hanging out for a picnic. We loved the area and will go back for more fun and relaxation.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice day at Centre Island”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I took my daughters who are 7 and 8 for a day here in August and it was beautiful. They really did enjoy the kids amusement park. The rides are good for kinds under 12.

We walked around the island and its a nice place for a picnic and a lunch as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centre Island also viewed

 

Been to Centre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing