We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Ranked #14 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday. We had a large room with a King bed, a good desk chair and to my delight a sofa and comfortable chair for us to sit and talk. (unlike so many hotels where a room for two provides a single chair) They had a good coffee maker machine (single cups at a time, decaf, regular and tea) and the room was comfortable, quiet and clear. The bath and shower are separate. The welcoming at the Front Desk was warm and friendly, the hotel staff were always polite, appeared happy and even went so far as to greet us with a "Welcome home" in the hallway just before we went into our room. The hotel is a five minute (or less) walk from the west exit from the St George's subway.

Room Tip: We were on the back and the room was certainly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Absolutely 5 star, excellent room very spacious. We stayed 3 nights & wish we stayed longer. Room service fantastic. Staff very helpful. Def stay there again. Only downside bit of away into Toronto town centre but quite near subways.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I came for my business convention and this was the base hotel. We had never stayed at an InterContinental before. We were pleasantly surprised! We arrived late on Tuesday and we're warmly greeted. Our room was on the 8th floor with a view of the inner court yard. The room was spacious and conveniently located on the same floor as the gym and pool. My only complaint would be the bed is a bit harder than I would have liked and the floors in the bathroom was cold (though they supply slippers). There is a lack of counter space due to the pedestal style sink but I worked around that. We ate in the bar (restaurant was closed upon our arrival) and followed the recommendations of the server for a wonderful tapas meal.

I would suggest using self park (the parade is under the hotel with an elevator which takes you right to the hall beside check in). Self park is $18 and valet $35 - so big savings. Your are centrally located with the ROM across the street and some amazing restaurants and shops within walking distances.

The facility is nicely decorated nod the staff are friendly. We will definitely consider this hotel on future stays.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank HappyTravellerYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The InterContinental Toronto Yorkville is a premium offering that is still relatively affordable. There is a lot to like about this hotel and it will suit the needs of many different traveller types


What I liked: As with other IC hotels I have visited, efficient and friendly check-in staff with a "can do" attitude. Although this is not a young property (the décor would likely date it back to the 1970s), it has been very well maintained and the hotel feels very classy. The room assigned was large by Toronto standards, including the bathroom. There is a very "hip" bar on-site and what appears to be a very decent restaurant

What to watch for/ could be improved: Not much but the check-out experience could have been better. The front desk area is fairly small and can only support a minimal # of staff. There was only 1 check-out clerk when I checked out at what would be a busy check-out time (8am) with 5 or 6 people in-line

The X Factor: Being in Yorkville, this is going to be an ideal location for those wanting to enjoy the premium shopping available nearby, good eating place, UofT and a few businesses. It is just outside the main downtown core and next to a subway station with access to the 2 main subway lines. For tourists, this may still be ok but not as conveniently located as the other IC hotel in Toronto

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A a frequent traveller to upscale hotels and a Intercontinental Platinum Ambassador I was rather disappointed. Instead of the usual excellent upgrade with a great view I was placed in a dark room, no view and a horrible smell. When I companied I was told the hotel was full. When I complained again another room was found. While the rooms are tastefully furnished and have comfortable bedding this very old building has a tired feel. The ceiling have the creepy "popcorn" spray coating associated with the 1950's and Best Western properties. The bathrooms are dull and not well lit. The lobby and hallways are very well maintained and the service is on a par with other IHC properties. Toronto has many finer high end hotels. Still the InterContinental Yorkville offers a very comfortable product at an excellent price. Also disappointing was the lack of a concierge floor or buffet breakfast. Someone should remind the operators that Intercontinental is marketed as a superior luxury brand.

Room Tip: Insist on a front exposure, NON smoking and refurbished. Hopefully they will something about the aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Stephen P,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for being an Ambassador Member of our IHG Rewards Club program. It is regrettable that this visit was not 100% satisfactory due to the condition of the room you were given and if the concierge services were a disappointment. We appreciate your review as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was my first time at this property. From the outside, the hotel has a very 1970's look. Don't worry. The inside is updated, and the property is well kept. The staff was both helpful and courteous. The rooms are large and very pleasant. The location is terrific. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmeriSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great experience
Checked in earlier
Great customer service at front desk
Room service amazing staff went the extra mile to help me
Every thing that was expected happened and more was delivered
Be smart stay here


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ivete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#18 of 137 in Toronto
1,814 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 137 in Toronto
3,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 137 in Toronto
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Toronto Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Yorkville

Address: 220 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#11 Business Hotel in Toronto
#17 Family Hotel in Toronto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £128 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Yorkville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our premium downtown Toronto hotel, located in the fashionable and exclusive neighbourhood of Yorkville. Our boutique hotel redefines luxury standards with sleek, crisp, yet warm and invitingly designed interiors, a uniquely personal touch to service and an approachable elegance. When you choose our downtown Toronto hotel you'll be in the heart of Yorkville, one of Toronto's most fashionable neighbourhoods, with high-end restaurants, boutiques, and art galleries only a short stroll away, as well as the University of Toronto and major museums such as the Royal Ontario Museum right across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Yorkville Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing