We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Ranked #14 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In need of refurbishment”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Convenient location but thats the only nice thing about this hotel.

As a IHC member I wanted to stay here so I can keep up my loyalty points. I have stayed at this hotel on 2 separate occasions. In Summer 2012 and also in Feb 2013.

The staff were friendly and helpful. On my first stay I was upgraded to a larger room which was nice.

However the hotel is in desperate need of renovation. Carpets, the lobby, the rooms, the bathroom and facilities are all very dated. Rooms have a stale cigarette smoke smell although was told I am in a NON smoking room.

WIFI was not connecting when I was in my room unless I stood directly by my room door!

All in all I love IHC but would definitely try another one of the newer hotels when am next in town.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Bloor. That was you can see the CN tower and other attractions in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Jamal l,

Thank you for providing us with your very valuable feedback pertaining to your past stay at the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. Your feedback is truly appreciated and will be utilized in our continuous improvement efforts.

As mentioned we are always striving to improve our products, services, and facilities. I do hope that you will decide to stay with us again to see firsthand the enhancements the hotel has undergone since your last stay. Recent improvements include a renovation to our second floor meeting space, renovation to the lobby, and guest room décor and furnishing updates.

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    478
    130
    33
    20
See reviews for
304
453
117
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

What a great place! We were upgraded with our room, which was lovely! We enjoyed free appetizers and wine and a complimentary breakfast! We were treated very well! It made the getaway very memorable! We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, worth asking for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Kathi L,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay at the hotel. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that we were able to accommodate your room upgrade request. Please don’t wait until Mr. Stewart is back in town again to visit the hotel, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back much sooner.
Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I have just spent a great weekend at the Interncontinental-Yorkville. Very welcoming staff, starting the valets, Clement at the front desk who was most pleasant and very helpful in helping us find places to go visit, etc...; Fabeanna, who booked the quickest tour ever for us to catch... ; Jaysen who was extremely pleasant and helpful. Very nice staff at the "signatures" restaurant.
When we first arrived at the hotel and when to our room the temperature was so high, it was like being in a sauna. We called the front desk and like every hotel they say "we'll send someone right away". So we laughed and got ready to leave because the room was too hot. Literally 5 minutes later, the electrician knocked on our door and fixed the temperature. that was amazing. Quickest service ever. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Our room (841) was facing the museum, could not ask for better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Deedz M,
It was a great pleasure to read the review of your recent stay at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and I will be sure your kind words reach the team.
Looking forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had reason to stay five nights at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville in early March and it was the most enjoyable stay I've had in luxury hotel in Toronto in recent memory. I typically stayed in downtown Toronto to be near the financial sector. No more. The distance is not that great, and is more than made up by the excellent facilities, terrific restaurant, great service and proximity to Bloor-Yorkville shopping, dining and museums. It was a welcome refuge from a busy week of meetings.

Room Tip: The north side was quiet, but not much of a view in March.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear JMSmall,
It was wonderful to read that your most recent stay, was a pleasant one. I was very happy to hear that even with a busy week of meetings you were able to make time to enjoy our facilities and tour around beautiful Yorkville.
Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We really liked this hotel - it was a good location and the rooms were nice. The only complaint is that the lobby was cold with no protection from wind and cold in the seating area. I know it was winter but still - it needs seating off to the side. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and as an IHG member, we received free standard wi-fi, which was very good and we did not need to upgrade to the premium. Love having the subway half a block away, especially on cold weather.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the third floor. It's right over the conference rooms and if there is a party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoosiergrandma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear hoosiergrandma1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your very valuable feedback with us through TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that the temperature in the lobby was less than satisfactory. The furniture placement will be reevaluated in hopes to optimize traffic flow, as well as climate control.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, hopefully during better weather conditions.
Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This excellent hotel is centrally located in a city with much to do and see. However, the real bright light at this property is their "Chef Concierge", Ms. Carolina Avaria. I have never met a more knowledgeable, helpful and delightful concierge in all my 35 years of travel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gHenryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear gHenryl,
Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville during your most recent trip to Toronto. I was thrilled to read that Chef Concierge, Carolina was the “bright light” of your stay. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on your next journey to the city.
Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My good friend's parents was visiting from Germany for her birthday and she asked for hotel recommendations. So as a Platinum Ambassador member for IHG I recommended them some IHG properties especially the ones that I have great experiences with. I recommended them IC Toronto Centre and Crowne Plaza Niagara as I have stayed at these properties multiple times and never been disappointed gave them 5/5 here and their website and some forums. Since they wanted to stay in Bloor area to visit ROM and Panorama Lounge and check out the stores around I recommended IC Yorkville. They all stayed at my hotel recommendations. This was my first time in this location.

So I booked all the hotels and contacted the hotel about it, as I will not be with them during check in but possibly arrive late. I told them to not change anything and that they can charge everything from my CC. The other hotels were outstanding in this regards! But with IC Yorkville, was a different story!
Here is what I did to try to make my friend's check in as seamless as possible.
1) In my reservation, I indicated that my friend will be checking-in for me as she will arrive first I live just a bit outside town and sometimes need to travel around.
2) I went to the hotel, IC Yorkville on a Sunday and talked to the front desk to inform my situation and it was fine and she even put a note on my reservation and the name of my friend that will be checking-in and again I told her that there is no need to change anything when she arrives and I even signed all the papers required.
3) I know someone that knows someone in IC Yorkville informed on the possible situation. Then this person emailed me back just to confirm then I emailed the person back. I never heard from the this person then days later someone else "responsible" emailed me confirming and CHANGING the reservation to my friends name since I wasn't staying in the hotel and all, I understand that if I didn't stay. Without asking me first they automatically change the reservation right away because I'm not "staying there". This caused chaos!
The worst thing is this person emailed me at the day of the reservation! So first it would be "too late" to cancel if I wasn't happy with the situation. Talk about last minute, I even called but never got an answer. I emailed the person that I will be there but late and don't change anything!
4) My friend checked in they were a bit confused and the front desk wanted her Credit Card. Again information was supposed to be "prepared" already.
Then she asked about if the room was upgrade the front desk automatically said no since "you were only recommended by an Ambassador member". Not a big deal as this was already resolved, but still.
5) I arrived at the hotel later in the evening THANKFULLY the lady that was helping me on Sunday was there and remembered me! She checked and EVERYTHING was changed! The room registered too and my information gone from the reservation pretty much. So she helped rectify the situation and she actually made my annoyance much better, as far a customer service go she was excellent and was very apologetic. Because of her I "might" stay or recommend the hotel again. Also it was enough to put a 3/5 for service instead of 2/5
or 1/5 and just enough for an overall rating of 3/5.
6) Most of the hotels I stay at, I always try to give a review (IHG Hotel Website, Trip Advisor and some travel forums) as it helps other people to see what others have to say, some people complain more than give praise usually. So I emailed the hotel "Management Team" about my experience and I have NEVER got a response from them. The other hotels that I've stayed (IC Toronto Centre, IC Budapest, IC Guadalajara and CP Niagara to name a few) and I always get a response regardless if the review was good or bad, of course most people want to hear positive things. I'm a Process/Continuous improvement professional and I value people's perspective as ways to improve things thus making the company money or saving the company money. I'm sure the hospitality business is the same.
I guess since they didn't want to deal with it, they didn't bother responding and that I'm just another person that doesn't matter, so this is where social media comes in handy. If I post this in the IHG Website this may or may not be posted especially mention other brands which is also understandable.


I tried my best to cover all the bases but it caused chaos and confusion. This was my gift/treat to my friend and her parents. Since I was with them and I have an Elite status, which was very important for late checkout since their flight was late in the afternoon.

Ironically I have another friend and will get married later this year in Niagara. She asked me for hotel recommendation and I recommended Crowne Plaza Niagara for about 30 rooms. Her parents from Germany and maybe some relatives will be staying in Toronto and just asked me for hotels to stay, I've already gave her my suggestion, IC Toronto Centre.

I'm a loyal IHG member and if I'm in a city that has a Holiday Inn (If no IC) and Sheraton or Marriott, I'd rather stay at the HI, regardless if it's for personal or business, but still depends on the situation though. I'm also a member of Sheraton and Marriott but not the same level as IHG.

That being said...
The hotel is very nice and I like the decor, its small compared to the other IC around the world but since this is a boutique I don't expect much such as a Club/Lounge, but still very nice. The rooms were very clean and spacious, bathroom is big. Location is great, close to key places and parking wasn't as expensive as IC Toronto Centre.

Other than the unsatisfactory service, my friend and her parents were still very happy. I hate to disappoint them because of my recommendation.

I might give this location another try sooner or later. Especially I'm participating in IHGs "Big Win" which I'm on track to finish 100% of the requirement. I like that they offer 5000 bonus points which counts towards my Elite status, when booking Best Flex rate with this package (+$25).

Room Tip: Depends if you want a view of the ROM or Bloor then you ask for the "street view" however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRAI79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear BRAI79,
Thank you for taking the time to share your very detailed review of your recent stay at the hotel, though it troubled me to read of your experience. We have reached out to you via e-mail to discuss your experience with you in further detail.
Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#19 of 136 in Toronto
1,731 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
646 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,145 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Toronto Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Yorkville

Property: InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Address: 220 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#11 Business Hotel in Toronto
#17 Family Hotel in Toronto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Yorkville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our premium downtown Toronto hotel, located in the fashionable and exclusive neighbourhood of Yorkville. Our boutique hotel redefines luxury standards with sleek, crisp, yet warm and invitingly designed interiors, a uniquely personal touch to service and an approachable elegance. When you choose our downtown Toronto hotel you'll be in the heart of Yorkville, one of Toronto's most fashionable neighbourhoods, with high-end restaurants, boutiques, and art galleries only a short stroll away, as well as the University of Toronto and major museums such as the Royal Ontario Museum right across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Yorkville Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing