We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value, clean, friendly housekeeping staff”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #40 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, good value, clean, friendly housekeeping staff”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel rooms are small as typical of a downtown, boutique hotel but comfy for a couple. Location is excellent - close to subways, the indoor PATH that takes you to so many landmarks; the rooms are clean; and the housekeeping staff very friendly. Rooms are quiet considering that this is in the heart of downtown Toronto. We did not experience any great inconvenience with having to park our car outside the hotel for a few minutes to unload and register at the desk.

Areas to improve: Front desk staff needs to smile more and be more welcoming, except for Luther who was really helpful and friendly. Our bathroom had some minor maintenance issues like a loose toilet paper holder, sluggish bath tub drainage, toilet that back ups occasionally, and some caulking repair around the tub. We reported the problems and the staff was very responsive.

Overall, will definitely stay here again, for short trips.

Room Tip: Ask to be located on the side rooms away from Yonge street and elevator, even if these rooms are sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena5209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Leena5209,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we appreciate all guest feedback as it allows us to learn from your experience with us. I am happy to hear that our overall stay with us was an enjoyable on. I do apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced during your stay but happy to hear that we were able to resolve it in a timely matter for you. I will pass on your kind words to Luther and the housekeeping staff. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    467
    162
    51
    30
See reviews for
131
469
99
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We visited Toronto with our infant son and stayed in a room on the top floor. The reception was very friendly, solicitous and exceptionally helpful with moving all our luggage and baby gear. The location is phenomenal. The room we had was well-decorated, extremely comfortable, big and clean. The hotel itself has a historic art deco feel to it with none of the drawbacks of an old building. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stamatia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Tina P,
Thank you for the kind review. I am pleased to hear that the reception staff was able to assist you with the moving of your luggage. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our housekeeping department. Thank you again for the review and we hope you will think of us the next time when you are in our great city of Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We arrived on a Thursday for a concert. There were 4 of us in our party. When we arrived it was only 12 noon, and had no problem getting our room. Reception was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and spacious. They gave a map to my husband for the parking lot and was only 3 minute drive and a 7 minute walk back. Parking was $14.00 for 24 hours, pretty good price in TO. My husband and I had a room with 2 queens and was lots big enough for us! Our friends had a king room and was also very nice. I loved the fact that the floors were bare wood! No ugly stained carpet! A nice change from most hotels! Fantastic location! Walked to the Aquarium and back, then later walked to Real Sport for supper and to the ACC CENTRE. GREAT LOCATION!
Room was very comfortable and warm. We had been reading reviews and it said not to get a room on the road side? We did and had no problem at all. Would defiantly stay here again, and also would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KdkPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear kdkvenice,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one and we were able to meet your needs. You are correct, as we do not have our own parking we do provide a map to the lot we suggest and it is within walking distance back. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our front desk agents. Thank you again for your review and we hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've stayed at many hotels in Toronto on business trips that I pay for myself. So I was happy to have everything I needed, no creepy carpet or bedspreads in this spare room with free wi-fi. This is a no frills hotel. This hotel does not provide room service meals or in house restaurant, It is close to good restaurants though. My room had no view but it did have a window so I could let in air and light. You can pay extra if you want pay per view movies, otherwise, you get basic cable which is fine for daily news. It is close to the subway and major streetcars, right downtown so many destinations are walkable.
There is a breakfast restaurant with standard breakfast fare and bad coffee. Convenient if you're not fussy.
My room did have an annoying design flaw in the tiny bathroom, allowing the shower to leak all over the floor, needing many towels to mop up after.
Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Sandra M,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that the room suited your needs during your stay with us. We do offer complimentary Netflix access in our Business and Deluxe rooms rather than the traditional pay per view movies for each room. You are correct we do not have our own restaurant. While the onsite restaurant, Over Easy, is only open for breakfast and lunch there are many wonderful food options around us. I do apologize for the maintenance issue you experienced with your shower during your stay. Thank you again for the review. We hope we will be able to welcome you back during your next trip to Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingham, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I must admit that I was slightly disappointed with this hotel, but mostly because it wasn't what I was looking for. Feeling slightly tired of the "same old, same old" downtown hotels, I was hoping for something more charming and with a historical type feel. Unfortunately, this hotel is way too modernized to achieve that. I won't complain about the size of the rooms, because that is one of the only things that links this hotel with it's charming past. The room did have a couple of older features (crown molding), which authenticated the fact that you were in a hotel that was built in 1904, but nothing much beyond that. With that being said, the room was clean, comfortable and not a bad price for a downtown location.

No parking was a bit of an issue, and I knew this going in. I didn't think it would matter, but if you had any amount of luggage then four city blocks might be more than you'd appreciate...especially in the winter.

I agree with other reviews about staff hospitality. Just not good! We walked in and were blatantly ignored by two staff members on the front desk for about 10 minutes. One was obviously on the phone (understandable). The other was doing something on a computer (obviously not reading TripAdvisor reviews about the lack of courtesy) and didn't so much as look up and acknowledge us or let us know that they would be with us shortly. This would not be a tough thing to do. When they finally did recognize that we were in the lobby, they were as friendly and helpful as they needed to be...giving no real answers regarding early check-in or anything else that we asked.

All in all, the stay was okay. Would I stay there again? Probably...but I wouldn't make it my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I was apprehensive about the size of the room after reading reviews. We had a room with 2 queens and it was very large, with lots of seating space. Perfectly clean and really comfortable beds. Great location - 8 minutes walk to train station and 15 minutes to shows. Only negative is the glass door to the bathroom - you can see through it when the light is on - not so fun when you are travelling with friends!

Room Tip: if you are bothered by noise, ask for a room not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PamG8458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear PamG8458,
Thank you for writing this review we love hearing guest feedback after checkout. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our housekeeping department. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back when you are in Toronto again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel itself was beautiful and our room was lovely. We were only there for a night. The added touch of the iPod dock and free netflix was a very welcome bonus. We were there to see a show so it was the perfect location. And just across the road was an awesome burger place! Hero burgers I think it was called.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chieraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi Chieraa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit with us at the Victoria. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I was even more pleased that you found the added touch such as the Ipod dock and free netflix added to your enjoyment of your stay. I'm glad that our location was a benefit to your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in our wonderful city. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#49 of 136 in Toronto
1,573 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 136 in Toronto
2,086 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 56 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a Boutique Style Hotel in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Our historically modern guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing