We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location/ smaller rooms”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #40 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location/ smaller rooms”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Positives: Location is excellent. Its right in the heart of the CBD and is easily accessible to Eaton shopping centre, Hockey Hall of fame and the CN TOWER., the main attractions. The hop on hop off bus stop is nearby. Wi fi was free and speed was good. The restaurant has good breakfast options

Negatives: There is no assistance in carrying the luggage to and from the room. The room is relatively quite small.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellator_1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Devesh O,

We appreciate your good review of Hotel Victoria. We are happy our conveniently prime location worked well for you. Being in the CBD we are steps away from Toronto's greatest attractions like the Eaton Center, CN Tower, and more! Over Easy does offer great options for breakfast and brunch. We do offer a selection of 5 rooms from standard rooms to our much larger deluxe rooms. We hope you keep us in mind for your next stay here in Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    478
    167
    52
    30
See reviews for
138
483
100
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Victoria Hotel is perfectly situated in downtown Toronto. Major attractions are "around the corner". Rooms are clean but small and dark due to dark furniture. Beds are good, bathroom small. Window view is not existent as you have a wall about two meters opposite, except the 8 streetside rooms.
All in recommended for short stay as the rooms are clean, good location and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Difficult, street side has a view but loud, others are a bit more quite but now view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Biggitom,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We are glad our "around the corner" location worked fantastic for you. We do pride ourselves for our great location which is within walking distance of most major attractions, shops, restaurants and public transit. We offer Five different room types from standard rooms to our much larger deluxe rooms with a street view. I hope you keep us in mind for your next stay here in Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights. Room was a bit small but had everything. Bed was very comfortable. Wifi good. Staff were friendly and helpful. I had work to do and had to get stuff printed and it was free and no problem. Breakfast was extra and great menu.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear drjackyjones,

Thank you for the lovely review! I am glad you found our pillow top mattress comfortable. I will pass on your kind words regarding the front desk staff's helpfulness. We are glad you enjoyed Over Easy's breakfast and we hope you keep us in mind for your next stay here in Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel Victoria on Younge Street is in the heart of the city. Oldish, tall and skinny, it has small comfortable bedrooms with all the basics including free wi-fi. Very small lounge in lobby.Staff are friendly and competent. Valet parking is available but is expensive at CAD40 a night. Local parking costs a little less.No bar but a restaurant on the premises offers a good reasonably priced breakfast. Irish Embassy pub across the road and many more restaurants in the area,

Room Tip: Ask for a street view room for crowd watching on Younge Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear frankc0,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at Hotel Victoria. We are glad our boutique hotel offered all the necessary basics to make your stay comfortable. I will pass on your kinds words to our front desk staff and we hope you think of us again when you are planning your next trip to Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great place, friendly service, convenient location.
It is just off the Bay Street, walking distance to everything!
They accommodated early check in and were very friendly and responsive to our requests.
Perfect place to be alone or with family.
We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try staying on a higher floor (we stayed on the 8th). Less street noise this way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Rita D.,

Thank you for the great review! I am glad to hear you had a great stay with us at Hotel Victoria and that the hotel's location enhanced your experience here in Toronto. I am pleased that an early check-in was available to you and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is the perfect place to stay in Toronto, if you are looking for a small, boutique style accommodation, which is in a great location. There is subway access right outside the door, and you can reach all of the shopping and tourist attractions within 5-15 minutes by foot.
We found the room to be quite small, but it was clean, and quiet. We had one comment to make about the bathroom: the door to the bathroom has a very big opaque window which means that if someone needs to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, the light shines through into the bed area. It would have been nice to have more than one chair to sit in, other than the one at the desk. The only other negative comment is that the room was quite dark. Because this is an old hotel, the window space is minimal.
As the other reviewers have said, the "Over Easy" breakfast diner attached to the hotel is a great place for breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynandDavep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Carolyn-David,

We appreciate your great review of Hotel Victoria. We pride ourselves for being a boutique-style hotel with our great location which is within walking distance of all major attractions in downtown Toronto. Restaurants, shopping, and transportation is just minutes away from our doorstep! Thank you again for the review and we hope you will think of us for your next accommodation needs while in Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cate26
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel in the early evening after arriving in Toronto from Dublin airport so we were quite tired. It was the start of a two week break for us so he had a big enough suitcase each and our hand luggage. There were two staff behind the front door which is directly across from the front door at a distance of about 10 feet. For some reason (and this irritated me) the doors opened outward and it was awkward trying to get through the door with our luggage. Neither of the men behind the desk offered to help us despite the fact the reception was deserted. So that didn't give me a great first impression.
The room was small but did the job as we weren't in the hotel except to sleep.
The room was clean.
Toiletries and towels were replaced daily without having to be asked.
The location is great. It is within walking distance to Union Station, the CN Tower and the Eaton Centre. There is a subway station outside the door also.
Free wifi.
The Over Easy diner which is attached to the hotel at the lobby was delicious. The staff are quite friendly too. A lot of the locals eat here on their way to work which is a great indication that the food is good.
The price we paid was reasonable too. I would likely stay here again if back in Toronto.

Room Tip: There was no view from our window but to be honest we weren't there to spend much time in our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cate_connolly26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear cate_connolly26,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate all guest feedback. We are saddened to hear that your first impression was not up to our level of usual service. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to the housekeeping staff. We are happy you enjoyed Hotel Victoria's location as being situated in the heart of downtown Toronto, which allows tourists to enjoy all that the city has to offer. Thank you again for your review and we hope you think of us for your next stay in Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 137 in Toronto
1,612 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,143 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 56 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a Boutique Style Hotel in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Our historically modern guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing