We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, but acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #39 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not great, but acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is clean and in a good location. It is however, very dark (all of the rooms seem to look out onto walls) and the shower was terrible. The shower head was not installed in the center of the wall but close to the left. This meant one could not shower properly because all the water was streaming towards the left wall. This was very uncomfortable and could have been avoided had the renovation been properly done. There were also not enough hooks for towels or little shelves to put toiletries down. (There was one hook for all the towels). There were no carpets, which is good but I wish hotels would stop putting little bed spreads on top of the bedding because I find them unclean. I also wished they had European type sheets which cover the duvet completely so sheets don't slide off during the night and make skin contact with the duvet impossible. In general, the updates made to the hotel were done very sloppily and the hotel looks already like it is in need of another renovation. I was bitten by something while in bed (I had two big bites right next to each other on my belly which later turned into big bumps). I don't know what it was that bit me because I looked and could not see anything, but I was bitten in bed for sure and I can only hope that it was not bed bugs (although I suspect it was). Parking and breakfast are not included in the price and I although this hotel is still one of the cheaper options in Toronto, I find we paid way too much for what we really got.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear LenaMontreal,
Thank you for taking the time for writing a review. In regards to the room being dark please bear in mind that we were built in 1909 and many other buildings have built up around us since then. We do offer five room types ranging from our smaller standard room to our business queen room to our much larger deluxe rooms with offer a view of Yonge Street.Thank you again for your comments and we take guest suggestions for review as we are always striving to provide a comfortable stay for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    458
    158
    51
    29
See reviews for
127
458
97
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My son and I stayed here for a long weekend to see a concert and enjoy a city that we had never been to. Sure, there were minor things that I could nitpick about, but, really there is no reason to. The hotel is a very nice and comfortable boutique hotel. It's not a 5 star resort like Trump or some of the other hotels in the area, but, you're also not spending $300+/night to stay here. The fact is with the 2 Queen room that we stayed in was a very big room, had hardwood floors, extremely soft and comfortable beds, free wi-fi, and free water. OK, the nitpick things, the elevator is slow, and the toilet in room 602 seemed a little loose, but overall a great stay in a boutique hotel that is within walking distance to anything you might want to see, and, if you don't want to walk, you could always get the streetcar on King Street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eberner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Eberner,
Thank you for the kind review of your stay at Hotel Victoria. We are glad you found our boutique hotel in the heart of Toronto to be great value and comfort for the duration of your stay. Our newly renovated deluxe rooms are great for families and longer stays as they are they are the largest of the five room types we offer. You are correct, our location is ideal as we are walking distance from great attractions such as the CN Tower, the Harbour Front, Air Canada Center, and the new Ripley’s Aquarium. We are also steps away from the public transport system and Union Station. Thank you again for the review and we hope you will think of us again during your next trip to Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
239 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a cute hotel with a excellent location!It was very convenient to Union Station only a few blocks.It was super easy to walk to.The staff was very nice & helpful with directing us around the city.They were even able to accommodate us for a early check in.I did not find the hotel dated like other reviewers stated.It is a old historic building so what else would you expect.We thought the rooms were nice & perfect for our needs.The room size was fine & the bathroom was not real big but we were there to see Toronto not hang out in the room.We were on a lower floor & our room had no view (a wall)but we had almost no noise.The only issue we had & it was a big one for us was that our air was not working properly.The first night we were there we could barley sleep it was so hot & stuffy.It was too late to be fixed or moved.They said it would be fixed the next day.I told the desk that if it was not fixed we would need another room.They said they were fully booked but that they would fix it.It was fixed by the next afternoon.They were really nice so we didn't make a big deal about the first night.When the air was fixed the room was great!The bathroom was fully stocked & the room had a mini fridge.The closet door was also not working right!There are no amenity's at this hotel except free WiFi & they have a restaurant.There is also a computer to use in the lobby.Parking does seem to be a issue there.The price was excellent for what you get!The location was the best part so close to so many activities. We would stay here again if our travels ever bring us back to Toronto!

Room Tip: We had a low floor with no view but it was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluekarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear BlueKarma,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay here at the hotel. You are correct we are located in the heart of the financial district and within walking distance from restaurants, public transportation and major attractions such as Ripley’s Aquarium, CN Tower, Eaton Center, St. Lawrence Market, and the Roger’s Center. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our Front Desk staff. With our new renovations we wanted to keep the old historic charm of the building with modern finishes. We thank you for your patience and understanding for that night the air-conditioning did not work. We are glad you were pleased with how it was handled by our Front Desk staff. Again, we appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again. To book your stay with us please do not hesitate to contact our Sales Manager at salesmanager@htoelvictoria.on.ca and they will be able to assist you in your booking needs and make sure your next stay with us is a smooth one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The staff are pleasant. Adjustable A/C in every room which helped out a lot once I had got caught in the Toronto storm, allowing me to dry my trainers. Rooms are clean and always well maintained, no issues with towel replacements or emptying of the toilet bin. Little things, but the kind of things that can ruin your hotel experience. Security quite tight with access after 11PM only via room key, which is a good feature. Very close to the Union Station, short 10 minute walk to CN tower and neighbouring facilities, e.g. Ripley's aquarium. A longer walk (30 minutes) but again walking distance to further Downtown and further into the hipster zone of Toronto.

Irish pub and grill opposite and Subway next door. Subway a potential breakfast spot, and the Irish pub and grill has some decent food and plenty of interesting drink choices. Just don't ever ever try the Clamato juice. EVER. Ew.

Anyway, back to Hotel Victoria..

Location superb. Around 30 minutes drive from the airport. I would advise getting a cab with a meter - try Beck, because the flat rate is certainly not justified.

The only downside is facilities. Don't expect a pool or a gym but then there's always free-running which allows you to experience the area and the erm.. construction sites.

Happy travelling. x

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th and 6th floor which were very quiet, however if you want a view ask specificall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Arron M.,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review about your stay here at Hotel Victoria. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, our accommodations, and our location! Being located right in the heart of downtown Toronto steps away from shopping to restaurants to major attractions make us an ideal spot for not only business travelers but leisure travelers who want accessibility for sightseeing. For solo travelers traveling to and from Pearson International Airport we recommend the Toronto Airport Express bus for about $25 per way and pick up zone is less than 10min walk to the Intercontinental. The TTC subway to the airport will take around an hour only for $3. We hope you think of us again for your next trip to Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I picked Hotel Victoria primarily for its reasonable priced downtown location. My fiance and I found the staff friendly, the room quaint, and the queen-sized bed comfortable.

The hotel does look a bit dated and as many reviewers have pointed out, the room and bathroom is tiny. Our window also faced a brick wall. That being said, who cares? We were only there to sleep and shower. It is not a resort.

Recommended, unless you are extremely picky or overly large.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolemnPhilosopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear SolemnPhilosopher,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at Hotel Victoria. We are glad you found our accommodation reasonably priced for our great downtown location. We are pleased that you found our rooms comfortable and our staff friendly. Our hotel is great for visitors looking to experience the city and enjoy their time outdoors seeing the great attractions and sites around the hotel. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commercial Township, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room was very nice, on the small side, but nice. Bathroom was the smallest part. Overall, great place. Restaurant is a must for breakfast. Good value and close to town. Walking distance to harbour and around the block from the subway entrance and the Path (underground mall.) The desk staff were very helpful. The room we had was a two queen room with a view of Yonge Street. Windows could use cleaning on the outside.

Room Tip: I could not book it through their website. I had to use an online discount reseller. Their website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian21475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Brian21475,
We appreciate the time you have taken to write us a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Victoria. Over Easy restaurant in the hotel is great value for breakfast with a multiplicity of options to choose from. We are located close to The Path, which is the largest underground shopping complex in the world! We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great location with easy access to the harbor, St. Lawrence Market, and a good launching point for adventures up Yonge Street deeper into Toronto. Our room was cute - yes, that does mean small, but it was laid out efficiently and was as big as needed. The finishes and decorations were of good quality. The onsite restaurant, Over Easy, served a perfectly good breakfast. The only mishap was some hooligan pulling a fire alarm in the middle of the night, resulting in a bleary-eyed journey downstairs while the fire department went in to give an all clear. Nothing the hotel could do about, but I will say that it would have been nice if a representative would have come out to address the group of guests once it was time to go back in. Overall, would definitely recommend this for anyone staying in Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IceKeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskin L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear IceKeeg,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Victoria. Our location is easy access to The Harbour Front, St. Lawrence Market, and all the main streets that will launch your adventure through Toronto’s different districts. For our rooms, we have a selection of sizes that can work well for different purposes. If more space is needed we always recommend our deluxe bedrooms. Over Easy does great breakfast and they are open from till 3PM in the afternoon for late brunch! We do apologize for the disruption during your stay and your comments will be taken into account to better our service here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and we hope that we can welcome you again here at Hotel Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#53 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#44 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 56 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a Boutique Style Hotel in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Our historically modern guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing