We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #40 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Georgetown Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2009

Stayed at Hotel Victoria on March 3rd for one night. We usually stay at the Westin Harbour Caste, but decided to give this hotel a try. I will definitely stay there again. The rooms are small not luxurious, but exceedingly clean, the bathroom was very functional and very clean. This hotel has recently been refurbished. Am not sure what designer came up with the finished result of lovely beige and gold in bedroom and bathroom, and ugly grey laminate flooring. The only thing I could find wrong with the room was the bathroom wallpaper, whoever hung it forgot to size the walls first and it is in need of attention. However it is a great hotel to stay at, a great location, within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. This hotel did remind me of the boutique hotels we stayed at in Paris. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bracmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    451
    156
    51
    29
See reviews for
124
454
95
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

If you're looking for a central location in downtown Toronto I would suggest looking elsewhere. For the $100 US that I paid the floor was dirty and the hot water in the shower literally took 10 minutes to kick in. The downstairs lobby was also not tidy. When I check out the attendant asked how my stay was and I said, "mixed"....well, he either didn't hear me or chose not to respond because there was no follow up. The good thing is that I did arrive hours early and the attendant at that time was kind enough to let me check my bags while I wondered around, and when I arrived back about a half hour before check in he let me check in early. The room was noise free with the exception of the occasional subway running nearby.

I guess I was also disappointed after searching around so much and spending the amount of money I did on a place that elsewhere would have gone for alot less.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank dwme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Vermont
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

I just spent two nights at the Hotel Victoria with a girlfriend. I can heartily recommend this hotel for a number of reasons: you cannot beat the location, as it is within walking distance of everything we wanted to do; the room was spotlessly clean, and the queen-size beds were super-comfortable, which made for a very good night's sleep. I found the hotel to be very reasonably priced and an excellent value for the money. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating, at one point spending a fair amount of time to look up something for us on the internet. When I return to Toronto for another visit, I will definitely stay at this little gem of a hotel. An added plus: it is just down the block from Richtree Market Restaurant; grab a 10% off coupon at the front desk of the hotel, and get ready for a beautiful dining experience!

  • Liked — Proximity; cleanliness and coziness of the room.
  • Disliked — There is nothing I disliked about this hotel.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

This is my second time at this little peice of paradise and I love it . It's close to everything and especially "Richtree" resturant. Maybe it is small to some but for me it does the trick. The people are friendly. Anywhere you want to go is in walking distance, head South and you can go to the Waterfront. Head North and you are on your way to a shopping experience. I will be making this my annual Christmas holiday stop.

  • Liked — It's quaint
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmali42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

This small hotel is in process of being redecorated and claims to be a boutique hotel, although it doesn't quite live up to that label yet. Its location is brilliant in downtown Toronto. It has no restaurant, but that doesn't matter as there is a wealth of them locally. The entrance and lobby are being done up, so at present it is rather faded, dusty and dull, but the room was good. Although compact, and with no view to speak of (that didn't matter either as we were out all day doing the tourist thing) it served our purposes well. The attempt to modernise it has not quite succeeded; whoever redesigned it or created the decor misfired slightly. Lovely state-of-the art bathroom fittings were poorly placed, with very little attention to practicality, so that there was virtually no place to put our stuff (although there was the room) and you couldn't help but splash water over the place! This is just not going to stand up to constant use! The decor was modern and pleasant, but the greyish wood laminate flooring wasn't able to match with anything else in the room! That said, it still had some ambiance and was certainly clean and comfortable. We did feel that in its present state of redecoration it was overpriced, especially compared to other hotels we had stayed in in the area (although they weren't right in the middle of town!)

  • Liked — It was a peaceful place midst the hustle and bustle
  • Disliked — lobby area not very welcoming, difficult to read in lighting provided in room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyoldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2008

We stayed for two nights at the Victoria. The hotel has been renovated, the rooms are really clean but small. The value for money however is great. You certainly get more then you pay for. No complaints. The location is perfect.

  • Liked — great value for money
  • Disliked — rooms were a little small but no complaints in view of the room rate
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneySally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

Stayed here with my 10yo son on holiday in Toronto. I thought it superb value for the money - comfortable, friendly, great location.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank apb0229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#53 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#42 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 56 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a Boutique Style Hotel in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Our historically modern guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing