We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly relaxing, great hotel, location, impeccable, everything to see in Toronto at your fingertips, couldn't ask for more,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #29 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughly relaxing, great hotel, location, impeccable, everything to see in Toronto at your fingertips, couldn't ask for more,”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Want to visit again soon. Beautiful hotel in a terrific city.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary19581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    684
    266
    91
    45
See reviews for
455
560
96
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Britain
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We had planned a special weekend for our 6 year old daughter to Toronto for her birthday. Upon emailing Andrea, the director of rooms for the hotel, to ask her some questions about sights for kids in the area, we were spoiled with a wonderful birthday surprise from the hotel for our daughter, and an upgrade to a room with a view of the stadium. Parking for the weekend was very affordable at the hotel, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the assistance from staff was outstanding. They drew us maps to local restaurants that would be suitable for our daughter, and were able to answer any question about city attractions and locations we had. I have included a picture of our daughter on this special ocassion, and you will see by the look on how face, just how special the hotel's treatment made her feel. Thank you so much Renaissance, and Andrea, for making this trip so special. We will be back for sure, and make this an annual trip.

Room Tip: The stadium view rooms were outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danalittlebritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had plans for an event at Air Canada Center and also a Blue Jays game. This hotel was absolutely a perfect location for both events. We stayed in a King Suite with a great view, but annoyingly it was on the far side of the hotel.

Room: New carpet. Very comfortable bed. Very spacious room. We both slept well. Bathroom needs updating. The marble had many areas of discoloration and the shower was generic. We have stayed at other Renaissances before and were expecting the same level of quality.

Concierge: Understaffed. I would think that a hotel in this location would have at least two people working at a time, especially during peak hours. My husband and I were not pleased with the inadequate service provided. This is certainly an area that requires improvement.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmpireEstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed at the Renaissance Toronto Downtown with our 6-year-old daughter. It was absolutely perfect because my husband could watch the baseball game from our window and my daughter could watch some of the game, watch a movie or just play in the mountain of luxurious pillows!
On top of the great location and amazing room, the service was incredible! The gentleman at the front desk upgraded our room to be sure our family was comfortable and even dropped by later on to give my daughter an ice cream sandwich!
The valet was curteous and very helpful when chatting about best routes to take out of the city and even remembered our names and chatted about the game with my husband.
The entire staff was helpful and friendly - more than any hotel I've stayed at in Canada (and Canada is a pretty friendly place!)
I can't say enough about this hotel - worth every penny for the location, service and experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljohnston79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

On a recent Saturday, my husband and I rode our bikes down to the Toronto waterfront from Richmond Hill, a 40K ride we've done before but we usually just turn around and take the subway/bus back north the same day. This time, we decided to stay the night downtown, go to a Jays game, and have dinner at Massimo Capra's lovely restaurant, Mistura. We used Marriott points to book the room and, to our delight, they gave us a beautifully appointed suite with a bathroom the size of a standard hotel room. The Renaissance Toronto is a lovely, grand hotel with a wonderful bar overlooking the baseball field (which I will forever call the Skydome!), and a number of rooms that also overlook the field. I've always loved what Marriott does with their Renaissance hotels, but this is one of their best renovations and restorations that I've seen. Everyone we encountered, from the front desk staff to the bell captain (who offered to valet park our bikes - ha) to the housekeepers, was friendly and provided outstanding customer service. Because it was booked on points, they could have put us in a small room with double beds but, true to Marriott style, they put us in that wonderful suite. This kind of over-the-top customer service, coupled with things like gifting me with a year of gold status after I was off the road for a year, make Marriott the top hotel brand in the world, in my former road-warrior view.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadKtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We came on a free Marriott certificate night and got upgraded to one of the suites that overlooks the ballfield, which was perfect as we had come up to see the game.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pens_Fan_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I arrived at the Renaissance Toronto Hotel Downtown at a rather busy time and the reception staff were very attentive and helpful. Without asking- which is unusual - I was upgraded. The accommodation was fabulous. It is nice to know that being a Marriott Rewards member does count. Many times point clubs state the benefit of upgrades but they never seem to come thru. Marriott Rewards and this hotel sure came thru and it is nice to be appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tims2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 133 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing