We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel while attending a convention nearby. The location was fantastic and the rates were very reasonable in comparison to other hotels in the area.

Check in was very quick without much wait.

The room was huge with a large bathroom as well. The bathroom was a bit dated but you could tell that the rest of the room had been recently updated. It was very clean. I did not have a field view room… actually the view was quite terrible (part of the roof and the ramp to the highway) but I wasn’t there for the view so I didn’t care. Despite being right downtown and its close proximity to the highway, the room was also surprisingly quiet.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again when I need to stay downtown Toronto.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,962)
There are newer reviews for Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked this room on Hotwire, then were amazed to find that our room overlooked the football field at the Roger's Centre, formerly Skydome. I'm not sure that the view would be worth the $500 the room would apparently cost were there a game on, but it was pretty neat to see the view even without a game. (But not for all that long ...)

Basic room, good bed and pillows, comfy chair and reading light. No complaints, but nothing outstanding. Certainly a nice location near the theatres on King Street. Excellent hot tub and pool - virtually empty!

Room Tip: There are also "city view" rooms; we needed three nights, and had no choice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I had an excellent stay at Renaissance. There was no game on so the hotel was quite cheap, and the staff really treated me by upgrading the room because it was so empty that weekday. The suite room (city side) was beautiful. I loved the room!

There is no free wifi, which was disappointing. The other downside for me is that I use TTC and the hotel is quite far, nearly 20 minute walk, from Union station. But the hotel is close to all the restaurants and entertainment downtown.

It's quite a large hotel and beware that it could be a very long walk from the elevators to the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountain820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a great time at the Renaissance. We got a big and comfortable room, close to the elevators, so didn't face the experience of long walks to the room posted by other guests. The hotel is in need of a renovation, as installations and furniture seem pretty dated. Bed was comfortable, but very soft, worst than I'm used to get at other Marriott properties. Breakfast at the club lounge and restaurant was very good. Location is great, right next to the CN Tower and easy access to most attractions.

Room Tip: The rooms right next to the elevators are great! Big, with a nice bathroom including a Jacuzzi and n...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRH7105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Part of the Marriott chain of hotels, the Renaissance Downtown lives up to the usual expectations: Spacious and clean rooms, very centrally located, friendly staff and overall very nice.

If you have the time, you should partake in the breakfast, as it is served in the restaurant overlooking the Rogers Center arena, so definitely something that you don't get to see often.

Parking could have been a little more clearly posted, but this is downtown, and we were able to find it at the end.

For a quick night out on the town this is very convenient, and if you can get a deal, quite reasonable as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very good service but a dated facility. Marriott team works hard at delivering memorable customer experience in spite of physical shortcomings. Hotel badly in need of renovation. Interior space has feel of 1990's. Chain usually makes upgrades at least every 7 seven years. This one missed that cycle. Staff well trained in customer service - especially Jennifer ( front desk) and Josh ( valet).

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Serviceprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

stayed here for 3 nights end of june, not a lot to complain about its a basic marriot hotel, was put in a nice double room only problem we had was it was above the main entrance right near the train tracks but the windows where well insulated. room was clean and tidy and big. never used the pool even though we planned to, to much sightseeing going on. considering how expensive Toronto is, for its location its a good price and the bar was reasonable for food and drink. we were lucky enough to watch the blue jays play while we were there and as im from the uk its was a first time experience, the bonus was as we were staying there we actually watched it from the bar free of charge and had great views, sat right infront of the window and the bar staff brought us our drinks so didn't have to move. I have now become a baseball fan as much to my husbands amusement got really into the spirit especialy as a rare moment happened it would appear this season and the blue jays won. I would stay here again if I ever went back to toronto

Room Tip: try get a higher room so not looking on to the tracks or people going in and out of the hotel especi...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinaboo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
777 reviews
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel

Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Formerly Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £129 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to announce our transformation from Renaissance Toronto Downtown to Toronto Marriott City Centre, and will continue to make enhancements to the hotel in Fall & Winter 2017/18. Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to our city to get work done or explore. Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing