We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #29 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Employees at this Renaissance were exceptional and you couldn't be in a better location. From the bar, you are attached to the baseball stadium that hosts the Toronto Blue Jays (the Rogers Centre). The CN Tower, the Hockey hall of Fame and many places to eat nearby. My room was a bit outdated, but very spacious and nice beddings. Can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGG555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    684
    266
    91
    45
See reviews for
455
560
96
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

stayed at this hotel Dec 6-8, 13 had a late check-in front desk was very friendly and welcoming. we had the split-level room(448) w/view of inside Rogers Centre. Only complaint about the room I found was that the bed was really small for 2 people.

The hotel is located about 20min walk to Dundas/Eaton Center and 5 mins to Union STN.

We had the buffet breakfast so much food! the Bar was small and quiet it was decorated nicely for Christmas and very friendly bartender.

The pool was COLD! I was only able to swim for 5 mins before I had to get out Thankfully there is a hot tub which was nice. The pool lounge area was well kept and clean. Gym was big, clean and not to busy.

overall this is a very good hotel and I would recommended it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolie_F31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I chose this hotel during my one night stay in Toronto because of the location inside the Rogers Centre and close to the downtown area. The location can't be better, next to the CN Tower and a few blocks from the downtown area with a lot of restaurants nearby.

Service: At check-in I got upgraded due to my Platinum Elite status and given a breakfast voucher because the concierge lounge was closed on weekends. The front desk lady showed me how to get to the parking which is 25 CAD a day. It's under the hotel with internal connection to the lobby so it's a plus.

The room: I had to walk about 300 ft from the elevators to my room. I got upgraded to a big suite with even a working desk in the living area. The view was of the railroad tracks and the train passed every 10 minutes so it was kind of noisy and even the room shook a little bit. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very big with two sinks. Very clean suite and renovated.

The bad thing about the stay was that a group of girls booked a room in front to mine to have a sort of party and all night people came in and out laughing and talking. At 4am they woke me up because a couple was arguing in the corridor. The walls are very thin because I heard everything even in the suite bedroom which was about 20 ft from the door. This and the noise from the train every 10min didn't make my stay a good one.

A good hotel with good location. Maybe it's better whenever there's a Blue Jays game.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room with a Stadium view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The service at this hotel was good and the location is great for taking in the CN Tower, the Aquarium or the theatre district, but is showing some sign of aging. The bath towels in our room were badly stained, which but us off our stay. The next time I am looking for a Toronto hotel, I would consider another chain/brand.

Room Tip: The rooms that have an inside view of the playing field of the Rogers Centre would be my choice, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It's amazing how different everyone's experience is at each hotel. I am seeing these posts here about a lack of customer service and meanwhile I was astounded by how amazing the service was! And there have been plenty of locations where I have experienced the opposite. Anyhow... From valet to check in, concierge to guest services, I received nothing but the best service at this hotel. The room was incredibly spacious. I was on the front side of the hotel and never heard a train. But I also always kept the fan on high so that probably helped. Rooms were very clean and bed & pillows soft and comfy. Very nicely equipped gym. Location is phenomenal with shopping, dining, entertainment, tourist spots and sports all within walking distance and most open 24 hours or at least very late. Traffic is a pain, especially if there is a(n) event(s) going on. But that's just part of Toronto and also comes along with having such a prime location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnydove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you Sunnydove for your positive review. I appreciate your positive comments about our staff service and will be sure to share your review with our team. Although I am biased, I agree that our service is truly what sets us apart from other hotels in the city. Given the opportunity, we do our best to personalize service and to customize the experience for each one of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Happy Holiday Season,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dighton, MA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We went for 2 nights check in was quick , hotel did not seem to be that busy, but no anniversary upgrades. Housekeeping did not clean our room until after 4pm , they also omitted to provide tea and coffee for our in room keurig ,we were out all day but upon our return the room was still not made up? shortly after our return housekeeping arrived to clean. Great location especially if you,re going to the Rogers Center for a Jays game! this hotel features rooms for a premium overlooking the field! theres also a neat cocktail lounge overlooking the field. Convenient to Steam Whistle Brewery a Must do ! great beer tour and nice people ! We got a good deal via Hotwire.

Shower pressure was poor! We were in room 329 , very basic room overlooking front entrance/driveway.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jptreacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

we stayed for an overnight as gold Marriott members we were offered either a view of the soccer game or the club floor -- great food on the club floor including smoked salmon for appetizers

we mentioned it was our anniversary and received complementary sparkling wine and delicious chocolate dipped strawberries.

I would go back again

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 133 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing