We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel; Above average location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average hotel; Above average location”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night for a business meeting. Front desk staff were very friendly. Upgraded to a field view room overlooking centre field. great way to take in a baseball game. Rooms are spacious and modern but very spartan. Large TV and comfortable beds. Food is good but a bit expensive. Close walk to lots of restaurants, theatre etc.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTO, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Connie M
Thank you for submitting your review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback; especially when it pertains to our guest service. I am glad that you enjoyed the upgrade to one of our field view rooms. We are currently in the process of upgrading our facility and soon all areas of our hotel will be upgraded. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Adi Dewan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    709
    268
    93
    45
See reviews for
474
577
101
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Due to family issue I stayed for 5 days at my favourite hotel. Just so happened the Jays were playing so selected a room lover looking the playing field..I would recommend anybody staying during a game try to book the same.One of the beauty.s of the hotel is its location to all the great restaurants & events downtown..I like the hotel because all the staff are friendly & informative.I filled up on the morning buffet at breakfast every day. The restaurant over looks the stadium which is an added bonus during a game or any other function taking place at the stadium.The rooms are all being remodeled & I was lucky enough to stay in one of the new ones.
As usual my stay was enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

stayed March 29 2014, check in area just smelled of body odor really bad and it was more than 1 employee that smelled. ( they need to clean the valet parking guys coats and employees clothes). Stayed there last year 2 and it also stunk of B.O. rooms were nice, buffet was $24 (way over priced) Went to Hockey game and recommended to a friend who was also going to stay there. He looked them up on line and called there toll free number and booked a room. When he got the bill it was in U.S. funds. We complained and told basically to go pound salt. Will never stay there again....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTO, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Rob N
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at the Renaissance Toronto Downtown. We are sorry your stay fell short of your expectations. You are a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. .I would appreciate, if you could contact me directly at adewan@renaissancetoronto.com so that I can discuss the matter with you.
Kind regards
Adi Dewan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is very clean but nothing fancy. The rooms are ok and the hall ways need to be updated BUT don't let these comments stop you from booking! The customer service is probably one of the best experiences I have ever had! The door men, the staff at the desk, the maintenance staff were all superb! Friendly, helpful and always smiling!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

my husband and I took our thirteen year old grandson for his birthday to see the red sox play in Toronto. had a wonderful time ( sox won both games we saw) we stayed at the renaissance and we upgraded to a room overlooking the field. what a great spot! the windows open so you can actually hear the work on the field before games!!! we ate breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel and had window seats again. the view was great and the food was excellent. will absolutely stay there again if we return for another game!! the front desk people were great and very helpful, it is nice to see people who enjoy there jobs working with the public!!

Room Tip: only negative was the rude people we encountered at the pool playing ball with their kids. they had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50statetraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I booked in for one night here as I was taking in a Blue Jays game, originally when I booked I had a room with city view but when I arrived they upgraded me to one facing the field. For me this was brilliant, the room itself was fantastic and I couldn't have asked for more from it. The health club and pool felt a little grey and cold, the gym felt more like a hospital than a hotel club. But it was clean and to me that's what matters most.

Location wise it is right next door to the CN Tower and down town Toronto so ideal rally if you are planning on seeing those and doing some shopping at the same time. The only thing that was a little annoying was having to pay for the WiFi. Most hotels not as expensive as these offer free WiFi so I don't see why, given how much you pay for a room, that they don't offer it as complimentary.

Aside from that I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonky_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked a room at the Renaissance to watch the Red Sox play the Blue Jays at the Rogers Centre, which actually connects to the hotel. In fact some of the rooms overlook the field. Even if you cannot afford those rooms, the lounge and dining room look out over the ballpark through large picture windows. We saw two games while in town – one in the park, the other in the lounge. This hotel exceeded our expectations. Our room was fabulous and looked to be recently upgraded. It was large with a sitting area, king bed and spacious bathroom – like a studio apartment. Everything was immaculate. We enjoyed the little touches including daily newspaper and cider in the lobby. Service in the lounge, dining room and throughout the hotel was friendly and attentive. We took advantage of the concierge services and the fitness center. And the Red Sox won both games! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
721 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#19 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing