We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you ask for the right room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Tolland, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Make sure you ask for the right room”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

gTruth is this is a GREAT hotel with a wonderful location. However, you can get stuck with a less then stellar room... as we did. The location of our room overlooked the railroad tracks and this was by far the noisiest room I have ever stayed in! Give the price, it was most upsetting. However, if you push for a room overlooking the stadium I think you will be very pleased. We made up for the lousy location by spending most of the night in the hotel bar! Great place to see the ballgame and have several beers. Be prepared for the parking fee though... $70 for two nights!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    674
    259
    90
    45
See reviews for
446
546
93
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I checked into the Renaissance hotel and was welcomed by Katherine who was delightful. She explained the amenities of the hotel, and after checking to see if my room was ready (I arrived a bit early) told me that a room upgrade was available and booked me into it.

And was it an upgrade! I walked into the 2 story room to discover that the window looked out on Rogers Centre (home of the Toronto Blue Jays). So not only did I have a great room, I was entertained by a baseball game that took place out my front windows.

The bathroom was large and well appointed, the bed extremely comfortable. The room had a large desk area, and for a moderate charge, WiFi internet at a reasonable (for hotels) speed.

My stay was made memorable by the great service and of course, because I had never spent a hotel night in a baseball stadium! My only disappointments were that the home team lost and that after the game the stadium cleaning crew came in using blowers (like leaf blowers) and steam cleaners that required me to use ear plugs during the night.

Room Tip: If you're lucky enough to get a room overlooking the stadium on a game night you may need ear pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetalcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the downtown Toronto Renaissance. My room had a view of the Blue Jay's game from high above the center field wall. The price of seeing the game was the room cost...great deal! If you time your stay correctly, you’ll be able to watch both teams go through pre-game stretching and batting practice before the stadium is even open to the general public. The room itself was nice & had the feel of a Luxury Sky Box with a bed. I will sure be staying there again as my travels take me back to Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamCreech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Although I live in Toronto, I had a conference downtown and decided to stay at the hotel for convenience - WOW, was it ever, the hotel was close to where I had to attend the meetings and parking on-site helped as well.

From the time of check in to room service to check out, every interaction with the staff was super. They've been trained well to take care of the clients. The staff went the extra mile even when they didn't have to.

Would definitely recommend and stay again if opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Ask for city view room if a baseball game or event are on :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealEstateToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft. lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

stayed here four years ago. Very friendly staff as last time. Great room, nice breakfast buffet. Good location away from the downtown traffic. Would highly recommend, especially if you are a baseball fan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swarttz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I drive 7 hours to watch a redsox game once I got there I found out central reservation screwed up my booking ,,.i told central reservation I wanted a view of the ball game and like to see the jumbo torn well what I was told by the front desk is that I could get a room but it would be $460 more money, I said your the ones who screwed up and I'm being charged additional money ,,I asked to talk to the front desk manger ,,,WHAT A MISTAKE this guy comes charging at me telling me there is no more rooms over looking the game and he's not giving me any upgrades,,,,I told him the clerk just told me I could get one for $460 I then asked him for corporate phone number to see what they could do and because I was being treated so badly by him,,,corporate was worse this girl said they have one room left do you want it I said ok she puts me on hold come back to me and tells me it was sold and then said I shoulnt have gone over the mangers head I let her have it and told her I'm at the hotel and this was all of 3 minutes they new I wanted the room,, she said this isn't my 1 st rodeo and you should have taken the room she then hung up on me ,,,I then had to find a room and we had 2 CHILDERN with us ,,,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 09952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear 09952,
Thank you for re-posting your feedback. We have reviewed. As promised after your first submission, we continue to work with our reservations to ensure that everyone is clear on the stadium view availability. I would like to assure you that our efforts to improve through training and communication continue.
Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Pretty good hotel overall, I had a room with a view on the baseball field ...but there was no game ...lol .... anyhow, Still well located and as long as your room does not give on the rail track side you will enjoy.

The bar / restaurant was nice, their Nachos and chips were great !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert5635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
2,207 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing